We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Ranked #1 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW - INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hermann Hill Cottages are EXTRAORDINARY to say the least! The best place to REST, RELAX, and be ROMANTIC! RRR(squared) :) The all-inclusive extras and amenities are top notch. Keep up the great work Peggy and Terry. You have a customer for life!
Julie Ingold

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Do we have your permission to use your "R squared" in our marketing? Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent cottage stay. Having a customer for life is obviously our goal too and we've been blessed over the years with so many couples who make Hermann Hill a place for annual celebration.

Thanks again for posting on Trip Advisor.

Peggy and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    17
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
305
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hermann Hills does everything just right, from the warm welcome and check-in, to the tiny little details and amenities, and the excellent service, food, and surroundings! They go above and beyond to make their guests' stay comfortable and memorable. We enjoyed celebrating our 10th Anniversary with a 2 night stay at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast which is more like a resort in our eyes. Our check-in was a personal one-on-one warm welcome and they escorted us to our room where we were delighted to find a wine and cheese tray with fresh grapes and a small, warm loaf of bread. We were delighted to find many small wonders in our room which included, a small fridge stocked with beverages and snacks, robes and slippers, three different types of pillows (soft, firm, or memory foam), extra soft bed sheets, beautiful fireplace, flat screened TV and DVD player, balcony with spectacular views of Hermann, jetted tub that fits 2 people, top notch steam shower and heated towel rack, gourmet breakfast options delivered to our room each morning, and warm cookies with ice cream drizzled with chocolate raspberry port sauce delivered to our door each night! Our room was superior, very clean, comfortable, and refreshing. The service was far above our expectations. We adventured out on the 3 mile walk around Hermann and Hermann Hills gave us a complimentary t-shirt for conquering the challenge. We indulged in a couples massage in their spa and it was high class pampering. Hermann Hills B&B is worth every single penny. We enjoyed our stay and we fell in love with the little town of Hermann, Missouri. We used Hermann's trolley service and toured 4 of the areas wineries and we ate delicious German food at the Stone Hill Vintage Restaurant. If you're looking for a peaceful, romantic, memorable getaway, this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for celebrating your tenth anniversary with us and for posting such a detailed summary of your experiences in Hermann and particular your stay at Hermann Hill. We understand that we compete in an amenity and personal service driven industry and just recently completed a bathroom remodel in all 8 of our Vineyard Inn suites so that every guest has a steam shower instead of just a regular shower. Our Inn kitchen staff gets daily compliments from guests who are amazed at how many different entrees that had to choose from.

Our guests also tell us that doing the Hermann Hill three mile walk with the detailed narration as you explore the town gives them a different perspective than one gets just driving around. We are obviously thrilled to reward guests like you with a "I conquered the Hermann Hill Three Mile Walk" T-Shirt for your efforts.

Happy Anniversary and again thank you for posting on Trip Advisor.

Peggy and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my third stay at Hermann Hill and they always seem to do it right. Each time I've stayed they have added one or two more nice touches that really sets it apart from other B&B's in the area. A few examples of their lovely "extras" include: wine and cheese tray at check-in, desserts delivered to the room nightly, free bottled water, everything you need for a picnic (plates, wine glasses, cheese cutting board, etc), and mimosas with breakfast. These, in additional the lovely accommodations, truly make it worth the cost.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. If you like dogs, the Vidal room get frequently visited by the owners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44881Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for returning to Hermann Hill and compliments about "so many nice touches." Our commitment to constant improvement has always been part of the Hermann Hill culture based on listening to our guests. We recently added wall safes to all 20 rooms because more and more of our guests are bringing iPads with them and wanted a place to keep them while visiting the wineries when taking the Hermann Trolley.

We promise to remain dedicated to our commitment of constant improvement and hope to have something new that you'll find useful during your next stay.

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed staying in B&B's back in Central VA. When we moved to Missouri 11 years ago, we were disappointed at the B&B's that we visited. They were not as nice or well-appointed as those on the East coast, and the breakfasts were after-thoughts. We heard about Hermann Hill almost 10 years ago, but were put off by the cost (which is breathtaking)! This year my birthday fell on Monday, so we "bit the bullet" and came after church for one night. Simply put, the entire place and experience was first-rate! Rich wood appointments throughout the common areas and in each room, first rate beds and bedding, Jacuzzi tubs and steam ahowers, all enhanced the feeling of luxuriousness! The snacks and drink offerings were wonderful (including teas, hot chocolates and coffees that you can 'enhance' with flavored powders, syrups, and even spirits)! The coffee was so good that I (who normally drink one cup a day at breakfast) had several cups during the afternoon and evening! But the evening cookies and breakfast were AWESOME! At 10:00 PM the owners bring fresh-baked cookies and ice cream to your room. The cookies are little inch-thick heart-shaped chocolate-chip shortbread monstrosities, with decadent ice cream and (I think) a chocolate-raspberry sauce. The perfect ending to a perfect day! :-) (Can you tell that I like to eat?) And breakfast? My wife had their french toast, which was two 2" thick slices of egg-drenched cinnamon bread that was crispy on the edges and fluffy in the middle with chopped pecans. It eas great! I had an omlette that was good, but not as "hearty" as I prefer. I was finished eating when they offered to fix me another! Their goal is for you to have a memorable experience, so don't hesitate to ask for a little more if the breakfast seems a little 'light'! Wieh all of that, the most memorable thing for me was the quiet solitude, and the views of Hermann and the Missouri River from the deck and the rooms! It really was a great experience, one I heartily recommend! It is the first B&B we found out here that is comparable to those we enjoyed on the East coast, and is (in our experience) the Best in the Midwest!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but their dog (a Chocolate Lab) may wander up to you on your patio if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
That you for posting such detailed and complimentary comments. We could not have told our "value story" better and hear similar statements from many of our guests. Our entire Hermann Hill staff understands that we must justify our rates with outstanding service, amenities, and a commitment to constant improvement. Preparing additional food for your breakfast was our pleasure because it is part of our commitment to treat guests as individuals. That's why we offer at least six breakfast choices to our Vineyard Inn & Spa guests daily.
We also appreciate your title "Best in the Midwest" and were pleased to be voted that honor by the AAA membership in a recent poll.
Finally, thanks for mentioning our Inn dog Lewis, a chocolate lab who takes his role of "official greeter " rather seriously. I suspect he might have also been visiting your patio to see if you had anything left from your welcome tray.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great staff, service, cleanliness. Quiet. They really want your feedback good or bad, we just couldn't think of any areas to improve upon! Totally relaxing. We happened to reserve their last available room, wouldn't have otherwise chosen one with a hot tub, steam shower and all that. LOVED it all, and comfortable using the hot tub based on what we saw and what they told us of their cleaning regimen. Watched the 4th of July fireworks over the Missouri river while relaxing in the hot tub. Katy bike trail nearby. Town is ok, but we were there for 2 days of relaxation, not to play tourist in town. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. We had Vignoles room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, General Manager at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
That you for posting your comments about your stay in the Vignoles Spa suite at the Inn. We are glad you enjoyed all the amenities that our guests frequently refer to as a "Water park"in the three rooms that offer an Indoor hot tub, Sanijet Jacuzzi Tub, and steam shower. Our housekeeping staff also appreciates you mentioning the cleaning procedures we use for all of our hot tubs at both properties-totally changing the water after each guest departs and replacing it with 100 degree water that we then chlorinate so it's clean and ready for our next arriving guests. This is a huge commitment that we gladly make because cleanliness will always be at the top of the Hermann Hill priority list.
Watching our town's fireworks from your room is one of those special 4th of July perks that our guests over the years have always enjoyed.
Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to your next stay.

Leslie,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Absolutely incredible. Everything about our stay was memorable and impressive. From the spotless room conditions to the homemade breakfasts placed in our cottage fridge (and numerous other personalized touches), the owners of Hermann Hill take pleasing their guests seriously. We were greeted by our car at their lovely inn for check-in, impressed by the view and amenities at our cottage (Cottage 1), and then blown away by the discoveries we encountered as we unpacked. My wife and I enjoyed the local wineries but we loved coming back to the cottage to kick back and relax in our jacuzzi, whirlpool tub and shower. One of my favorite moments was sharing time with my beloved in their quaint little couple's chapel just outside our cottage. We will be back soon but will undoubtedly never forget our first visit. No complaints at all ( a first for me).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments about your Cottage 1 stay. We were particularly pleased that you mentioned using our couples personal chapel. When asked to define what we do at Hermann Hill in a few words we respond that "We're all about couples, in both our Vineyard Inn & Spa, River bluff Cottages, and Wedding chapel." This year, we built the separate couples personal chapel in the woods with two bridges and a lighted path taking you from the road and parking area for privacy. Our hope was that our guests could take a few minutes during their stay to go there and think about their relationship. Your room key gives you access. We have comfortable chairs and two water fountains to help set the mood. Guests like you are telling us that you are enjoying the experience and our entire Hermann Hill staff is very appreciative of comments like yours.
Thanks again for posting on Trip Advisor.

Peggy and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plato
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great time! We did not need anything they thought of EVERYTHING! Best Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed at! Thanks for the wonderful stay in Hermann. Loved the goodies before bedtime. Would suggest this to any couple wanting to just get away and RELAX! We will return for another special occasion!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Over the past 18 years our Inn guests have repeatedly told us that delivering warm cookies and ice cream with our own port chocolate raspberry sauce to their door each evening was an unexpected surprise, particularly when delivered by the innkeepers.

When our guests learned seven years ago that we were building five Missouri River bluff Cottages the most frequently asked question was "what about the cookies?" Needless to say our Chef bakes both kind of heart shaped cookies that are placed in each cottage refrigerator along with gourmet ice cream (currently Haagen Dazs), and a small bottle of our chocolate sauce. Instructions on the wrapped cookies are to microwave them for 15 seconds an then hopefully our cottage guests can replicate our Inn guest's experience. We've also included both Hermann Hill cookie recipes on our website: www.hermannhill.com.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
12.3 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#3 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
1.1 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#14 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages

Property: Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Address: 711 Wein Street, Hermann, MO 65041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hermann's premium lodging with two unique properties. Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa offers an upscale bed and breakfast experience including premium hot tub and sauna rooms and an onsite spa. The River Bluff Cottages overlooking the Missouri River include spacious living and kitchen areas, private decks with hot tubs and grills, rain forest steam showers, and two fireplaces in each. Both locations offer breakfast delivery. Massage services are available at either location, although the cottages also have the option of in-room and private deck massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermann Hill Hotel Hermann
Hermann Hill Vineyard And Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing