We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hermann
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Patio, Good drinks and friendly people

Stopped here late in the day on the Friday during Oktoberfest. They weren’t busy so we had a great... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Mmr636
,
Kansas City, Missouri
Great whiskey

Excellent service and great whiskey. The patio is one of the best ones in the area. Great view of... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2019
Daniel W
,
Maryland Heights, United States
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
9
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
9
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live band tasting room spirits lemonade blackberry bartender patio sample
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 14 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful distillery and tasting room, Black Shire will soon be a Herman favorite! Visit the main location on the farm, just out of town. It’s a nice winding road to the distillery, and you can sample whiskey, gin, vodka: the blackberry whiskey is THE BEST! Don’t miss it, you will be happy you visited.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 2RVing4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

It was such a beautiful setting, off the beaten path. It was nice a quiet there where we could just relax and enjoy our drinks and one another. The spirits were wonderful as well. Nice little tour you can take.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jhammerschmidt2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I 'plotted' out our trip and this was first on the list. Didn't disappoint.

If you like vodka, gin and/or whisky, you need to come here.

The girl working there was great. Told us the history and about the distillery. Super friendly and perfect for that job!

Ended up buying a bottle to take home with us.

2 'cons'
1. It was COLD in the tasting room. Very cold.
2. The 'manager' came in as the girl was telling us about the local scene. I'd say she was 'rude' for lack of better terms. In fact, she would keep us away. In front of us, she complained about having the lights on and the electricity bill. Guess what? I don't care about her electricity bill! And, the girl was extremely friendly and telling us other places to visit. The 'manager' told her (again in front of us) - Don't tell them about places other than our property. Seriously??? If she had any issues, they should be discussed in private, not in front of guests. We actually told the girl working that a manager like that would drive people away.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank tjernie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.