We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best wine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adam Puchta Winery

Adam Puchta Winery
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Hermann
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adam Puchta Winery, located off Hwy. 100 on the banks of Frene Creek about 2.5 miles southwest of Hermann, is the oldest family farm winery in Missouri. Its true uniqueness, however, lies in the fact that the same family has continuously owned it since 1855. We are a true farm winery with a peaceful, laidback setting. Many cats live here, and the property has picnic tables on a lovely shaded hillside so you can sit, visit and relax.Tastings are done in a cool old barn where we pair wine with food for a truly enhanced experience.
Harrisonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

nice place, clean, otherwise similar set-up to others. service staff knowledgeable and friendly. But the wine was the best we tried while in Hermann. we bought 5 different bottles and probably could have got some more. will definitely go back. had to pay to taste, but not any different from other wineries

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank walt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamPuchtaWinery, Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the nice review! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your visit to the winery. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our wines and your visit we hope that you return often!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    66
    29
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is our favorite winery in Hermann. The wine is delicious and the atmosphere is awesome. This time around Larry was the one who assited us with the wine tasting. He is great and we enjoyed sharing stories with him. My advice is pay the $10 and try all 16 wines and buy the port for sure. It is fabulous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank McGee4Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamPuchtaWinery, Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. I'm glad to hear you took advantage of the full $10 tasting. We strive to do our best with our wines and our customer service. Larry is definitely a stand out taster he has been working here more than 10 years for 3 days a week and he enjoys meeting all the new customers and he doesn't forget a face (seriously he doesn't forget). We hope you come out and see us again soon!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good time and good wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was our first stop on Saturday morning and it pays to go early. Now key word here is Saturday and I would imagine the crowd might be lighter during the week. We did have to wait and the cost of the tasting selections were higher but they did give you options. Since there were 3 of us girls - it ended up more like communion Sunday. LOL. Port tasting inside was interesting and though they were good - they were $$. Scenery is nice - we had a glass of wine each (which I might add was rather a pain and the service out there was poor) and sat down the hill on the logs they use for chairs. It looks like a lot of folks bring in food and make it a picnic. This place is out in the middle of no where and gravel roads - so again - trolley!!! Now - let me say that I'm not 100% a cat person - I'm a dog person - but grew up with cats and can tolerate most. They have some of the cutest and sweetest cats out there and they are at every turn. I would likely go back to this place and might consider packing a picnic lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thundrdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamPuchtaWinery, Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us. We hope you return often and bring your picnic basket :)
P.S. You are correct typically during the week we aren't as busy as Saturdays.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hugely Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Numerous people opined that the Adam Puchta winery was one of the best in the area. After experiencing the place I have to wonder how much wine they consumed to have dulled their senses to that extent. I have been to wineries all over the country from Northern California to Southern California and throughout the Midwest. Adam Puchta ranks near the bottom in terms of the experience. If fact Hermann offers several wineries with a much better experience.

First of all be prepared for a primitive experience. The tasting room is essentially a metal clad barn with a rudimentary bar. The "skilled and experienced" associates sling wine without much of an explanation other than the name of the wine they are pouring. The measuring devices are a joke. One person gets a decent pour while the next barely gets a taste. Our associate had to keep banging the bottle to get anything to pour out of it. The "specially prepared snacks" are various falvored "straws" that are flung from a tupperware container if you are lucky enough for the associate to give you any. Several times we had to specifically ask. As I indicated the experience was extremely basic and less than satisfying.

Second the wine itself was not impressive. It is not that several were somewhat decent but we had much, much better in Stone Hill and Hermanhof to name but two.

For a winery as old and distinguished as Adam Puchta makes itself out to be the line of porta potties is certainly less than any of us expected.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamPuchtaWinery, Public Relations Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our winery. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasurable experience at our winery. We are the oldest continuously owned family winery in the country and we are proud of our history. Yes our tasting room is in a barn - the original barn to the property and our gift shop was built back in 1858. We want to preserve our heritage so utilizing these buildings are important to us. We try our best to hire friendly staff and train them to be knowledgeable about our wines, I'm sorry if you didn't experience that. We hope that you will give us another chance and visit us again.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“B&B Getaway Picnic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The service was slow and not well thought through. The Port tasting is nice but bottles of Port are a little expensive for MO.
Restroom accommodations are not good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CherylR374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamPuchtaWinery, Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our winery. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Port tasting, and I'm sorry to hear that you feel our product is over priced -- we only produce a small amount of our ports and they are require a lot of attention from our winemaker, however we feel we our price is on point with other MO wineries who typically sell their ports for $20 for 375 ml where as our ports are closer to $40 and are 750 ml. I response to the porta-potties, that is correct we have them - we had a sewer line collapse a while back and it has turned out to be a VERY expensive fix for us - we are still in the process of coming up with a different option - we are sorry for the inconvenience.
We hope that you will come and visit us again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adam Puchta Winery also viewed

 

Been to Adam Puchta Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing