We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, included in the package”

Ranked #7 of 26 things to do in Hannibal
Attraction details
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cute, included in the package”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I enjoyed the history of photos showing famous visitors and the Tom and Becky ambassadors who are selected each year. i wanted to learn even more about the real Becky...they feature her early years and later years, but I left hungry for more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0yLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    37
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fort Frances, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

All part of the other "Tom Sawyer" town attractions. If you take in all the old part of this area it is well worth visiting Becky Thatchers house. The whole area takes you back in time and the good memories of the "Mark Twain" books we all read!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynjolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topeka, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Empty sad rooms”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The house is void of all furniture and décor. No telling what each room originally was. I understand the attraction is being "updated" to include hands on computer interaction for children. I guess that's fine but I wanted to see the history IN the house. I was very disappointed and it's too bad this is included in the price of the ticket for Mark Twain's boyhood home.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“To new.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I appreciate restorations of historic places but the feel of this place has that of it was all recreated and nothing is left to feel of when Mark Twain was there. Becky's house was the same way. They just finished restoring that. I enjoyed the general store and law office more. The general store is in need or repairs but it has the feel of being there in that time. When you restore it beyond what it was when it was new than you are taking away from it. I had more of a feel of Mark Twain's youth walking the street than I did going in his house.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Located across the street from Mark Twain's boyhood home, a visit to the Becky Thatcher home will complete the Mark Twain experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RicardoSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Becky Thatcher's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing