We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain Wohlt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Wohlt Inn
Ranked #2 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
“Perfect! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Garden Suite and it made our trip to Hermann most enjoyable! We were welcomed just like we were family, told of all the local attractions and wineries and they even had a shed to lock up our bikes. Breakfast each morning was excellent! Thumbs up! Great hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarlemof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    39
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
232
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlock, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the Peters Suite, which was quite comfortable and cozy. Very peaceful and quiet. Really appreciated the extra room and the small kitchen. The garden area just outside the door could use a little spiffing up, but other than that, it was great. We got excellent recommendations on where to have dinner, and the breakfast was really good. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are many steps to climb from the Peters Suite to the breakfast area, so this room/suite would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Mary,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back. The Peters Suite will be remodeled this winter so it will be even better upon your return! We will be adding a new Lazy Boy queen size sofa bed as well as replacing the flooring with new tile in the kitchenette. The courtyard will be completely redone and we will be adding a few surprises. Of course, the service will remain the same and Mary's breakfasts are by far the best in town. Hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Cozy but very nice for the price! The breakfast was amazing and was so worth getting up early, and don't forget about the cookies and hospitality. We stayed in the attic and it was great. Enjoyed sitting outside having a glass of wine (purchased locally). Great location for walking but most impressive was the hospitality.

Room Tip: Amazing breakfast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKF69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent two nights at Capt Wohlts inn in the Neighbors suite. It had very clean and neat rooms. Water pressure in showers and temp was great. Hospitality was a amazing and the breakfast was even better. Oh, and the cookies left in the rooms were delicious!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Samantha,

Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review! We're working hard to provide our guests with the best stay possible in Hermann. Mary's cookies help quite a bit. They are the best in town! Don't forget they are available for order or to take home.

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

After a terrible stay last year at the Hermann Motel we were wary about staying anywhere in Hermann again this year. The owner of the Captain Wohlt Inn was very accommodating for our large group especially when several members were not able to arrive until late in the day because of work. The hospitality was outstanding, the food was excellent and rooms were exceptional. We stayed in the Captain's Neighbor and found it to be quiet even though you would expect an older building to allow sound to travel more. The bathrooms were newly renovated and very clean. The locations is great and there are a lot of interesting places to visit within walking distance. At night we all gathered around the fire pit to enjoy drinks and share stories with others. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family had a reunion in Hermann Missouri and several family members stayed here at the Captain Wohlt Inn. It was wonderful. The owners treated us fairly, welcomed us, provided an extra room when the place next door, (the Laughing Boar) was not as large at it professed. Actually this place took 4 of our family members in, in a last-minute decision for which the Laughing Boar sought fit to charge us for anyways! Captain Wohlt Inn (Captain's Neighbor) is the sign out front is beautifully appointed and very welcoming. Stay here and not next door!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are more accommodating for the elderly. It has a lovely living room with tv an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank showmestate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Showmestate1,

We're glad we were able to help out. Hopefully by next year I'll have a full house rental, but even without, you can rent either Captain Wohlt's Home( 5 bedrooms) or the Captains's Neighbor ( 4 bedrooms) or the entire place for a maximum occupancy of 26. Next year we'll be adding a two bedroom/ two bath suite so we'll be up to 30.

Hope to see you back! Have a great summer!

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent two nights at Captain Wohlts Inn in the Gloria room which is directly above the dining room. Room was nice, clean, well equipped with good bathroom. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of good food and great conversation with the owner as well as the other guests. The owner gave us plenty of information about what Hermann had to offer. Exchanged ideas and opinions on where to go and what to see with other guests too. The tour at the German museum was very insightful and we received good advice on which wineries to check out. They take very good care of you. We enjoyed a bottle of wine around the evening fire...very romantic setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brant W, General Manager at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Brenda,

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to give our guests a great experience in Hermann. We will be planting the east side of the garden area this fall and have just added a two person hammock so the property is even more relaxing. By next spring, all the rooms in Captain Wohlt's Home will have new colors and new designs. Come back and see the changes!

Thanks again for your business and the review. We're growing fast because of the hard work of our employees and great guests like you!

B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Hermannhof
The Inn at Hermannhof
#3 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.8 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#12 of 50 in Hermann
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Wohlt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Wohlt Inn

Property: Captain Wohlt Inn
Address: 123 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Wohlt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain Wohlt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing