We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat in a former stable”
Review of Vintage Restaurant

Vintage Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Hermann
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Today, the renowned Vintage Restaurant is just steps from the main house of the Stone Hill Winery, and provides the perfect meal with the perfect wine. Over the years, the restaurant has catered to thousands of lucky diners, serving contemporary world cuisine, including German specialties, paired with Stone Hill Winery's award-winning wines. That's why it was nominated a "Best German Restaurant in America" by GermanDeli. With its charm and warmth, the Vintage Restaurant provides the perfect setting for post-winery dining, rehearsal dinners, group tours and corporate meetings.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Eat in a former stable”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

When you enter the Vintage, you quickly notice the former horse stalls where booths have been installed. Tables are also set in the former horse stable, plus there is a large dining room. They specialize in German dishes and it is very good. Service was excellent and my water goblet was constantly refilled. The potato pancakes are excellent. Each food selection recommends a particular wine from Stone Hill Winery to accompany it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    144
    57
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New menu”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Always enjoy visiting Stone Hill and dinner at Vintage. The new menu could offer more variety and more Germann options that made the Vintage so unique before.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Topattractionsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill T, Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Vintage Restaurant. We are always looking for ways to improve and offer the best selections on our menu. Guest input is key, should you have any specific recommendations please don't hesitate to share. We will be evaluating the menu and sales at the end of the period and make the necessary adjustments/changes. Thank you again for visiting Vintage and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Everytime I eat at this resturant I am more and more amazed. The servers (Ashlea, Jessica,Kindra, and Carol) are the nicest ladies ever! The food is to die for! I love the salads and also the dishes were really clean. Overall amazing!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krkunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill T, Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Vintage Restaurant. I will be sure to commend those team members which you mentioned. Thank you again for visiting Vintage Restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
1 review
“Excellent meal and view!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stopped by to visit Stone Hill Winery and Gift Shop but was referred to Vintage Restaurant for our meal. Group of 8, Everyone plate had plenty and it was delicious! Service was good and the weather was perfect. Can't wait to go back! Loved the Reuben!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ugottadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Creative food - Fun atmosphere - Good for groups”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We tend to eat later in the evening and this place was open! It is at Stone Hill Winery, up on a hill overlooking Hermann. It is in an old horse barn - it has character. The fried pickles were delicious for an appetizer. It had a selection of German foods as well as entrees inspired with local ingredients. I ordered the Grilled Atlantic Salmon with a Dill and Steinberg cream, which was very tasty. My husband ordered the German Sampler Platter, which he enjoyed. Portion sizes were large, but we still ordered dessert just to try it out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndieA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vintage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing