We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich History”
Review of Rockcliffe Mansion

Rockcliffe Mansion
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rockcliffe Mansion is an amazing Thirteen Thousand Five Hundred SF, Thirty room, Grand Residence built to overlook the Mighty Mississippi between 1898 and 1900 by Lumber Baron John J Cruikshank, Jr. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Most of the original antique furnishings and fixtures are preserved. The Mansion is filled with rich Mahogany, Oak and Walnut appointments, magnificent Palladian windows and the finest interior decorations from Europe and America. Guided Tours are available daily. In addition to Guided Tours, the Mansion offers 4 Bed & Breakfast accommodations. Please visit our Website for Tour hours and further information.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rich History”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our tour guide was very informative seeing as she had lived in the mansion as a caretaker. There were sections under renovation that we would have liked to see. The architecture was very interesting and beautiful. We were surprised at how many original belongings of John Cruikshank there were preserved in the mansion. Juan. the most recent owner, was very friendly and seemed passionate about the restoration of the Victorian mansion. He was knowledgable and eager to answer any of our questions. It is currently being used as a bed and breakfast. We definitely recommend taking the tour if you are ever visiting Hannibal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    54
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Big”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a massive mansion tha fell into disrepair, purchased by the city and is still under renovation. The May storms of 2013 did not help the house or grounds or the city of Hannibal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwh916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockcliffeMansion, Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review.The Mansion is not owned by the City. It has private owners. Purchased in 2010, we are doing our best to restore the Mansion. We also appreciate the participation of our guests in this process. By touring the house or staying in our Bed and Breakfast, they are also contributing to its restoration. We are very proud and excited to be part of this restoration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful rooms, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Wasn't as cool as I would have liked but there might be a credible reason for that

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan_Jose_Ruiz-Bello, General Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Robert, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An impromptu visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My daughter & I made last minute decision to visit Hannibal, our primary reason was to visit Twain's hometown. Knowing little about the Mansion except for casual online reading, I was impressed by Juan's accommodating response (via phone) to my request for accommodations. I took a 3rd floor room. What a pleasant, unexpected surprise: greeted by wine & cheese while we sat on breezy side porch; inside, surrounded by authentic period furniture at every turn; delicious breakfast next morning; such gracious and knowledgeable hosts in both Juan and his partner, Warren. We were there for Mark Twain, but the stay at the Mansion was the high point. We'll return and be better prepared to appreciate all the wonders this mansion holds and the restoration work which has made, and continues to make, it such a very special place. Once gone, we kept thinking of all the questions we should have asked but were too stunned by this our first visit. My daughter is 50; I'm 72. So "sort of visit" doesn't fit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan_Jose_Ruiz-Bello, General Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The house is amazing!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Each room has a story and the size of the mansion and the stories behind it will fascinate. The new owner seems to really enjoy the house as much as past owners must of. He is still remodeling and will rent it out. I am happy that someone is taking the time to preserve the history when you find out how long it sat empty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDB b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan_Jose_Ruiz-Bello, General Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rockcliffe Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing