We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a few heat and breakfast issues”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hannibal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reagan's Queen Anne
Ranked #4 of 9 Hannibal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Had a few heat and breakfast issues”
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We had a few problems here on our 38th anniversary. The paint on the exterior was peeling and the host said she has been trying for several years to get it painted and hoped in the spring it would be done. At breakfast, after reading review of "fantastic", we were disapointed at having only a small quiche, a small fruit cup, and one sausage. There was a muffin. We had hoped for a large breakfast of french toast and marmalade as in the reviews. Norm , the host, said the lack of coffee and tea was a fiasco, and tried to get a small amount of water for my tea.
The major problem was the lack of heat. After paying $160 for one evening, my wife had to sit in the hall where the temp. was warmer than the bedroom at about 65F. It was not good to be separated on an anniversary. I had to assist my wife to get up into the 19th century bathtub. There was no heat all night except at 3 AM when a blast of heat made us too hot for an hour, then it got too cold until breakfast at 8:30.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Reagan's Queen Anne, responded to this review, January 6, 2006
Being innkeepers now into our 7th year, we realize that we cannot please all of the people all of the time, though we certainly strive to provide excellent hospitality. Heat: It is troublesome when a guest chooses not to inform the host regarding an issue, which in turn does not allow the opportunity to provide a remedy. Had we known that any of our guests were uncomfortable, we would have happily attended to that immediately. Breakfast: We take pride in the fact that we work hard to provide each guest with an extraordinary breakfast. We adjusted our breakfast to specifically accommodate this couple, who when asked upon check-in stated that they were both diabetic. We were simply accommodating their needs by eliminating our very sweet non-diabetic French Toast. How unfortunate for readers here, that reviewers are allowed to be less than truthful as well. Each and every time a savory breakfast is served at our table, our generous portions (based upon six plus years of guest research) have always been and will always be on the "full to the brim" side of the scale, for 99.9% of our guests. No matter whether sweet or savory, we always include 2-3 pieces of meat per person, unless the guest requests to have it left off the plate. Oddly enough, this couple received 4(four) sausages and as memory serves, 2 of them remained uneaten on the plate. Our (3 egg, one third cup cheese per portion) individual quiches receive rave reviews as well. Likewise, we do not limit our guests' consumption of hot or cold liquids, and gladly provide breakfast beverages until everyone is completely satisfied. Here's that problem with issues once again..."If you don't know there's a problem, you can't fix it." Staying at a Bed and Breakfast?? Don't be shy...Speak UP! We're innkeepers; not mind readers. As if we didn't realize that nothing could please this reviewer, we come to the issue of exterior paint. Ouch! The salt in that wound hurts. As alluded to by the reviewer, we've been searching 4 years to get someone to climb three stories to paint our house. And yes, God willing and the creek don't rise, spring '06 our girl will finally get her "New Coat". Note:: When choosing one of our guest rooms, it is recommended that one takes notice of details such as the bathroom description. Guest rooms are selected by the guest, not the innkeeper/host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    11
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
158
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 31, 2005

Amazing B&B and host. They really care for you. The food was great and the home was warm and comfortable for some rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2005

Our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast was at the Reagan's Queen Anne for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It was every thing we had hoped for. Beautiful, relaxing, close to the historic sites, and a wonderful breakfast. We were able to learn about the history of the beautiful home and it's first home owners. We found the history interesting. Our stay convinced us to try Bed & Breakfast accommodations again!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 31, 2005

Our second stay (five nights) at Reagan's Queen Anne in Hannibal, Missouri, was just as pleasant as the first. The B&B is the former Pettibone mansion. Pettibone was a lumber magnate and his woodwork detailing and fine craftsmanship are evident throughout the three-story Victorian home. Judy and Norm Reagan are gracious hosts, serving delightful and varied breakfasts. An example of breakfast was fresh fruit, a slice of beefy quiche served with bacon rosettes, and a banana chocolate chips muffin. The rooms, each with private baths, are nicely decorated and comfortably furnished. Judy and Norm's fine collections of antiques are displayed and in use throughout the house.

Staying at this B&B allowed us to explore more of Mark Twain's legacy. The fine Mark Twain Museum, the Boyhood home, and the Mark Twain visitor center – just a few blocks away – are filled with great stories, artifacts, and summaries of Twain's life. The Museum also contains a rich collection of the Norman Rockwell illustrations used in recent publishings of Twain's books. The town is on the Mississippi River, allowing observations of riverboat and barge traffic.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2005

Reagan's Queen Ann is a beautiful Victorian B&B with all the amenities. Whether you want a romantic get-away for two or a posh place to stay for a quiet weekend get-away, Reagan's Queen Ann is the place to stay!

The rooms were immaculate and fabulously decorated. The ambiance is wonderful. There is also a hot tub if you need to relax and let your hair down for the evening!

There were freshly baked cookies in the Gentlemen's Parlor with cold beverages of the like. The breakfast was delicious. The Reagan's even asked if I had any dietary needs.

The Reagan's made me feel right "at home and like family." I would go back again in a New York minute!

  • Stayed September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wer0ck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2005

My husband and I went to Reagan's for a weekend getaway/belated honeymoon. What a gem it turned out to be!! I was afraid how my husband would take to the B & B experience. He truly loved it. To get him to go on a weekend trip is next to impossible. However, he is already talking about our return visit. Norm and Judy are so gracious and friendly, the food is simply wonderful and the house is beautiful. If you want a relaxing weekend in Hannibal, I would recommend Reagan's as your destination. We will definitely return. We even hope to take our parents along next time.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scenic View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2005

This was a great experience for us. Norm and Judy were gracious hosts. We were made to feel welcome the minute we walked through the door. Their breakfast was outstanding. They were very knowledgeable of attractions in Hannibal. The room where we stayed was very nice and welcoming. We had never stayed at a B&B before and we were'nt sure what to expect, but we were immediately put at ease and if the others are like this, we wouldn't hesitate to go to another one in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank s63034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hannibal hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN On The River
BEST WESTERN On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
674 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Garth Woodside Mansion Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reagan's Queen Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reagan's Queen Anne

Property: Reagan's Queen Anne
Address: 313 N 5th St, Hannibal, MO 63401-3515
Location: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find Comfortable Elegance and Gracious Hospitality In Hannibal's Most Historic Downtown Bed and Breakfast Come..."Write Your Own Story" in Mark Twain's Boyhood Hometown ~ Hannibal Missouri. A celebrated stop along the banks of the Mississippi River, this quaint village draws it's fame from the writings of humorist and author, Mark Twain. Visit the Samuel Clemens boyhood home and museums. Meet Mark Twain HIMSELF. Then...relax and rejuvenate in our spacious guest chambers with private baths, 2 parlors, expansive veranda, & delight in our extraordinary breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing