We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Mystic
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I remember the day when Holiday Inn Express was at the top, but not anymore. Boy, did they ever slide. Upon arrival, you drive in and see a very nice looking building. But then, we were greeted by very unfriendly people. Everyone seemed to be in a bad mood that day, I guess.You definitely didn't feel welcome.No one gave you a smile at all.


This hotel stinks of mold and dirty feet,the Elevator stinking the most. Wow! It's bad!
We stayed in a double queen room. It had no ice box or microwave like most of the newer ones do.

The carpeting is soo filthy, it made our white socks totally Black. When I turned the tv on in the room, many of the channels would not even come in.

My daughter found hair in her bed and there was some on the bathroom floor as well. So the cleaning job wasn't done very well either.Also, behind the night stand, where I needed an outlet,it looked like it hadn't been clean in many many YEARS, if ever.. It was sooo gross, made me sick.

The sheets we found to be very scratchy, more like hospital bed linens.I didn't sleep well at all.

The best thing I can say about the place was that their hotel breakfast had more then most. You had scrambled eggs, as well as bacon, and all the other general items such a cereal, fruit, bagels, muffins, and etc.

I was very disappointed because it's not cheap to stay here. But it wasn't any better then the lower end hotels. I would not stay here ever again if I came back to Hannibal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenMMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear EileenMMystic,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I'm delighted to hear the breakfast served during your stay exceeded your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. I would like to discuss your experience in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    60
    44
    17
    6
See reviews for
66
55
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I checked into an accessible first floor room and it was evident from the first look that this is a hotel in need of updating. There's no work desk for your laptop, instead there's a tall, round cocktail table that wobbles whenever something's placed on it, like a drink or a laptop. And as it turned out, it's more of a cocktail table since I couldn't get online despite working at it for well into 30 minutes with no real signal. It reminded me of my early years as a kid, staring at the first TV test patterns back in the 1050s... static with no discernable life or movement of any kind. It was silly.

I don't want to short change the front desk folks; they were most helpful and did their jobs as best they could. You work with what you've got, right?

Meals... food. My advice to those visiting Hannibal? Bring your lunch. We cruised around for 40 minutes, using my Garmin to track down all the listed eateries and then going into the establishments and reviewing their menues. Yuk! And I'm usually pretty easy to please but to put it bluntly, everything in this town is either cooked in a deep fryer or pasted between two slices of white, doughy Wonder Bread. I call this a "bum fill" and I'm sorry... I'm too old to eat like a fourth grader and most of the dinner fare in this town will end up on my rear end or in front, hanging like Santa's goody bag from my thorax, and I don't really need additional accents in either region.

The several blocks down town which feature the museum and Sam Clemen's boyhood home are charming and we spent several hours concentrated here before we moved on to visit Honest Abe in Springfield. Frankly, the rest of Hannibal was rather forebidding and in a slow, ugly process of decay. Sam Clemens wouldn't recognize his early home anymore, I fear.

Long and short of it? Make this a day trip and move on to a larger city with hotels that feature competitive amenities... get out of Hannibal before sundown, pardner, or else!

Room Tip: Check out Mark Twain's musuem and home, then beat it out of town by sundown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Barry H,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, IL
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

When you check in, you will be greeted by very friendly staff. The hotel is nicely decorated and clean. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool that were very well kept. Our room was very nice - the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The internet worked just fine, and the flat panel tv's were a very nice touch. I heard no noise in the hallway - the whole time. The showers were nice and the hot water was plentiful!! The breakfast was very good as well - they had the most amazing warm cinnamon rolls!! While it is a little off the main drag, all of the Hannibal attractions are a very short drive away. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived later in the evening needing a good nights rest and made reservations at this hotel based on the recommendation of some friends in the area. We checked in with a very well organized desk clerk who found the reservation quickly and had us in our room in a few minutes. The room was clean and neat the bed very comfortable so a good nights sleep was not a problem. The breakfast room was busy and well supervised by a lady who was very helpful and the breakfast fare was much better than most hotels. We will definitely stay there again. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we felt like we had stayed with friends.

Room Tip: The King Sized Beds are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent two nights here while on a mini-vacation to see the Mark Twain Home and Museum and other related attractions. It was very attractive, clean and comfortable. Slept well in an excellent bed. We like plenty of space so the King suite was perfect. Loved the cookie and the free breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed overnight on a road trip. Hotel is nicely kept, room was clean and well furnished, mattress was excellent. Staff was very friendly, and the fresh cookies at the front desk at check-in were a very nice touch. Pool area was very clean - although the jets on the hot tub were not functioning, it was clean and the warm water soaked away the effects of a 700-mile day. Breakfast was the standard high-end hotel breakfast - good selection, and everything was fresh and hot/cold as needed.

I've had some really bad experience at small-town hotels, but this was definitely not among them. I routinely pay $130 a night on business travel at similar places - this much less for the same quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatFoodFlambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Excellent price clean rooms and wonderful atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingnome816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
2.9 mi away
Best Western On The River
Best Western On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
740 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Quincy
Hampton Inn Quincy
#3 of 11 in Quincy
288 reviews
17.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Hannibal
Super 8 Hannibal
#5 of 10 in Hannibal
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Address: 4000 Market St, Hannibal, MO 63401-5448
Location: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Comfort Inn & Suites located near Highway 61 in America's Hometown, Hannibal, Missouri. Conveniently located near General Mills, Buckhorn, Enduro, and all other factories located in industrial area. We feature 74 rooms, including 16 kitchenette suites, and 4 Jacuzzi suites. The Holiday Inn Express also offers a heated indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, laundry facility, business center, free wireless high-speed Internet in all rooms, meeting room, and free extended Continental breakfast. We also offer the in room amenities as follows, hair dryers, iron with a full size board, coffee pots in every room, and free HBO and Cinemax. There are many restaurants, and shopping areas located near the Holiday Inn Express. We are also only located about 3 miles from the historic downtown area. The downtown area includes the Mark Twain Home, Museum, and other Mark Twain attractions. Hannibal also has a spot the kids would enjoy called Sawyer s Creek, which is located right across the street from the Mark Twain Cave, and Cameron Cave. Our friendly staff is here 24 hours a day to welcome you to Mark Twain's Hometown, and to our hotel the the Comfort Inn & Suites Hannibal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hannibal
Holiday Inn Hannibal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing