We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered stay!”
Review of Captain Wohlt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Wohlt Inn
Ranked #2 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, West Virginia
1 review
“Pampered stay!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

It was raining and Kent greeted us with an umbrella, taking us to our suite immediately upon our arrival. The suite was just as the photos on their web site, warm and inviting just like home. The suite was very spacious, refrig large enough for our personal beverages,etc. along with a home made cookie treat, coffee & tea. Kent provided good information regarding the various places we might like to visit, eat, etc. We had a great day and made use of the Trolly service provided by Kevin, the owner I think. Our breakfast experience was great, fantastic food prepared and served in a very pleasing setting. The food was so delicious we all (6 of us) ate every bite! We complimented the chef and other help for the wonderful pampering!
We will definitely return to the Wohlt Inn for a visit.
PS The Trolly all day service made our stay even better, no worries about transportation!
They were fun and very accommodating, taking us anywhere we wanted to go!
A great time in Herman, arrived by Amtrack!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    42
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
259
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My experience with B & Bs hasn't always been the greatest (as in often you feel like you're swimming through a sea of knickknacks), but the Captain Wohlt was a welcome exception. The place is charming, the accommodations were comfortable, the breakfast was delicious (both mornings we were there) and the proprietor was extremely friendly and helpful. We plan to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Thank you so much. It's such fun to have guests learn to like B&B's by staying with us. Hope you can return soon and often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We first came across Captain Wohlt Inn about five years ago and have been back at least once a year since. The rooms are charming and comfortable. The breakfasts are fabulous. We love to sit outside and relax and watch the birds while enjoying the local wine and beer. During this stay, we also played washers. Kent had recommendations for restaurants and other things to see while we were here. Suffice it to say, we will be back!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is thoughtful, interesting and enjoyable guests like you that make innkeeping worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in the English Suite which was tastefully decorated and just what you'd expect of a Hermann B&B. The bathroom was ENORMOUS with a comfy 2-person jetted tub. The bed was king sized and comfortable. Easy access from the front door (the room is just to the left of the front door). We had upstairs neighbors which we could hear at times (but that's to be expected at a B&B). It's located close to the downtown and we walked to The Black Walnut Bistro which was fantastic! Breakfast was decent and the only "low light" of the stay. We didn't have a choice to sit at our own table for breakfast which we would have liked (we're not super social in the morning). This may be something we could request beforehand but we didn't think about it. Kent was wonderful and very welcoming. -- Overall it was a very pleasant experience and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The English suite was nice and big with a huge bathroom and jetted tub for 2. Downside is you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTGirl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so sorry that you would rather have sat alone. I didn't think to offer this to you at check-in, but indeed would have arranged separate seating for you if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had last minute plans to Hermann, MO and Kent was very accomodating and provided us with an outstanding place to stay with maps to local restaurants and wineries. We recommend the Capt Wohlt inn to anyone who is interested in enjoying a relaxing and warm getaway to Hermann. You will not be disappointed with the cleanliness, food, and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much. We strive to make a totally positive experience for our guests, and it is nice to know our efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We were expecting much more, more service, better quality, less mold, dirt, and more privacy. Our first mornings breakfast was missing half the meal. The cook forgot to bake half our meal. For the cost, we should have received many more amenities. And with the botched breakfast, one would expect something more than,"oh I forgot, sorry." We will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
I'm very sorry your stay was such a disappointment. We try to give our guests a positive experience in every way, and I do wish you had said something about your unhappiness during your 2 night stay. Our cleaners do a wonderful job according to almost all our guests, and I really don't know what made you unhappy, but would have tried to fix it. I really have no idea about the breakfast, as I am not aware of ever having given anyone "half a breakfast." As for a lack of privacy, no one entered your suite while you were there (the only guests staying in the entire building) and the common room is just that, so we do enter it to clean and to show potential guests the facility. Again, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The owner really made us feel welcome. She provided recommendations for places to visit and information on local taxi/trolley services. The room was clean and well-maintained. I would have appreciated a TV in the room (to connect with my computer via HDMI) as it was a very cold weekend and that limited some of our touring, but I feel that would have normally been a non-factor. The breakfast was nice and the host facilitated guest introductions. We even learned about new places to visit from talking with the other guests. I would recommend this to others, including those arriving via the nearby Amtrak station. The B&B was within walking distance of the riverfront as well as several restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent W, Owner at Captain Wohlt Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words; I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am really sorry you needed a tv to use your computer. We do have wifi, and I thought that covered all portable computers. One of our four buildings does not have any tv's, and although I tell people making phone reservations that is the case, it should be clearer on our website. I will change that as soon as I can; thank you for making me aware of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
59 reviews
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warrenton
13.7 mi away
Days Inn New Florence
Days Inn New Florence
#1 of 3 in New Florence
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Wohlt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Wohlt Inn

Property: Captain Wohlt Inn
Address: 123 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Wohlt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Captain Wohlt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing