We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stone Giraffe Guest House
Ranked #25 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and and I stayed here shortly after they first openned in October. I was searching to find it again so we could stay there again. I noticed the bad reviews and had to respond. We are 40 and absolutely loved this place. The conversation was great. I agree with Carolyn S. This couple takes great care in their house and are proud of it. They don't want bottle rings on their tables,etc. If you want to just get trashed the whole weekend, this isn't the place to stay. This place is great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyndra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Owners where great. Breakfast was very good.
But hot as H** at night(no a/c).
A ceiling fan that was Way up there,making it pretty usless and a grinding floor unit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glkincade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I met a couple girlfriends here for quick girls weekend last summer and we had a blast. Sharon is the absolute best! She was very accomodating while making our reservation and took the time when we first arrived to let us know everything that was going on in Hermann that day and gave us directions and recommendations - she even gave us her number to call if we needed her to come pick us up! After a full afternoon at the wineries, possibly the best part of the day was just relaxing back at the Stone Giraffe and chatting with other guests and playing the available board games. The house is beautiful, clean and well equipped and breakfast the next morning was just what we needed to recover on Sunday. Can't wait for the next girls trip at the Stone Giraffe!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a mini honeymoon (took the big trip to Hawaii later last fall) after our wedding last June. Eddie and Sharon, the owners, are lovely and very welcoming. They made us feel entirely at home and largely stayed out of our way, although they were very helpful with explaining how to get around Hermann and making restaurant reservations. We had a couple of interactions with the other guests who were a varied group, as well as being warmly welcomed by some of the owners' personal friends who came over for dinner.

The home itself is meticulously decorated and maintained in a simple Shaker style, not the typical ornate doilies and lace you expect with a B+B. I suppose that the owners take pride in their home and expect guests to treat it respectfully, and that may be what's behind some of the negative reviews. If you want to spend the weekend hearkening back to frat party days, leave empties scattered around, and puke/pass out on the couch this may not be the place for you.

If you are looking for a beautifully decorated home base from which to explore Hermann (yet a little out of the way, not right in the middle of the downtown), and some very welcoming hosts, this is the place. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Stone Giraffe. The facility is beautiful and the owners were very accommodating. It was very peaceful and we were made to feel at home. We lingered over breakfast with fellow guests.

Room Tip: This would be a good place for family reunions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for a two night get-a-way, and we absolutely LOVED it. Beautiful scenery, beautiful decor, and simply comforting. We could not have picked a better destination in Hermann other than The Stone Giraffe. We don't live far and whenever we decide to take some time away from our busy lives we always think of here. The service is excellent and we always feel welcome when we visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Stone Giraffe is reminiscent of a burning dumpster fire - really impressive from a distance but incredibly disappointing and stinky from up close. You don't think much of the owner/inn keeper hovering over you at first but soon you find out her expectations of a you are similar to your moms back in high school. This means all dishes cleaned, couches unoccupied ("BEDROOM BEDS ARE FOR SLEEPING, NOT COUCHES!!!") and lights out by 930 PM. The house and every accommodation in it was ultimately overshadowed by the very commanding ghoul that haunted us for 48 hours. Disrespectful, condescending, ignorant are just a few adjectives that come to mind when trying to describe the owner...sadly it ruined the experience for us. My stern recommendation is to only stay here if you are > 60 years old and don't mind military type rules and being treated with total disrespect. If you are going to visit Hermann, which is great, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BigBTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
8.2 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
66 reviews
6 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
71 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#13 of 50 in Hermann
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#14 of 50 in Hermann
29 reviews
6.1 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
6 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Giraffe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Giraffe Guest House

Address: 1208 Highway H, Hermann, MO 65041-4203
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: $150 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing