We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, interesting atmosphere.”
Review of Hermann Wurst Haus

Hermann Wurst Haus
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Hermann
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: German
Description: Our deli/restaurant is open 7 days a week with indoor and outdoor seating. Our menu showcases award-winning bratwurst, hickory-smoked pulled pork, deli meat sandwiches, housemade side dishes and much more. The menu changes often to offer you the freshest items possible. Wurst Breakfast served only on weekends 8-11 am, March through December.
Restaurant details
Description: Our deli/restaurant is open 7 days a week with indoor and outdoor seating. Our menu showcases award-winning bratwurst, hickory-smoked pulled pork, deli meat sandwiches, housemade side dishes and much more. The menu changes often to offer you the freshest items possible. Wurst Breakfast served only on weekends 8-11 am, March through December.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The food at the Wurst Haus is pretty good, but what makes the place great is the atmosphere. They have lots of interesting food items PLUS many varieties of bratwursts made right there. They also offer a great selection of locally produced bee and wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug K, Public Relations Manager at Hermann Wurst Haus, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Kelly,
Thanks for your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Hermann Wurst Haus! We hope you visit us a gain next time you are in Hermann.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    118
    43
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
197 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good. ”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

For lunch we had the bratwurst Reuben with a side of gumbo and a club. Both were very good.
A wide variety of meats and cheeses for sale.
Very nice place. We would go back.

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug K, Public Relations Manager at Hermann Wurst Haus, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
David,
Thanks for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience! Please come back and visit us again!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in Hermann!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Took a little trip to Hermann, MO for some wine tasting and sausage tasting. Stopped by this nice deli shop where the owners make some really nice sausages! I bought 6 packs and in two days we have eaten two for dinner. We also had a little lunch while we were there and really enjoyed it. Very tasty! I would suggest you always stop bay here and make sure you have a cooler to accommodate the treasures you will take home with you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug K, Public Relations Manager at Hermann Wurst Haus, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Hermann Wurst Haus! Thanks for all your kind words! We hope you stop by and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“microwaved food and poor servic”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

After discovering that our food is microwaved asked to speak with a manager, that never happened he gave us an angry look as he walked away. If you want to get really good sausage go to Swiss meats it's well worth the drive

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug K, Public Relations Manager at Hermann Wurst Haus, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are so sorry that you were disappointed. We do not normally microwave our food. We weren't prepared for the busy day we had on Friday. We are also very sorry that our manager did not address your concerns. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, the Wurst Haus Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This review is for the Black Forrest Ham only. I do not want people to not go to the Hermann Wurst Haus for the other really great meats, brats, sausages and hot sticks. We bought the Black Forrest Ham for our Christmas dinner and also picked one up for a friend for her family Christmas dinner. The ham was so terribly salty that no one in our family or in my friends family liked it. It is expected for ham to be a little salty but when it is so salty that it can hardly be ate that is very disappointing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolfCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug K, Public Relations Manager at Hermann Wurst Haus, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are so sorry you did not enjoy the Black Forest Ham. We appreciate your comments and will look into this. Traditionally Black Forest Hams are salty due to the curing process. Thank you for your kind words about our other products. We hope you visit us again.
Sincerely,
The Wurst Haus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermann Wurst Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing