We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Hannibal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western On The River
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My 12 year old son and I spent two nights here while we were in town to do Mark Twain tourism.
The hotel was very clean and within a convenient walking distance to most attractions. There is a good diner right across the street.

The pool and hot tub are in the center courtyard so if the hotel were full I imagine the noise level would be significant.

Breakfast included hot and cold items and was very good. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank chimera22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 838 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

The staff was very responsive to rany help I needed. I regret that I had to ask for help: the air conditioning did not work properly; the computer , of the two in the busines center ,that did work had no ink in the linked printer. I had to request a key in order to use the fitness center. The quality of the food at breakfast was very poor. the biscuits were so tough I could not eat them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Imelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our family stayed over spring break and really liked everything. The pool area was warm and clean, the rooms were "roomy" and the location was perfect for us to walk downtown and have dinner and shop the next morning. The breakfast was fresh and wonderful. We felt safe and relaxed to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I will always remember this hotel because of the great service we received from the staff. We arrived late and left early the next day, so we did not try the food or amenities; however the room was clean, well stocked and comfortable. I would say that the only downfall was the lack of parking available on the grounds. We had to park on a side street on a fairly steep hill. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 195tamiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

there is limited parking at this motel. I went out for dinner and when I came back, two trucks were parked near the entrance so it was difficult to get in the only space left. The rooms are nice, but the first room I was assigned had no windows. I went to the desk and got re-assigned to a room with a window. (there was a winter storm that night and needed to see the conditions the next morning) The breakfast was very good: real eggs, homemade egg, cheese and ham patties, sausages, biscuits & gravy , cereal etc. The best part of the stay was the bed and the wonderful comfy pillows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel has installed energy-saving lights, but they are the kind that makes everybody look like a zombie. It's also rather dark, so the ambience leaves a lot to be desired. The staff wasn't particularly friendly when I checked in and out. On the plus side, this is a convenient location, and the breakfast was better than average. I had a nice, clean, quiet room on the top floor farthest from the pool, which I suspect is a noise problem when the place is full of tourists in the summer. The heating fan in the wall was making odd noises when I first checked in; turning the speed down solved the problem.

Room Tip: Get a third floor room if you want to see the river. But it's not a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with friendly staff. My only complaints are that we stayed on the 3rd floor right next to the outside door which was not secured and kept banging open and waking us up. Also people stomping up the outside stairs. If you expect to get any sleep don't stay in room 301.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
314 reviews
4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Hannibal
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Quincy
Hampton Inn Quincy
#2 of 11 in Quincy
318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Hannibal
Super 8 Hannibal
#5 of 10 in Hannibal
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western On The River

Address: 401 N 3rd St, Hannibal, MO 63401-3301 (Formerly Best Western Plus On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western On The River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The River Hotel Hannibal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing