We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schiller Guest Suites are Sweet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schiller Guest Suites
Ranked #23 of 50 Hermann B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We arrived in Hermann just before 8pm on Amtrak from Kansas City. It is just a short walk from the train station to the Bank Bar where we met Connie and Wayne. Connie graciously showed us to our room upstairs and gave us a few hints on things happening in Hermann over the weekend. And that was it. We were entirely on our own to enjoy the wonderful little town, the inn and each other.

The setting of the Schiller Guest Suites is perfect for all of that. The inn is everything everyone else has already said so I will just elaborate a little on one of the many little touches that we really liked.

We have stayed in many b&bs. To us they are really just beds without the breakfast because we are usually so exhausted from our work that we never make it up in time for the breakfast. Connie and Wayne just leave everything you need neatly tucked away in the ktichen. Its' a great concept and very well done. For this little detail alone, we would stay here again, but as others have elaborated on, it is so much more.

Our two days in Hermann went way to fast!

Here are a couple of hints for visiting Hermann. Take Amtrak if you can. It is really relaxing and is running lots better than it has in recent years. Both of our rides this time ran AHEAD of schedule. You really don't need a car in Hermann anyway.

Visit the locals. We met some real interesting characters. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kansascloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary in the Library Suite. The suite was awesome....great decor and character. Hermann is a great town to mingle as all the people were very helpful and friendly. I would definetly stay in the Library Suite again and if you do the Bank Bar is a must.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyOfficial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I stayed at the Schiller Guest Suites (Alsace) for 2 nights over the November 14th weekend. The suite was incredible, actually it was more like an apartment. The accomodations and amenities surpassed our expectations from looking at the web site. We were also fortunate enough to hang out with Wayne and Connie downstairs at the Bank Bar. They are great people, very friendly and hospitable, happily granting our request for early check-in. If you make to Hermann you must stop in the Bank Bar and have a drink. Ask Laine to make a Bubble Up shot, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mega_DetroitRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

You might say that we are modern nomads. During our 29 years of marriage, my wife and I have lived coast to coast- from South Carolina to San Francisco. We have vacationed in Venice and Paris, and have shopped Milan and New York in the same day. Isn't it curious that one of our favorite places turns up in Hermann, Missouri? Our night in the Alsace Suite of the Schiller Guest Suites was- in a word- wonderful. Proprietors, Wayne and Constance Laboube, have considered every detail in making memorable moments for their guests. Local artists adorn the walls of this charming turn-of-the-century bed and breakfast, nestled in idyllic Hermann. The Bank Bar downstairs provides fun, chatty conversation, smooth drinks, and excellent local musicians. Schiller Guest Suites earn our highest rating!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I recently reserved the Alsace and Library rooms and was extremely impressed, both are very spacious suites that open to a large, shared porch area. Breakfast is provided in the fridge (eggs, juice, large muffins, granola, fresh fruit and a great meat & cheese platter-more than enough food) and allows for a leisurely morning meal on your own schedule. Located in a recently restored building, in downtown Hermann, walking distance to everything. There are 7 wineries in the area, two of them are essentially “in-town” (Stone Hill and Hermannhof) and the others are a 5 to 15 mile drive. The owners also operate the "Bank Bar" on the street level of building with live music and great drinks. I should note that the music from the bar could barely be heard from our room and did not bother us at all. I travel quite a bit on business and can say that accommodations are rarely as advertised on the website-this one exceeded every expectation, and I would enthusiastically recommend it for anyone visiting Hermann.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vbambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We have been staying at the Schiller Guest Suites for a number of years. We travel to Hermann several times each year and since discovery of these gems we stay at the Schiller suites every time we visit. When we visit Hermann we can't think of anyplace we would rather stay. We love the location, right in the heart of the shopping/dining/arts district and a short walk from the Amtrak depot, Hermanhoff Winery, and the Tin Mill Brewery. Wayne and Connie LaBoube go out of their way to ensure our stay exceeds our high expectations. We have a favorite of the three suites available but all of the suites are nicely decorated, refreshingly simple, and very comfortable. Two of the suites share a large balcony with seating on each side. We have made several friends sharing that balcony with other visitors and enjoyed many a bottle of wine out there while snacking in the moonlight. This goes far beyond the typical bed and breakfast experience. They hand you the keys to your private entry door and you are on your own for your stay. You are free to do what you want, when you want to. They leave a wonderful assortment of breakfast and snack items, plenty of soft fluffy towels, and each of the kitchenettes is well appointed for cooking a nice meal in the suite or keeping your snack fare chilled in the fridge. Of course, if you don't want to cook you don't have to. You are a few minutes walk from several restaurants and a great coffee haus down by the train tracks. The point is to enjoy your stay on your schedule doing what you want to do. The suites offer this unrivaled and unique experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andilyn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I went to Hermann on Saturday and stayed 1 night at the Schiller guest suites.

Overall it was an excellent experience. The rooms were clean, and not overly cluttered with typical B&B fanfare. Vastly better than a Bed and Breakfast, this place is a Bed and Bar, even though more than enough food is provided in your room for breakfast snacking in private.

The location is right in downtown Hermann, walking distance to anywhere in downtown or the two main local wineries, including the railroad and river.

The service was excellent. When met the owners, they shared ther passion for historic preservation of their fantastic structure, in which no detail was overlooked or expense spared in their building restoration. They also have a knack for running a bar and making good mixed beverages, delivering an great ambiance and atmosphere (smoke free) that no other bar in Hermann can match, as far as I am aware.

My group checked out all three rooms, which are all wonderful. I loved the book collection in the Library, and the sink in the Alsace room was a topic of conversation. Mid priced for a place to stay in Hermann. It is well worth the price and the best value I have found for a guaranteed wonderful experience in Hermann, MO.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stone Haus B&B
Stone Haus B&B
#13 of 50 in Hermann
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#14 of 50 in Hermann
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobbler Room & Cottage B&B and Massage
0.1 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schiller Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schiller Guest Suites

Address: 115 Schiller St, Hermann, MO 65041-1149
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range: $140 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively historic building well located in downtown Hermann. 3 very spacious comfortable suites, The Library, Alsace, and Loft offer complete privacy and comfort for an independent stay. Light and airy with several windows and original wood floors and windows, the Schiller Guest Suites offer vintage elegance using antiques and an eclectic mix of our favorite things. Kitchens are pre-stocked with thoughtful breakfast amenities. Walk out balcony with bistro chairs with second floor suite. Upscale, smoke free lounge/bar on main level of building offers fine cocktails with patio open Friday/Saturday at 3 for convenient check in and closes at 11 p.m.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing