We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and affordable (even with a unique experience)”
Review of Vinchester Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vinchester Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hermann
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Pleasant and affordable (even with a unique experience)”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm intrigued by the reviews that mention the hospitality of the innkeeper, because on my stay I never saw him. No one was at the desk when I arrived on a weekday evening, and no one was there the next morning to check me out. They had, however, left an envelope with my name on it with the key to a room. It appeared I was the only guest staying that night, and it was kind of odd to essentially have the whole place to myself.

That said, this was a perfectly acceptable place to stay, and it's far more affordable than most other options in Hermann. The inn's entrance is a bit odd. The main entrance appears to be from the parking area that faces a steep alley in the rear. To get in from the street in front, you have to go up a flight of stairs to reach the lobby.

My room was quite large and had a nice little balcony overlooking the neighborhood. Aside from the balcony, the room had the feel of what one might find in a motel rather than a bed and breakfast place. That was fine by me, but others may want to know "inn" is just a name. The furnishings are older, but well kept up in general. The place was not immaculate, but its cleanliness was perfectly acceptable.

It took me a long time to figure out how to access the wireless internet, which is protected by an extremely cryptic password. There is no guide to the hotel in the rooms, but eventually I figured out that the internet password was buried at the bottom of the TV channel list. Once I did find the password, the connection worked fine.

As I said, no one was there in the morning, so I wasn't sure if I was supposed to have any sort of breakfast or not. There appeared to be a refrigerator in the lobby with juice boxes in it. There was also a coffee maker that had been set on a timer, but all that was in it was hot water (not coffee). I didn't see anything to actually eat, so I had breakfast at an area restaurant instead.

I was surprised that, at least on weeknights, Hermann seems to roll up the sidewalks early. I arrived around 7pm, and almost nothing in town was open. I live in a small town, but this seemed unusual even to me--and particularly odd in a tourist-oriented place. I did enjoy a nice walk around the downtown area, and I was able to get some find a nice salad for dinner which I enjoyed on the balcony of my room. The following day I found that many of the town's attractions also open quite late (like 10 or 10:30 in some cases). Again that struck me as odd, but Hermann is still a lovely and enjoyable town.

My stay was certainly unusual, but it was perfectly pleasant. I knew this wouldn't be a quaint country inn. It was, however, a pleasant small hotel and an affordable place to stay. I'd return here again if I were in the area.

Room Tip: The balcony room cost extra, but seemed worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was lucky enough to visit the Vinchester over Memorial Day weekend. The owner Rick took the time to make us feel comfortable, make sure we knew where to go, and was one of the more friendly property managers I have ever come across. Great place, fantastic location, and even better hospitality! Would definetly recommend to anyone (family, couples,, friends) heading to Hermann for the winieries and will be staying here again when I come back. Top Notch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a nice find this was. Was able to reserve several rooms for our bachlorette weekend getaway. Rick the innkeeper was wonderful- easy to reserve, was willing to let us check in early to drop things off, and was understanding when we came much later instead (wineries first). Rooms were comfortable and clean. One had a cute balcony. Ample parking in back via the Hollyhock alley. A few blocks from Hermannhof, train station, restaurants, local bars, etc. Easy walk there and back. Last but definitely not least- very affordable. Decor was not overdone or "quaint" but it was a wonderful room for people like us who were spending most of our time out and about. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 9, 10, 11 near each other at the corner of the building. For our purposes we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becksKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Vinchester Inn is a very affordable way to visit Hermann. If you are wanting a clean basic room and do not plan on spending a lot of time in your room this Inn will fit your needs. It is very close to many attractions and only a couple blocks from the train station. Rick the Inn Keeper was great to deal with while booking the room and let us drop our stuff off before check in so we could head out to the wineries. On the down side there was only coffee in the morning and no sign of the Inn Keeper.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only room with a queen bed. The rest of the rooms have two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to Hermann to tour the rectory at the Catholic church, and the wine and cheese trail. The Vinchester is very close to most of the places we wanted to visit. The price is very good. Rick is great to deal with, and the room was clean and quiet. When in Hermann, eat at Lyndees for breakfast, and Simon's for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall, on the top floor, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This wAs our third year at the Vinchester. The owner is very accommodating and helpful to get you around the area. We had some difficulty with noisy neighbors this year, but other than that,it was another great stay. The location is excellent and you are within walking distance of all the fall activities. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was a very reasonably priced motel room (not really a bed & breakfast). The owner was very nice and very helpful in recommending restaurants & area attractions. It doesn't really serve breakfast, but the owner suggested a very good restaurant nearby that was very reasonable. The rooms are basic & clean, but you will probably have to climb steps. The location is great - walking distance to many shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermann
11.8 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
59 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn New Florence
Days Inn New Florence
#1 of 3 in New Florence
175 reviews
17.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn New Florence
0.0 mi away
Captain Wohlt Inn
Captain Wohlt Inn
#2 of 50 in Hermann
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermann Crown Suites
Hermann Crown Suites
#8 of 50 in Hermann
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinchester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinchester Inn

Property: Vinchester Inn
Address: 129 E 3rd St, Hermann, MO 65041-1125
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vinchester Inn is an 11 room hotel located in the heart of historic Hermann, Missouri. We offer superbly clean, basic accommodations with the most affordable rates in town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vinchester Hotel Hermann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing