We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep inside history”
Review of Rockcliffe Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hannibal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockcliffe Mansion
Ranked #1 of 8 Hannibal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This house was neglected and left to rot while the owners watched from the house next door. Thankfully, it was saved in the 1950s and turned into a museum.

The current owner, Juan, has returned it to a beautiful comfortable home.

It's a stunning building with mostly original furnishings, artwork and magnificent Tiffany glass throughout.

It has a commanding position high above the town of Hannibal and you can see the riverboats on the Mississippi.

I was given the original owner's - Mr Cruikshank - room, he was the lumber baron who built the house. It's a lovely, large room with views and a massive bathroom. The fixtures are original and Sam Clemens (Mark Twain) probably used the toilet!

The bed, pillows, shower and towels were excellent.

There's no TV, microwave, fridge, iPod dock, luggage rack or coffee in the room. So switch off, take the house tour, then sit and appreciate the gorgeous building you're lucky enough to be staying in.

There is WIFI, parking and a most excellent breakfast included.

This is the only place to stay in Hannibal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. I loved your pictures. Thanks for sharing them with our customers!!!!.Juan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 342 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one midweek night. The mansion is a beautiful Gilded Age home which is open for public tours during the day. There are many original furnishings. plus other antiques of the era which the innkeeper, Juan, has purchased. The woodworking, furniture and accessory pieces truly make this a show home. As long time B & B travelers, we can say that this is one of the most splendid homes we've ever stayed in. We didn't do the formal tour open to the public, but could roam through the many rooms at will, and this was quite an experience in itself. The house sits up on top of a steep hill, with lovely views of downtown Hannibal and the Mississippi River. Juan is from Cuba, and very interesting to talk with. He asked us if we wanted some wine and cheese before going for dinner; and when he served us, it was a not just a couple of glasses, but a full bottle of wine and a large cheese plate. We sat out on the front porch with him, and really enjoyed the conversation.

We were the only guests this night, and stayed on the top floor where there are two bedrooms (smaller than the rooms on the lower floors). The bathroom for these rooms was not en suite, but is only a few paces from either room, and since both rooms are never rented out at the same time, you will be the only ones using the bathroom. We chose the Sage Room because it has a larger bed (queen). To preserve the historical integrity of the house, I believe the other rooms have the double bed sizes consistent with what was there in the early 20th century. Note that there are no TV's in the rooms, as the house is maintained as it was early on. Breakfast in the exquisite dining room was very good, and once again we enjoyed talking with Juan. Staying here was an experience to cherish, and the price of the room was much lower than one would expect for this huge, historic home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank for your review. I appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband is interested in architecture and I in birds. So, we jumped at the opportunity to spend the weekend at Hannibal's architectural masterpiece: Rockcliffe Mansion. We stayed in Mr. Cruikshank's grand bedroom with a fine view of the Mississippi. My husband surprised me with a dozen roses and a box of chocolate waiting for me in the room. In the late afternoon we sipped wine and nibbled on tasty cheese on the breezy Victorian porch. Hummingbirds came to visit us at the porch feeders! In the evening we took the dinner cruise down the Mississippi and were treated to fantastic views of river bird life. The next morning our host, Juan, prepared a manficient breakfast and helped us plan our tour of all the Wildlife Refuges above and below Hannibal. We were delighted to return to Rockcliffe Mansion for a second evening just in time to hear the Night Hawks chirping around the widow's watch. We will definitely be back because there are so many more things to do and architecture to see in Hannibal. We had a terrific time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate all your comments about our Mansion. Thanks. Juan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had never stayed in a museum/B&B before and wanted to try it. Good decision. The 1900 mansion is huge and crammed with original furniture, stained glass, Tiffany lamps, grand pianos, etc - the best money could buy a century ago. We stayed in the Magnolia room with a view of the Mississippi. Mostly original stuff but genial owner/host Juan keeps adding period piece touches, including immense Persian rugs, artwork and stray pieces of turn-of-the-century furniture. Take time to take Mary's tour. She is knowledgable and pleasant. Be careful how you approach the mansion. We came up a dicey, curved driveway off Bird Street. There's a better side street entrance where tour buses park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bear075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that your enjoyed your stay in our Bed and Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Second stay this year just as wonderful as first. Breakfast is off the chart. As I said before:

Been to nearly all the antebellum mansions in the Old South, but this is different and magnificent. Bigger is only the starting point (and it is huge). More of everything is the rule: rooms, floorspace, ceiling heights, and ESPECIALLY original furnishings, decor and personal effects. Condition of everything is amazing, considering that it was effectively abandoned for 43 years. Juan and Warren (if he is about) are wonderful hosts and Mary's tour is not to be missed. Staying anywhere else in the area is no longer a consideration for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank decatur_dug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and your second visit. See you next year!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very luxurious mansion with great history. Not your average B&B - far above. Many beautiful rooms, stained glass, awesome furniture and lamps, wonderful host Juan who cooks a delightful breakfast. Very accommodating and gracious. Juan has sought out the history of the mansion and has many great tales. My fiance and I love this mansion and will continue to stay here several times a year. We enjoy the 3rd floor because you have it all to yourself. Beautiful views of the river. Makes one feel as though they walked right into the life of a family in the early 1900's. Well worth the money. Our hope is to see it restored to it's original greatness. DON'T MISS IT!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. I enjoyed your visit. Thank you for coming back to Mansion. Juan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have been on several tours over the years of the mansion. To stay there was a dream come true. Was wonderful staying there. Look forward to seeing the future restorations that Juan will be doing. Thank you Juan for the tour and opportunity to stay at Rockcliffe. The mansion and views are beautiful. It amazes me that so much of the furniture is original. Look forward to visiting it again.

Room Tip: Preferred the rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle972013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I enjoyed your staying here. I look forward to having you and your friend again at Rockcliffe. Thanks. Juan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hannibal hotels
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
0.5 mi away
Best Western On The River
Best Western On The River
#1 of 11 in Hannibal
851 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Hannibal
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Garth Woodside Mansion Estate
0.3 mi away
Garden House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Main Street Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockcliffe Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcliffe Mansion

Address: 1000 Bird St, Hannibal, MO 63401-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hannibal
Price Range: $129 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockcliffe Mansion is an amazing Thirteen Thousand Five Hundred SF, Thirty room, Grand Residence built to overlook the Mighty Mississippi between 1898 and 1900 by Lumber Baron John J Cruikshank, Jr. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Most of the original antique furnishings and fixtures are preserved. The Mansion is filled with rich Mahogany, Oak and Walnut appointments, magnificent Palladian windows and the finest interior decorations from Europe and America. Guided Tours are available daily. In addition to Guided Tours, the Mansion offers 4 Bed & Breakfast accommodations. Please visit our Website for Tour hours and further information. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing