We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for a weekend getaway!”
Review of Alpenhorn Gasthaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Ranked #6 of 51 Hermann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Alpenhorn Gasthaus 8/17 -8/18 and loved every minute. From the location, to scenery, to accommodations and food...our stay was absolutely perfect! The Alpenhorn is a perfect romantic getaway to reconnect. We did the Chocolate and Wine Cellar Rendezvous and it was amazing! Adrian made us feel so very welcomed and the wine cellar is incredible...not to mention the homemade chocolate treats Kate made! Our only regret was not making the time to enjoy the outdoor hottub on the property. The breakfast was incredible and a great way to send us off. We will definitely be back! Thank you Adrian and Kate for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 303 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Alpenhorn Gasthaus. We stayed in the Landhaus, which was a very comfortable cottage. The staff was very accomadating to our needs and questions. The breakfast was outstanding, we started with a fresh fruit smoothie then had a great fresh bread pudding with nuts and cranberries. Then the main dish was a farm fresh egg frittata with bacon and cheese, it was great. I recommend Alpenhorn Gasthaus to anyone looking for a nice relaxing stay in Hermann.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We loved our weekend stay at Alpenhorn Gasthaus! Everything was wonderful: Kate and Adrian were friendly and welcoming, the gourmet breakfasts were delicious, the grounds were beautiful, our room (Das Kleine Haus) was cozy. We enjoyed our private time at the hot tub each night, and the robes and chocolates in the room were a nice extra touch. I don't have anything negative I could possibly say about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Here's what you need to know. The town of Hermann is tiny. This place is about a mile out of town. It took us about 30 sec.to get there. I felt like we were driving up to a magazine cover. Gorgeous!! Sign up for your PRIVATE hot tub time when you get there.(Hour slots)There's nothing like sitting in the hot tub, drinking wine at sunset with the one you love. We also enjoyed a homemade cookie & a game of checkers in the sitting room. We walked around the property and saw the chickens & petted the sheep. We sat under the giant walnut tree in the chairs. No TV, no phones, just quiet peace!! We stayed in the kings rooms with a lovely firm king bed. Lots of space. Nice, well done bathroom. Huge windows overlooking the vineyard. The next morning we sat in rocking chairs on the front porch drinking coffee, waiting for the delicious breakfast service. What great service and amazingly friendly, courteous staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2plant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our 5th anniversary and could not have been happier with our choice. We stayed for three nights. Adrian and Kate were wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Das Land Haus. We really enjoyed the privacy and proximity to the hot tub. The room was clean and comfortable and perfect for quiet relaxation.
The food was outstanding! While the breakfast each morning was delicious, the ultimate French toast stole the show! We also opted for some of their specialty packages: the Port and Chocolate tasting, the picnic lunch and the 4 course dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed each of these experiences and will do them again on our next visit. We can not recommend the Alpenhorn enough and look forward to our next visit!!!

Room Tip: If you're looking for privacy and romance, choose the Das Land Haus. You are separated from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my third trip to Alpenhorn Gasthaus over a decade. The grounds and housing are lovely and simple. They are comfortable and the hosts re wonderful. The food is extraordinary. This is THE place to get away from it all and relax. I felt truly rejuvenated when I left. I will return again. I stayed in the Kings' Room in the main house, but would recommend any room on the premises.

Room Tip: There are steps into the main house, steps to the rooms on the second floor and steps to get to Das...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came to Hermann for cycling on the Katy trail, which was just perfect. The Alpenhaus hosts were always here for our needs. The rooms were well decorated ,clean ,and quiet. Breakfast was tasty, and Swiss, with meuseli, frittatas,and whole grain -thick-pancakes. All in all, a great,quiet 3day stay!!

Room Tip: Adrian and Kate will pack a healthy biker's lunch for you,if requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
10.9 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 51 in Hermann
462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermann Hill Vineyard Inn & Spa and River Bluff Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#7 of 51 in Hermann
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#13 of 51 in Hermann
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Gasthaus

Address: 179 E Highway 100, PO Box 285, Hermann, MO 65041-4257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: $99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Missouri Wine Country, discover this romantic retreat in Hermann Missouri. Nestled on a hilltop, two minutes from antique shops, art galleries and wineries. Enjoy European hospitality, gourmet cooking, farm animals, gardens, Swiss chocolates. Perfect for that special occasion getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing