We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Patty Ann's Hickory Pit BBQ
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Hayti
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chelsea, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found this restaurant after pulling off the interstate for lunch. It was a pleasant surprise. The special was 2 pieces of fried chicken (you could select which pieces you wanted) and 2 sides. The chicken was moist and not overly breaded. The sides were average. A loaf of homemade bread was served with the meal and it was delicious. Numerous homemade pies were on display and we tried the pecan. A good choice. The total cost for the two of us for food, beverage, dessert and taxes was $17.97. A good price for the meal. The servers were friendly and helpful. The only thing I would change is the plastic flower planters used on two half-wall separators. They appeared to be clean, but I always think of them as dust collectors. I would stop here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stopped in since we had been told they have great desserts and loaf of bread(s) were great! They need to do something about ventilation with all the smoking. Food was ok. Service could be better but I guess if you are not a local they visit with them more than take care of customers The value we paid for the amount of food we got is very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awonderfulday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place for lots of good food for the buck.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The fresh loaf of bread is delicious and the dinners come with more sides than I could eat. The food was very good, the diner atmosphere was cute and the service was excellent. Good value and good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigcharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I go there and get to go things because i work in town. My spouse and i went a few times and the last time the mac and chz was ice cold and it wasnt the best anything. The staff was not attentive enough and i had to go ask for drinks a few times

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sakajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
633 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 847 helpful votes
“Excellent Stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were on a road trip from Memphis to St. Louis and were seeking a BBQ lunch place. We pulled off the Interstate and were headed for another place that had a sign on the highway. It was closed so we saw a sign for Patty Ann's. We got there 20 minutes before they opened and almost left but fortunately stayed to be the first customers in the door.
The place is clean and cheerful and has a friendly, welcoming staff.
We wanted pulled pork BBQ sandwiches but they identified theirs as "chopped pork". Turned out to be the same thing.
A whole tempting menu of whole meals at terrific prices made us want to go back again.
We ordered a small and a large sandwich, both under $5.00 with all the trimmings. The meat was lean and had a great BBQ flavor and each sandwich was an ample meal. With BBQ sauce on the table they were great choices. We were both well satisfied with the quantity and quality.
We were amazed as they started bringing fresh pies out from the kitchen. Several different merengue pies appeared and we couldn't resist. We got one order of the chocolate and found it to be one of the best restaurant pies we have had.
Having just left two days of BBQ places in Memphis we concluded that Patty Ann's was the best and would go out of our way to find this little gem again.
This is an example of great American food on the road, such a contrast to fast food places, chain stores and formula food available in most highway stopovers.
Local friendly hospitality gave a lasting positive impression.
Definitely plan to stop there on any road trip between St. Louis and Memphis.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patty Ann's Hickory Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Patty Ann's Hickory Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing