We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant

El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 29 Restaurants in Hermann
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We met some friends there for a late lunch who live in the area. Found the food to be very fresh, service was quick and efficient and the waiter was attentive. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the chips were just a touch over-cooked, almost a dark brown. However for the price of the lunch, and the good service, I would not hesitate to return for another meal there. There were four of us and we all had something different, with everyone very satisfied with the food they had chosen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

While visiting family in St. Louis, we decided to take an Amtrak train out to Hermann. Hermann is a beautiful, historic town and well worth visiting.

We stopped here for dinner before catching our train back. We were seated immediately, drinks were served quickly, and our food was brought out quickly. So ended the good service. Maybe our waiter went on his break. Who knows? He did not return to see how the food was or to refill the drinks. When we were done, we sought him out so we could pay our bill.

The food was okay. I have certainly tasted better but it was better than a frozen dinner from the grocery store. Unfortunately, later that night, my stomach started to bother me. After some time in the bathroom, the problem passed. I am convinced I got food poisoning from this restaurant. Unlike many visitors to Hermann, I did not do any drinking at the wineries and my problem came on too late to be attributed to lunch.

Would I return here again? No. Even without the food poisoning, I would not have returned because the food was not noteworthy. There are better options in town, so go to those instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinnacle-project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“no saving graces!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Could not believe the food was so bad in a tourist area. Guacamole was straight from a can or jar; pico de gallo was mushy; salsa was just fair but the chips were good. Buriritos had sauce heavily seasoned with oregano!!!! Never had that in a Mexican restaurant before. Service was also bad. Could not believe how high our lunch bill was, so i guess they added a nice gratuity to ours too! Will never go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“El Ranchito Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

They have really good variety of Mexican food.
I like stopping by on Sundays on my way
back to St Louis for their Mexican Brunch

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StLouisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I agree with the others about gratuity and not getting a paper bill. However we were aware of this thanks to previous posters on trip advisor. Food was very flavorful and menu was extensive. 27oz margarita special for five bucks.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing