We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Town Diner Atmosphere with Delicious Food”

Downtown Deli & Custard Shoppe
Ranked #10 of 29 Restaurants in Hermann
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the food side, we are a deli featuring house baked breads, hand sliced meats and cheeses along with hand patted burgers, home made chips, and soups in the winter time. On the sweet side, we offer creamy frozen custard as well as hand dipped ice cream with lots of different toppings and mixins.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Small Town Diner Atmosphere with Delicious Food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Being a fan of a great hamburger and frozen treat, we have always been pleased with quality of food and service we have received at the Downtown Deli. A must try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleofBelltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No custard?”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stopped because of the "custard" sign, but the young man behind the counter said they do not have it. I did have a good milkshake, though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Downtown Custard Shoppe”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I always stop for the Custard. They also
have a variety of ice cream for cones or sundaes.
But now they have a good hamburger or salad also.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StLouisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stopped here for a quick bite. I had a bowl of chili (really good flavor, beans were firm, ground beef was in recognizable chunks). It was obviously freshly made in the shop,. The best item, though, was the sandwich my husband ordered. It was the special, an NY sub on rye. It had corned beef and pastrami (among other things). The meat was fantastic and it was cut in thick enough slices that you could savor it. It wasn't that paper-thin sliced meat. We were very pleased with our meal. ($9.50 for both items, we drank water.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dede V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Deli & Custard Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Deli & Custard Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing