We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so nice!”
Review of Captain Wohlt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Wohlt Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Wow did my book club have a wonderful time! The food, the accommodations and the service were just wonderful! I had a perfect little room up a quaint little staircase and it was perfect for me. The internet service was great as was the bed and tv. Thanks for the great time.

Room Tip: They were all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Jackie,

Thanks for taking the time to let others know about your experience at the Captain Wohlt Inn. Our inn is perfect for groups as we can offer many different options for groups of up to 46! Our property, service and Mary's cooking are what sets us apart. We work hard to provide our guests with the best possible experience. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to your next visit. While it won't be the same as running in Pamplona, I can set up a trip on the zipline if you like.

B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 466 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

I visited Captain Wohlt Inn for a much needed break. The room was very clean, the service was great, the breakfast was fantastic, and Brant W. was very professional and knowledgeable. Oh yeah...the bed was so comfortable! It was just what my back needed! I would certainly recommend this place for anyone visiting the Hermann, Mo. area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdawn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thanks for your kind words. We're glad you were able to enjoy the Inn, our town and some relaxation. We are working hard to set the standard in lodging for Hermann and are glad to hear it's being noticed by our guests. Hope to see you back at the inn soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just got back from a super weekend in Hermann. We had 3 rooms to accommodate a bachelorette party and it was great fun! Would have been nice to have all 3 rooms in the same building but that didn't dampen the fun. Arrangements just didn't work out for our group's number to be together.
Our room was the Irish Suite in the Captain's Neighbor across the street from the main building. Everything was super clean and the bathroom was a place you actually wanted to use, not like some in previous locations where we have stayed. The towels were bright white and soft. The shower had plenty of hot water and it was soft water, not full of hard minerals like some places. The common living room was equipped with a Keurig machine and all the makings for a great cup of coffee when you wanted it. The stairs to our upstairs room and those that led up to the main house (breakfast and fire pit areas) were pretty steep for someone who has issues with stairs. However, there are 2 rooms on the lower level of the Captain's Neighbor that would be good for someone who needs that. I also understand that one of the lower level rooms has a hot tub, jetted tub, or something of the like in it. I didn't make the arrangements so I'm not certain on those details. You can drive up to the main house for the breakfast and smores on Friday night(amazing!!) by the fire pit, so you wouldn't have to use the stairs if you stayed in the Captain's Neighbor and chose not to. For the main house and the other adjacent house's sleeping quarters, you don't have to worry about stairs.
The breakfast is the best I've ever had in a bed and breakfast...amazing...fresh, elegant and delicious!! Yummy local smoked meats both mornings, fresh eggs, and the most delicious fruit and fresh squeezed juices. We had wonderful cookies in our rooms. Mary is a great chef!
Brant, the manager, is very informative and knows the town well. He can give you all sorts of information and is entertaining to visit with.
We took the trolley to the wineries and places in town (although town is just a couple blocks walk from the B & B). We rode all day for $15 each and just a phone call brought them when we were ready to move on from one place to the next. Stay as long as you like and go where you want when they come to pick you up. They picked us up at our door and dropped us off there at the end of the day. John was a driver that was super nice and Aaron was a blast. Ride any of the trolleys that run everywhere for the same $15 all day.
The brats are amazing at Wurst Haus downtown. We had a great Saturday lunch there and purchased several frozen to bring home with us. They make brats themselves and have such a variety.
Dinner at downtown Simons on the Waterfront restaurant was much less than expected. The food was great but the service was probably the worst I have ever experienced. Granted it was WurstFest weekend, but poor management for the number of wait staff on a busy night was not a good excuse. We had a reservation for 10 so they were expecting a party of that size in advance. Our salads were served with the meal and our bride's glass of wine never did come until our food was delivered (and then only after someone had to get up and let the waitress know, AGAIN, that it had never been served). Our water glasses were NEVER filled again after being put on the table upon arrival and most of our party ate our dinner with no
drink. One salad entrée was served with the dressing on it, rather than on the side as it was ordered. It was taken back and another not brought back until almost all others were finished with their meals. 3 people got up and went into the dining area and asked for our checks. We were NEVER brought checks and we were in the restaurant for 1 1/2 hours. Finally, after asking multiple people for our check, we all left money to cover our meal and walked out, even then unnoticed by any staff. We stood on the sidewalk for another 3-5 minutes and watched through the window to see that our money was picked up by staff. Our waitress did, finally, go around the table and pick up the cash. The trouble was not worth the food for me to ever go there again...just my opinion.
Hermann is a cute, quaint town and our visit was delightful. Many wineries... I loved Adam Puchta wine but I like the sweet, fruity flavors. Oak Glenn was our favorite for sitting and enjoying the view. They have a fantastic, huge deck and live music, surrounded by a magnificent view. Their Moscato was yummy.
Check out Captain Wohlt Inn- you'll be glad you did! Sorry about the terrible rating for the swimming pool. There is no pool but I couldn't get the rating off once it was on the page.

Room Tip: I would not want the room adjacent to the common living room in the "Captain's Neighbor&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodmemories2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We feel we're the best place in town for a bachelorette party. We're close enough to walk to everything in town and have a wonderful lawn and garden area with multiple fire pits. Be sure to tell your friends and hope to see you back again soon!

B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Captain Wohlts' Inn is by FAR the best B&B in Hermann. Great rooms, great service and fantastic food. Can't say enough about this place. So warm and inviting. Favorite part was all the lovely amenities within the suite. Captain Brant was a great host and provided lots of useful information about the places to visit in Hermann. Loved it and WILL be back!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michee_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thanks for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I think there are many great things to do in Hermann and it was my pleasure sharing those with you. Mary changes her menu seasonally and the garden will be starting to bloom soon. Hope to see you back later this year!

Captain Brant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The breakfast was above and beyond. The room so clean with clean.The host very very friendly. Just perfect. Id tell any one going on a trip hermann to stay here. There were 10 of house n we all had our own little houses. Wonderful. Fire set outside every nite. Friendly helpful staff!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank beccamcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thanks for the kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best possible experience. We work hard to provide the best breakfast in town and to do the extras like set the fires every night. Mary changes the menus seasonally and we have more than one or two things planned for later in the year. Hope to see you back to show you everything new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed 1 night at the Captain's Neighbor. Very well restored property, great breakfast, and Grant is a fine guide to the town! After dinner, we had a fine evening outside by the fire talking with other guests. Breakfast was delicious and they took care to accommodate dietary concerns.

Room Tip: There are a couple of buildings to stay in, each with a different combination of rooms. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl-H-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Karl,

We'r eglad you enjoyed your stayThanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. With notice, I think Mary can accomodate just about any dietary concern. She makes the best breakfast in town! We'll continue to work hard to improve and upgrade the inn. Hope we'll see you back again soon!

B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently stayed at the Captain Wohlt Inn for 2 nights with a group of couples, all of us in our mid 20s. I was a little concerned that the place would be overly frumpy, but it seems like they have done a lot lately to modernize it. The rooms were very nice, and everything within them (beds, pillows, towels) was very high quality and so cozy. The outdoor fireplaces were really fun to spend the evening sitting around! We mentioned we wanted to make smores, and they got all the materials for us and set them out for us that night! So sweet. And I cannot say enough about the breakfast - it was just ridiculously good, and huge! More like a brunch really.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#7 of 51 in Hermann
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#12 of 51 in Hermann
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.5 mi away
Herzog Mansion
Herzog Mansion
#45 of 51 in Hermann
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Wohlt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Wohlt Inn

Address: 123 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: $117 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Wohlt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Wohlt Inn is the perfect place for a romantic get-away, a gathering of friends, or a family get-together. With five wonderful buildings nestled in the heart of Hermann’s historic district, a garden blooming with beauty, and remodeled, modern guestrooms and suites, it is also the ideal place for business travelers, small weddings, corporate retreats and business meetings. Our lodging choices include individual rooms, whirlpool suites, group suites for up to eight adults, as well as, private guesthouses for up to 20 adults. In full, we can accommodate 70 guests. Our chef, Mary Bickmeyer, prepares the Best Breakfast in Town each morning. There are chocolate chip and oatmeal cinnamon butterscotch cookies waiting for you at check-in. They’re the Best in Town as well. For 2018, we will be adding special weekly events, in season, such as special Happy Hours, Ice Cream Socials and Brats From the Grill! Call with any questions and we will be more than happy to help! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Captain Wohlt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing