We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”
Review of The Cottage - CLOSED

The Cottage
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Hello. We are a gorgeous 5 acre facility located just 1/2 mile outside the German wine community of Hermann, MO. We specialize in people, offering both an event venue for your celebration needs, and treehouses for your bed and breakfast lodging. We're a one of a kind experience that you just keep coming back to. Perfect for wedding rehearsal dinners, we offer a variety of food and prices for any budget. We're easy to work with and here to make sure that everything is perfect for your big day.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We visited The Cottage over the Valentine's Day weekend and were just so impressed with the ambiance (really just like a cottage -- feels almost like being in somebody's house!), the quality of the food and the exceptional service. My husband had the fried chicken, which he thought was excellent, and I had the quiche of the day which was remarkable. The crust in particular was just amazing, which the owner and chef, Mary, explained to me was due to her special "pie water" concoction. Mary is personable and just delightful, coming to individual tables and engaging everyone in conversation. Our server, Arielle, was also a delight -- I'm not sure I've ever ended up hugging a waitress at the end of a meal before, but that's the kind of young lady she was.

The Cottage is a bit out of the way up on one of the hills outside Hermann, but definitely worth the effort to find. When you're there, don't miss the Velvet Chicken soup, which is indescribably good -- as is the pecan bread pudding.

Actually, you know what? It's all just fantastic. Just go and eat something, and you're going to love it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MOMamaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
206 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked and bread pudding that will bring u back 4more”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The new owner Mary took our reservation early in the day and proceeded to greet us upon our arrival later that evening. After some pleasant conversation with Mary on family origins we met our waitress Carie (forgive the spelling if not correct). She laid out the various specials, helped with the appi and made sure our meal came at a relaxed pace. We had the local hermanhoff chambercin red wine that was very tasty. We tried the artichoke and spinach dip that was very good. We both had a salad that was very fresh and of good proportion. For the entree we both ordered the jalapeño cheesy grits and a brown sugar cumin rubbed salmon, the salmon was cooked perfectly with an excellent flavor. As we were celebrating an anniversary a dessert was offered, the list of desserts beckoned an order of 1 of everything, but we settled on the bread pudding an excellent choice and will be on the excellent dessert list for quite some time. Service was excellent and even friendly, if in Hermann make the trip and tell Mary hello!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tejasdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited the Cottage in the off season, so we honestly expected "off-season" service. We were delightfully surprised by the wonderful staff, cozy ambiance and delicious food! Try the mushroom ravioli (I don't remember the actual name of the dish). The fireplace, local artwork and local fresh foods make this a must on your visit to Hermann, MO.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Though from St. Louis, it our first time to Hermann. We're in town the weekend before Christmas and it's very quiet around town. Wondering why we've never come before as it's a quaint little town.

We found The Cottage on Trip Advisor and was a little concerned about a few of the negative reviews. I'm happy to say we had a wonderful meal and experience. We both had the pan-fried chicken which was perhaps the best I've ever had. Ordered a German wheat beer that was very good. The desserts were outstanding. Just two other tables were occupied, so the service was top notch. The owner, Mary, introduced herself and we had a very pleasant chat. Neat place just out of town. Reasonably priced for the quality of the food. We will definitely return to Hermann and The Cottage.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best resturant in town”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The staff is so friendly, atmosphere is artsy, food is fantastic. I had the best ribeye with blue cheese sause. So good!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing