We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Locattion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN On The River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN On The River
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Good Locattion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good location to walk around town! The hotels pool is in the middle of the hotel - a little noise when the kids are in it but it does get quiet at 10pm! A hot breakfast was provided in the morning - more fruit would be nice! A good hotel for the area~

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Krista E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    238
    58
    16
    16
See reviews for
240
232
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SAINT LOUIS
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked very last minute, and were very happy with our room - it was really clean which is important to us as we suffer from a lot of allergies. Good breakfast (included) made a great start to the day. Location is great for Downtown, and parking is OK

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DEREK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went on a cousin's weekend trip here and upon arrival had a speedy check-in. We found it unusual that the pool was in the lobby area but given the close proximity to the river and the fact that it was built on a hill, we could understand why there was no outdoor pool. Our room 222 had a river view but unfortunately we could also see the roof on the 2nd floor. The room was well appointed with many amenities, comfortable, and very clean. The breakfast was adequate and the food was hot, but nothing special. This hotel provided easy access to downtown Hannibal attractions within walking distance. Overall, we had an enjoyable experience and we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a 3rd floor room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

When the water flows, it is noisy. Now I was the only one in my family who was bothered by this so maybe it's really a non-issue. When I think of this property, that will be the first thing I will think of.

Super slow housekeeping. Still no service at 4pm. However, the cleanliness of our room was very good. I'd rather they be slow and thorough than quick and careless.

Narrow passages. Lots of families with young children.

Parking lots are not always next to a main entrance and it can be a tight fit, if you arrive late. We parked in back and entered at the second level, not main level. Accessibility from room to car is not the best. Awkward layout.

Pool area had some very comfortable furnishings. Some chairs are inches from the pool. Get there early for a decent seating choice, if you are a kid watcher, non swimmer like me.

Lobby and breakfast were very good. Front desk staff are prompt and helpful.

I would stay here again, but with earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Hannibal to see the historic downtown, this is the hotel to stay in. You can walk to almost any place in downtown that you would want to go. We barely used our car once we got to the hotel.

Probably about 2/3 of the rooms in the hotel are centered around an atrium that has the pool in it. Had I realized this I would have requested one farther away. But if you have kids that like to spend time in the pool you would probably enjoy this. The atrium was echoey and we could hear noise from the pool in our room, but once the pool closed for the night it wasn't a big deal.

The rooms were clean and still had a freshly remodeled feel to them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is not on the river and only offers limited rooms with a view. Request the third floor if a you want a river view. The windows on the back side face the hallways. There are no windows facing outside. Be prepared to hear lots of train whistles. Parking can be difficult. Good choices at breakfast and a step above then other Best Westerns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

It has a nice indoor pool in the center of the hotel. We did not mind the chlorine odor. Beds were very comfortable. We were traveling with our 9 year old grand-daughter & she loved the pool. Breakfast was delicious & the egg recipes are excellent.Nice to have a hot breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would stay not on the main floor as it would be very close to the pool noise. Upstairs was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Hannibal
Super 8 Hannibal
#5 of 10 in Hannibal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn - Hannibal
Days Inn - Hannibal
#6 of 10 in Hannibal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The River

Property: BEST WESTERN On The River
Address: 401 N 3rd St, Hannibal, MO 63401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN On The River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The River Hotel Hannibal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing