We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out for Hidden Costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Hermannhof
Ranked #3 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2008

My husband and I just got back from celebrating our anniversary in Hermann MO. We chose to stay at The Inn at Hermannhof because of what we read on Trip Advisor and Travel Services @ Bed and Breakfasts.com. The reviews were great . When I looked at Hermannhof's website the pictures of the rooms looked great.

So, I called and booked the Kingfisher Room, which is a category 4 Premium room.Right after I had gotten off the phone with Tom I realized that I would rather stay in the Peerless room, which was the same category and same price and it was also available. I called right back and spoke with Tom again asking him if it would be any trouble to switch rooms. He was very put out by my request since he had already put the Kingfisher room as "booked' on his website calendar. I was not impressed by his "customer service". I had just hung up the phone with him, I could have understood if it had been a day or so, but I had just hung up the phone with him. I didn't understand what the big deal was, but I told him the Kingfisher room would be fine.

When we arrived at Hermannhof Inn the room was very nice. It looked just like the pictures.The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge. The shower was amazing.

We did have a shock our first night though. One of the staff members came into our room with out knocking! Thank God we were dressed! She was embarrassed as we were too. Apparently, there was some confusion and she was not aware that we had arrived. She apologized for not knocking before entering the room.

The breakfast was good, not fantastic but not bad either. The cheese and crackers that are "complementary" with the rooms are nice and the wine ok.

However, we had another shock. That was our credit card statement. Our bill for the two night stay was for $806.98!! The website stated the room as being $364 a night. We didn't know what the extra $78.98 was for. My husband called the Inn to find out. He was told that it was for room and bed tax. The taxes for this room came to $39.49 per night!!! Give me a break. This room was NOT a $400.00 a night room. We've stayed in suites in Las Vegas that were bigger, nicer, better customer service and didn't cost as much. My husband told them we did not think that was right. That is way too high. They said that's the way it is.

So, be aware that what the price states on their website does not include ALL that you will be paying. We will not be going back.

Bud and Melissa Thomas

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mishee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatHermannhof, Manager at The Inn at Hermannhof, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Although this review was written in 2008, I am responding to it now because we have a new management team and have increased our staffing levels in order to improve our service. I apologize that your request to change rooms after you made your reservation was not honored. We now make every effort to accommodate our guests if they have similar requests. I also apologize for the housekeeping staff that accidentally entered your room during your stay.

Unfortunately, taxes are established by our local, state, and federal government. As with other inns, bed and breakfasts, and hotels, we have to charge our customers the taxes the government requires. We do now email a folio with all charges, including taxes to each person who makes a reservation. I apologize that you were not aware that our prices listed on the website did not include taxes.

Thank you for your review, as it is always beneficial to know how we can improve the service and experience we provide for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Hermannhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 406 of 406 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2008

My husband & I stayed for our One Year Anniversary. If you are looking for quiet and intimate setting, this is it. The rooms were very clean. The service was great. Janet & Tom will make you feel right at home. You get your moneys worth just in the unlimited cheese, wine, & drinks that are stored in the fridge. I will being staying again at the Inn of Hermannof.


http://www.hermannhof.com/Inn/

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Crystallvlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We discovered the Inn at Hermanhoff through Select Registry which is our choice website for quality top notch B & B's. The inn has only been open since 2007 and they became members of the registry this year. You will not be disappointed with whatever room you decide to go with. The accommodations are over the top. It's all in the details and they have them covered. We were plesantly surprised at the complimentary wine, cheese and crackers waiting for us in the room.

The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. We asked to see the rooms in the main building (the Inn suites) and were blown away. The bathrooms are gorgeous! We stayed in the Johannes Blust Suite in the Blust Haus as it was the last room available over Memorial Day weekend. It was huge, much larger than the pictures on line lead you to believe. The bathroom has an oversize tub for 2 and the "shower tower" is a 7 head adjustable shower contraption, absolutely AMAZING! It also has an outside patio with table and chairs and a private back porch.

The only thing that dampened the experience is the Blust Haus is one street away from train tracks. You could hear every train as it went by. The main building where the inn rooms are and where you have breakfast is much better insulated. We saw trains going by outside the window and could not hear a thing.

We had dinner at the Vintage 1847 Restaurant. It was good, not great and we were definitely overdressed. It was a VERY casual atmosphere. Simon's on the Waterfront is a nice choice for lunch. We wanted to try Europa's for dinner but only stayed one night. We also visited several of the local wineries. All in all a nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hermannhoff Inn in the stunning Champagne Suite, it was a fantastic and romantic setting that I would suggest to anyone!! We only stayed one night, but we were able to tour the Hermannhoff Winery, the Stone Hill winery, and Adam Puchta Winery. The best wine tasting experience overall was the Adam Puchta...the bartender (if that's what you call it at a wine tasting), was so knowledgable and paired each wine with a different cracker that acentuated its flavor!! It was amazing, and the wines there were the best by far!! She also gave us generous servings of wine as well, instead of tiny little shots.
The Stone Hill winery tour was worth the additional cost, it was massive and the tour guide has a lot of knowledge about the area...in my opinion, their wine was only so-so. We ate at the restaurant on the property and the food was delicious, I would definitely recommend eating there!!
The Hermannhoff Winery was a self-guided tour, but it was on the small side...still interesting though. The wine here was good, their Italian sausage was to die for!!!
The service at the Hermannhoff Inn was excellent. The room was beautiful, quiet, cozy, and romantic. There was a huge shower, a soaking tub, plush bathrobes, fireplaces in the bedroom and bathroom, and a private deck. You are greeted with a bottle of wine, cheese, and crackers in the room. In the morning, we had a yummy German breakfast waiting for us at the Inn. Stay at the Hermannhoff Inn!!!!!
We also did a tasting at the Brewery across the street from the Hermanhoff Inn. They had some fantastic beer (my husband's favorite part of the trip!!)!! You can also do a self guided tour of the brewery. When doing the tasting, you get 5 beers for $5, and they are large cups!! The pumkin beer was really good!!
If you are looking for a short, romantic, adult getaway with the one you love, or even a girlfriends weekend full of laughter and wine, Hermann is the place to be!! My husband and I plan to return to Hermann in October for Octoberfest. We will also return to the Hermannhoff Inn!!

2  Thank MIssouriRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

[--]

We went to Hermann the second weekend in October & it quickly became one of our favorite places.

We stayed at the Hermannhof Inn which was incredible. Our hosts were charming & informative & our room(the Himmelstreppe Suite) was top notch.

We visted the Hermannhof Winery, Adam Puchta, & Stone Hill. If you only have time for one definitely go to Stone Hill. The staff is charming & the tour worth the time.

Our only Hermann disappointment was the lack of restaurant choices for dinner. We loved our room so much we wished we had just gotten a pizza & taken it back to the room
We did have breakfast at the Rivertown Restaurant which was awesome.

I can't wait to go back!

2  Thank RKuebler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.6 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
0.3 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.3 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hermannhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hermannhof

Address: 237 E 1st St, Hermann, MO 65041-1113
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: $198 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Hermannhof 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a truly romantic Missouri Wine Country inn at our historic Hermann, MO bed and breakfast, perfect settings for a quick weekend getaway. Our Hermann B&B features spacious, beautifully appointed suites with complimentary gourmet breakfasts, signature bottle of wine, free wi-fi, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs & modern amenities. Our Hermann Missouri bed and breakfast is conveniently located in the center of downtown, a short walk to Hermannhof winery, Dierberg and Star Lane winery tasting room, antique and art stores, shopping & the Katy Trail. Experience history, luxury, and comfort at our Hermann, MO inn in Missouri Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Hermannhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hermannhof Hotel Hermann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing