We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing change in style of inne!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schiller Guest Suites
Ranked #23 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Salem, Illinois
1 review
“Refreshing change in style of inne!”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Luke & I loved the Schiller Guest Suite. We loved the coziness of the room. How thoughtful to provide breakfast and coffee that was awesome! Thanks for the complimentary drinks at The Bank also! You are very nice, hospitable hosts! Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdieSalem_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We arrived in Hermann just before 8pm on Amtrak from Kansas City. It is just a short walk from the train station to the Bank Bar where we met Connie and Wayne. Connie graciously showed us to our room upstairs and gave us a few hints on things happening in Hermann over the weekend. And that was it. We were entirely on our own to enjoy the wonderful little town, the inn and each other.

The setting of the Schiller Guest Suites is perfect for all of that. The inn is everything everyone else has already said so I will just elaborate a little on one of the many little touches that we really liked.

We have stayed in many b&bs. To us they are really just beds without the breakfast because we are usually so exhausted from our work that we never make it up in time for the breakfast. Connie and Wayne just leave everything you need neatly tucked away in the ktichen. Its' a great concept and very well done. For this little detail alone, we would stay here again, but as others have elaborated on, it is so much more.

Our two days in Hermann went way to fast!

Here are a couple of hints for visiting Hermann. Take Amtrak if you can. It is really relaxing and is running lots better than it has in recent years. Both of our rides this time ran AHEAD of schedule. You really don't need a car in Hermann anyway.

Visit the locals. We met some real interesting characters. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kansascloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary in the Library Suite. The suite was awesome....great decor and character. Hermann is a great town to mingle as all the people were very helpful and friendly. I would definetly stay in the Library Suite again and if you do the Bank Bar is a must.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyOfficial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I stayed at the Schiller Guest Suites (Alsace) for 2 nights over the November 14th weekend. The suite was incredible, actually it was more like an apartment. The accomodations and amenities surpassed our expectations from looking at the web site. We were also fortunate enough to hang out with Wayne and Connie downstairs at the Bank Bar. They are great people, very friendly and hospitable, happily granting our request for early check-in. If you make to Hermann you must stop in the Bank Bar and have a drink. Ask Laine to make a Bubble Up shot, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mega_DetroitRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

You might say that we are modern nomads. During our 29 years of marriage, my wife and I have lived coast to coast- from South Carolina to San Francisco. We have vacationed in Venice and Paris, and have shopped Milan and New York in the same day. Isn't it curious that one of our favorite places turns up in Hermann, Missouri? Our night in the Alsace Suite of the Schiller Guest Suites was- in a word- wonderful. Proprietors, Wayne and Constance Laboube, have considered every detail in making memorable moments for their guests. Local artists adorn the walls of this charming turn-of-the-century bed and breakfast, nestled in idyllic Hermann. The Bank Bar downstairs provides fun, chatty conversation, smooth drinks, and excellent local musicians. Schiller Guest Suites earn our highest rating!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I recently reserved the Alsace and Library rooms and was extremely impressed, both are very spacious suites that open to a large, shared porch area. Breakfast is provided in the fridge (eggs, juice, large muffins, granola, fresh fruit and a great meat & cheese platter-more than enough food) and allows for a leisurely morning meal on your own schedule. Located in a recently restored building, in downtown Hermann, walking distance to everything. There are 7 wineries in the area, two of them are essentially “in-town” (Stone Hill and Hermannhof) and the others are a 5 to 15 mile drive. The owners also operate the "Bank Bar" on the street level of building with live music and great drinks. I should note that the music from the bar could barely be heard from our room and did not bother us at all. I travel quite a bit on business and can say that accommodations are rarely as advertised on the website-this one exceeded every expectation, and I would enthusiastically recommend it for anyone visiting Hermann.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vbambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We have been staying at the Schiller Guest Suites for a number of years. We travel to Hermann several times each year and since discovery of these gems we stay at the Schiller suites every time we visit. When we visit Hermann we can't think of anyplace we would rather stay. We love the location, right in the heart of the shopping/dining/arts district and a short walk from the Amtrak depot, Hermanhoff Winery, and the Tin Mill Brewery. Wayne and Connie LaBoube go out of their way to ensure our stay exceeds our high expectations. We have a favorite of the three suites available but all of the suites are nicely decorated, refreshingly simple, and very comfortable. Two of the suites share a large balcony with seating on each side. We have made several friends sharing that balcony with other visitors and enjoyed many a bottle of wine out there while snacking in the moonlight. This goes far beyond the typical bed and breakfast experience. They hand you the keys to your private entry door and you are on your own for your stay. You are free to do what you want, when you want to. They leave a wonderful assortment of breakfast and snack items, plenty of soft fluffy towels, and each of the kitchenettes is well appointed for cooking a nice meal in the suite or keeping your snack fare chilled in the fridge. Of course, if you don't want to cook you don't have to. You are a few minutes walk from several restaurants and a great coffee haus down by the train tracks. The point is to enjoy your stay on your schedule doing what you want to do. The suites offer this unrivaled and unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andilyn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites
#10 of 50 in Hermann
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#7 of 50 in Hermann
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#14 of 50 in Hermann
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angels on 3rd Street
Angels on 3rd Street
#44 of 50 in Hermann
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schiller Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schiller Guest Suites

Property: Schiller Guest Suites
Address: 115 Schiller St, Hermann, MO 65041-1149
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively historic building well located in downtown Hermann. 3 very spacious suites offering complete privacy and comfort. Tall ceilings, original wood floors, with views of the quaint downtown. Small kitchenettes pre-stocked with thoughtful breakfast amenities. Walk out balcony with bistro chairs with second floor suite. Upscale lounge/bar on main level of building offering fine cocktails. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing