We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness, Excellent Accomodations, Service, and a Beutiful View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Ranked #3 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Although it was just a one-night stay for me, this was my second stay at Hermann Hill and the service and rooms are second to none.
Thank you for your wonderful rooms and special treatment to all your guests and the view…is beautiful.
Craig Stevens
NuStar Energy LP

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 416 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Cottages at Hermann Hill 3 times.
We absolutely love this place. It is private and secluded and has all the amenities one could ever hope for, for a weekend getaway.

We always stay for two nights and use the BBQ grill and outdoor hot tub while enjoying each others company. They have 2 TV's one in the living area and one in the bedroom. Indoor jacuzzi tub, and steam shower with shampoo and shower gels provided. There is also an aromatherapy fireplace that is very nice.

The town of Hermann has 6-8 wineries and we always spend our 2nd full day hitting up the wineries before we go back to the cottage for more grilling and Hot tub time.

The inn keepers provide breakfast, desert and stock the fridge with water, milk, juice and cold drinks. There is also a coffee maker and coffee to help kick start the morning.

We will definitely be back and always tell our friends looking for a quick getaway from St. Louis to check out Hermann Hill.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TigerTale25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We came to Hermann Hill cottages for some much needed rest from our busy life,boy were we dissapointed.First of all we walked in to our cottage and the entryway was freezing cold and dirty.the stairs looked like they hadnt been vacumed in a month and there was a heat vent that was closed(im sure to cut heat cost).Our room wasnt much better,there were actually food crumbs on the floor in the kitchen,the couch was very uncomfortable and cheap and the beadspread was dirty with stains on it(we threw it off first thing).our fireplace was supposed to have ember lights but they didnt work. one of our tv remotes didnt work at all.The bed mattress was bad ,it sunk in the middle.the train noise was horrible too.The shower is a steam shower we thought was nice until were the steam nozel comes out it actually burnt my leg.The breakfast food was average at best.There was a potato casserole that had a tag on it with the date but it tasted much older like it was freezer burnt.The town was fabulous with wineries and lots of little unique stores and resturaunts.That was the best part of the trip.Also there is a hottub on the deck of the room,that is the only good thing we can say about our cottage.the tub was great to sit in and watch the river and birds.We have friends that have stayed at Hermannhoff inn and loved it/everything worked and was clean.You can bet we will come back to hermann and stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank St_louisReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night in cottage 502, which is on the lower floor of the building. I was concerned about staying in the downstairs unit; however, we never heard any noise from above us. The cottages seem to be pretty well sound proofed. The amenities are great- the rainforest/steam shower was wonderful and so was the giant jacuzzi tub. Because the tub is so large, plan to start filling it at least 30 minutes before you want to get in! There are no welcome snacks like you get if you stay at the inn, and that was something that I missed. The dessert is there and ready for you to prepare for yourself, and we liked that you didn't have to wait until late for the delivery. There is quite a bit of train noise, but I am a light sleeper and I didn't have any trouble sleeping through it.

Breakfast in the morning was okay, but not great. We had the french toast casserole, and when you get it at the inn it has a nice crunchy topping. When you re-heat it at the cottage, it turns out mushy and not fabulous. Hermann Hill could add toaster ovens to the cottages and that would be a nice way to re-heat the dish and have it turn out better, or they could just deliver a fresh breakfast to the cottage. Since we stayed in the winter, they gave us a dole fruit cup instead of fresh fruit, and I thought they said we would have stuff to make smoothies (but we did not), so the fruit cup was disappointing. Even when we've stayed at other B&Bs in the winter, there has always been some kind of fresh fruit. For what you pay to stay here, they could definitely get some nice fruit, even in the winter.

Overall though, it was a great stay and I would definitely recommend the cottages to everyone. They are beautiful and well maintained, and have just about every amenity you can imagine.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getawaygal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed only one night there, checked in at 7:45pm Fri, checked out at 11am Sat. We had massage service for couples in our room that was great, she did the best she could do....it wasn’t her fault that there wasn't any hot water for the facial or foot massage. They sent someone to fix it, by 11pm we had hot water to fill the Jacuzzi tub. By 9:30am Sat, again we were out of hot water...no shower for the Newly Webs....
After check out, we left our number with the front desk on Sat... for management to please call us ( they were at a wedding trail at that time and available), by Mon we still hadn't herd from anyone. When I did call, they offered us a gift certificate for $200. Our room cost $342 for one night, and morning without hot water! The owner Terry practically called me a liar, (even though their contracted massage therapist confirmed that I wasn't lying), because his maintaince man couldn’t find anything wrong. Didn’t seem to matter much to him that our only honeymoon was a total bust... I am 28 weeks pregnant, we have a small apartment with small shower and tubs... we make about 35k a years between us and thought we were spending our hard earned cash on a heavenly romantic retreat ,we probably won't have the chance to do again. It was pretty important to us to be able to have that jacuzzi tub or shower for two, and couples massage, we won't have that at home! The owner Terry thought that we were sad people if that’s is all it took ( no hot water for the room for massages or romantic baths or showers ) to be disappointed with our stay. Clearly, $342 dollars comes pretty easy to Hermann Hill owners, and I’m making a big deal over nothing. He also stated that he did four times what he would do for anyone else, and that most people get a basket of chocolates or a bottle of wine.

Lucky for us, we satyed at the Hermannhof Sat night... the room was just as beaitiful and the service made us feel like Kings and Queens.... it didn't cost as much, and as much hot water as anyone could need plus more.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rooh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeggyHammer, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2011

We always regret any problem a guest has during their stay and attempt to remedy the situation as quickly as possible. We logged their call at 9:30 PM Friday night and immediately had a plumber dispatched to their cottage. He arrived in 30 minutes (10 PM and confirmed that all three water heaters and the ground source heaters were working and that all three tanks were full of hot water. The guests agreed that they did have hot water at that time.

We have no idea why there was no hot an hour earlier, or why there was apparently no hot water the next morning, because we simply cannot reproduce the malfunction and we check hot water heaters daily. Since we embrace the attitude that the guest is always right, we initially told her were mailing a gift certificate for future use, $200.00 for their $342.00 stay (including all taxes) and thought the matter had been successfully handled. When she called after receiving the gift certificate in the mail and we learned that she wanted a total refund, we agreed in a telephone conversation to change the gift certificate to a $200 credit on her credit card.
During this conversation with the guest, she made references to our Trip Advisor and other online reviews, with the implied threat that if we did not raise our refund offer from $200.00 to $342 she would write a bad review. We refused to play "lets make a deal" and you can read the results.

Peggy and Terry Hammer
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

This was a modern facility made for this purpose, not a renovated old building. For that reason, it was made to have excellent views in a wonderful building. Guests do not interfere with each other, and can choose to eat breakfast in their room or in the kitchen, dining room, or patio. There is a much greater choice of food than usual, and the food is also excellent. Soon after arrival, wine and cheese and grapes were brought to the room. At 10 PM muffins and ice cream with scrumptious sauce are brought to the room. There are multiple choices for breakfast times. There is a jacuzzi in the rooms, nice views in all the rooms of Hermann and the Missouri River, good TV's and dvd and and vcr players in the rooms. There is also a gas fireplace. Everything is beautiful modern, and clean. We stayed in the Inn, in the Port Room, not the cottages. The owner and employees are very helpful and friendly. Vinyards are located on the hillside just below the Inn. This is the second bed and breakfast we stayed at in Hermann, the other being the Alpenhorn. They are both excellent choices, and chosen because of Tripadvisor reviews. My wife got a massage in our room, which was also excellent. We ate dinner at the restaurant at Stone Hill Winery, had schnitzle as the main dish, with German sides.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I never expected to be this impressed by a place in a remote town in Misourri. But what Terry and Peggy have created here in Hermann is just incredible. Being that the inn was built from the ground up as an inn, it has all of the amenities and privacy that you sometimes have to sacrifice in an inn. The bathroom in my room here was larger than my office at home. The personal touches and attention to detail was fantastic, all the way through a signature dessert delivered to your room at night. Overall, incredible attention to detail and a wonderful place to stay (or get married, as I also had the luck to see the wedding facility for the meeting I was attending and it's equally impressive).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
12.3 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#1 of 50 in Hermann
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.7 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#13 of 50 in Hermann
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages

Address: 711 Wein Street, Hermann, MO 65041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: $208 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hermann's premium lodging with two unique properties. Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa offers an upscale bed and breakfast experience including premium hot tub and sauna rooms and an onsite spa. The River Bluff Cottages overlooking the Missouri River include spacious living and kitchen areas, private decks with hot tubs and grills, rain forest steam showers, and two fireplaces in each. Both locations offer breakfast delivery. Massage services are available at either location, although the cottages also have the option of in-room and private deck massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermann Hill Hotel Hermann
Hermann Hill Vineyard And Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing