We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The owners and staff went above and beyond to make our trip special.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Ranked #3 of 53 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The owners and staff went above and beyond to make our trip special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hermann Hill is a luxurious B&B that overlooks the town of Hermann. My wife and I went there for our 11th anniversary and the owners and staff did everything to make our visit special. The room was very clean and had a great view of the vineyard as well as the town. They added many
personal touches that made this B&B worth the money. My wife and I have decided to make it our annual anniversary destination.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonylutz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    14
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
276
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My mom and I recently stayed here for a short Mother-Daughter trip. While it was definitely the most expensive B&B in Hermann, it was worth every penny because it is also the nicest. We were at the Inn (there are also Cottages) and it is a drive up some steep hills that I didn't like driving but my mom didn't mind doing it. We had a East side room (The Cynthia) and had an AMAZING view of the town. We had to close the blinds at night so we weren't woken by the sun at 6 AM. They said we were on the 4th floor but it is just one flight of stairs up from the main floor where you walk in. The room had a fireplace and a steam shower and a hot tub. There was a walk in closet with a small refrigerator so we could keep some of the chill-able wines we got at the wineries, we popped one open later.

The staff here were so helpful. Everyone was helpful and easy to chit chat with while making a cup of tea or coffee. We had breakfast delivered to our room both nights we stayed and it is a packed tray. The food is delicious and comes with 2 sides, a bowl of fruit and any drinks you want. We both had coffee and mimosas each morning. There is also a cold/hot beverage bar in the kitchen area on the main floor. It had some frozen drinks, we tried the frozen peach Bellini. It was also delicious and great after a hot and humid day outside, walking around the town and winery.

We both got massages from Usula and Cheryl, they were great. We had the mother nature package, a foot soak and foot rub followed by a 45 minute massage with hand paraffin. It was super relaxing at the end of our day. I would highly recommend the spa while visiting.

The place does seem to be geared a bit more towards couples and romance. We were told multiple times that they didn't get too many mother-daughter combinations but it was refreshing to see. I can see it being a super romantic place for a couple from breakfast in bed to the cookies and ice cream brought to the room each night between 9:30-10. The cookies were pretty good, the ice cream was creamy with caramel drizzle.

Room Tip: I would recommend an East side room that over looks the onsite vineyard and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keelyg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the inn. We were in the chambourcin room. It has an outdoor hot tub and private patio. The view from the hot tub overlooking the town is amazing! The room had a huge comfortable bed with a big flat screen tv. The bathroom is large with both a shower and jacuzzi tub. The staff is so friendly and they do an amazing job at pampering their guests. The breakfast is delicious. We love the French toast and look forward to the omelets! The cookies each night are much anticipated and always tasty. We can't wait until November to celebrate our 1st anniversary.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alyss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hermann Hill for the first time this week, to celebrate the upcoming arrival of our first child (babymoon). We were pleasantly surprised by the Inn, the staff and the amenities. This is THE Hermann location to stay at if you are celebrating a special occasion.

Breakfast was amazing. I included a handwritten note on my menu, requesting an additional item, and it showed up on my tray. Staff were always available to answer questions, carry luggage - they even delivered our bags to the Amtrak station for us! Additionally, we found ourselves caught walking in the rain one evening and the owners stopped and gave us a ride in their personal vehicle. Small details have been thought through - like including house slippers in the room or giving us a "welcome" package that included chocolates and massage oil. The spa service was excellent, and the 10 p.m. dessert was a nice inclusion. We also enjoyed the complimentary beverage and snack area that seemed to be open most of the day to pick up a yogurt or a piece of fruit and a cold beverage. Thanks for a great visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vidal room, and found it to be nice. However, you can hear footsteps above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was our second visit. We tried the cottages this time & could not have enjoyed ourselves more. We loved the hot tub on the deck & cooked on the grill both nights. If you want to relax, love nature, beautiful rooms & great amenities this is the place for you. We enjoy biking the Katy Trail & wine tasting but the highlight of our trip was the time we spent in Cottage Four at Hermann Hill.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a great view of the river. They have bike storage units at the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I just returned from my second stay at Hermann Hill. It's definitely still a very nice property, but not quite a 5. My husband and I stayed in the Cynthiana room on the top floor and the balcony and views were great. As was the whirlpool tub and shower with multiple jets and a steam option. Though the shower was basic fiberglass instead of a nice tile or marble which would have made it feel much more pampering. Plus, there's only a seat for one if you want to enjoy the steam shower.

Check-in took WAY too long. We had to sit and listen while the employee went through an entire envelope full of papers. Not really necessary. Check-out only took about 2 seconds, thankfully.

My biggest complaint is the timing of the delivery of the nightly treats. I love treats and think this is a great amenity, but someone comes knocking on the door at 10pm. And he's not exactly quiet. Even though we had the "do not disturb" sign on the door there was still loud knocking and the announcement that he was leaving ice cream and cookies in the hall. Why not do this a little earlier, say 9pm??

Breakfast was ok, but our orders were mixed up. Half of my order was on one tray, the other half on my husband's so we had to swap things around. Not a huge deal, but it shouldn't be that hard to get two breakfast orders laid out correctly.

So those things aside, I do still recommend Hermann Hill. It's just not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I spend our anniversary at Hermann Hill every year. This was our 5th time at Hermann Hill. Terry and Peggy are awesome, as is the entire staff. We had the most enjoyable, relaxing visit. We love the cookies and ice cream. We love the dogs, Lewis and Clark! We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Our favorite room is the Chambourcin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lammcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
0.7 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#1 of 53 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#2 of 53 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#6 of 53 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#8 of 53 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
#14 of 53 in Hermann
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages

Property: Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Address: 711 Wein Street, Hermann, MO 65041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hermann's premium lodging with two unique properties. Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa offers an upscale bed and breakfast experience including premium hot tub and sauna rooms and an onsite spa. The River Bluff Cottages overlooking the Missouri River include spacious living and kitchen areas, private decks with hot tubs and grills, rain forest steam showers, and two fireplaces in each. Both locations offer breakfast delivery. Massage services are available at either location, although the cottages also have the option of in-room and private deck massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermann Hill Hotel Hermann
Hermann Hill Vineyard And Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing