We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well preserved and explained”

Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Mark Twain Boyhood Home & Museum and learn how a small boy from Hannibal became America's most beloved author! Experience interactive exhibits, live performances, original Norman Rockwell paintings, treasured Clemens family artifacts, Twain memorabilia and historic properties! The Mark Twain Boyhood Home is a National Historic Landmark. Don't sneak away from Hannibal until you've visited!
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent an enjoyable morning at the visitor center, the boyhood home, and up the street at the Museum.

Thank momwnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for visiting! Glad you enjoyed our interpretation of Twain's childhood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 632 of 730 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Vern and I are both Mark Twain fans, and made a point of getting to Hannibal to see where his imagination began. It was an amazing trip into history with a glimpse into this amazing man. From the white picket fence, to Becky Thatcher's house, to Huck Finn's house and into his own childhood home you could feel him there, smiling at the wanderers seeking to touch a place in his past. Money talks and what is not available is due to a lack of funding, not from a lack of desire. I loved standing in the wheel house, and walking the streets of Hannibal. We were very glad we made the trip

Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Ruth and Vern,

So glad you enjoyed your visit! You're right — we would love to snap our fingers and be finished with the restoration of all of our buildings — next time you come, the Becky Thatcher House will be open!

Thanks for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

While knowing a bit about Mark Twain and Tom Sawyer can enhance your experience, they are definitely not necessary. There are quite a few hands on exhibits which kids will love. The history is interesting. Yes, you cannot walk through all if the houses but you can definitely get a feel for what Samuel Clements life was like. They are continuing to work on restoration of the buildings. The new museum is a great addition.

Thank shakespeare4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our museum! We love the museum gallery, it is such a fun building for kids of all ages. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I know Hannibal wouldn't be the first choice to visit if you're not into Mark Twain or the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. My boyfriend is a huge fan of Mark Twain and his writings, so we went to see his boyhood home and the museums. The first museum we went into was the Museum Gallery; it was set up neat and could've been really fun; but it just missed the mark. It did have a lot of hands on things, which was cool, but half of them didn't work. You'd press the button and nothing would happen; or a part of it was broken. For 11 dollars you get to see "8 buildings"; including Becky Thatcher's House, and Huckleberry Finn's house. You don't get to walk into any of the buildings except the Huckleberry Finn house, the interpretive center and the museum gallery. The Becky Thatcher house was closed when we visited, couldn't even peek inside. The others you just peek in through the windows. Unless you love Mark Twain and the stories; I would pass.

Thank saiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of our little museum. We know so many people have been looking forward to the opening of the Becky Thatcher House! It reopens after years of historical preservation on Saturday, June 29. Hope you can join us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The exhibit and film at the interpretive center were excellent. Huck Finns house was a surprise. The museum itself was a little week but the center made up for it.

Thank buddydial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna M, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Glad you enjoyed the Interpretive Center! Thanks for visiting and come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mark Twain Boyhood Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing