We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as expected”

Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Mark Twain Boyhood Home & Museum and learn how a small boy from Hannibal became America's most beloved author! Experience interactive exhibits, live performances, original Norman Rockwell paintings, treasured Clemens family artifacts, Twain memorabilia and historic properties! The Mark Twain Boyhood Home is a National Historic Landmark. Don't sneak away from Hannibal until you've visited!
Decatur, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“About as expected”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Cleaned up and fixed up since last trip quite a few years ago. Now that the Becky Thatcher House is reopened, hopefully there will be money to start on the Drug Store. Overall, worthwhile.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank decatur_dug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for visiting! We're so happy to have the Becky Thatcher House open and once we finish her up, we'll start work on Grant's Drug Store! Historic preservation is never complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    240
    84
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Great Piece of Missouri History”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Your ticket will get you into the Mark Twain museum as well as all the homes and buildings associated with Mark Twain. The best part of my visit was talking with the older gentleman at the ticket counter. There wasn't anyone else in the museum and he took a lot of time to tell us about Mark Twain's life as well as the museum exhibits - very helpful and informative.. I recommend reading The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn before visiting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank charleyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for visiting! You must have met Bob, he is one of our star employees! I will pass along your compliments to him — come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well preserved and explained”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent an enjoyable morning at the visitor center, the boyhood home, and up the street at the Museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank momwnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for visiting! Glad you enjoyed our interpretation of Twain's childhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,365 reviews
679 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 805 helpful votes
“Glad we planned this visit”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Vern and I are both Mark Twain fans, and made a point of getting to Hannibal to see where his imagination began. It was an amazing trip into history with a glimpse into this amazing man. From the white picket fence, to Becky Thatcher's house, to Huck Finn's house and into his own childhood home you could feel him there, smiling at the wanderers seeking to touch a place in his past. Money talks and what is not available is due to a lack of funding, not from a lack of desire. I loved standing in the wheel house, and walking the streets of Hannibal. We were very glad we made the trip

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Ruth and Vern,

So glad you enjoyed your visit! You're right — we would love to snap our fingers and be finished with the restoration of all of our buildings — next time you come, the Becky Thatcher House will be open!

Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The new museum is a great addition!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

While knowing a bit about Mark Twain and Tom Sawyer can enhance your experience, they are definitely not necessary. There are quite a few hands on exhibits which kids will love. The history is interesting. Yes, you cannot walk through all if the houses but you can definitely get a feel for what Samuel Clements life was like. They are continuing to work on restoration of the buildings. The new museum is a great addition.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shakespeare4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our museum! We love the museum gallery, it is such a fun building for kids of all ages. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing