We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sweetest Thing bakery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Sweetest Thing bakery
Restaurant details
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious Donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The only problem we found at this bakery was not enough of all their products was available. The only thing they had left was donuts and we would have liked to tried more items. The donuts were just great and freshly made. Hope I can grab some cream horns next time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ann251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“COLORZ loves the Sweetest Thing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

These doughnuts are soooo wonderful! Totally worth the trip and money! :) Apple fritter is my fav along with the twist.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aj261077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great donuts! a lil pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We tried a few donuts all very good. The glazed cinnamon twists were amazing! I also liked their custard filled and long johns. There was a constant stream of customers for a weekend morning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trukin_Lady_n_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This place is a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We started our family vacation in Hannibal. I have a daughter with Celiac's disease, which means she can't ingest gluten. I knew that she likes gluten-free pastries and cakes, so I researched bakeries and found this one. I contacted the owner and told her my problem. She'd never baked gluten-free, but told me she'd find a recipe and have something for us. She was true to her word and even checked back with me a day or so before our trip. We settled on chocolate cupcakes and she said she'd cook a half batch (6 cupcakes). I didn't ask price, but expected to pay $3 or more per cupcake, just because of the extra effort. Imagine my surprise, then, when they were only $1 each!?! I mean, she made $6 for those cupcakes, which certainly didn't cover her time in researching a recipe, making a half batch, etc.! Wow! My other daughter and I had the regular donuts, and they were wonderful too. This is the kind of caring small business that deserves our patronage.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pro47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great donuts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

The bakery is small but very friendly. As you walk in the front door there is a small area for coffee and donuts. As you pass through a doorway and into the main area there is a small sitting area and more special made donuts at the counter. These two young ladies have been friends and wanted to open a bakery. They had several customers while there and I am thinking about placing a large order with them for our company.
Prices are very reasonable with all other grocery stores in the area. If you get a chance you should stop by and get something for the road.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweetest Thing bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing