We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brick Oven

The Brick Oven
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Wood fired brick oven pizza and Italian cuisine. Nice wine list with special hand picked Italian imports. Cozy and intimate atmosphere sometimes turns to a true Italian style family reunion. Reservations are needed for large parties of 8 or more, especially on weekends. WE ARE OPEN MONMDAY TO SAT 11 AM TO 9 PM Trip Advisor has our hours of operation wrong and we have been unable to get them changed.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the best we had in the town , wonderful food , great service, and really beautiful place inside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank joneslucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    95
    31
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza we've had since Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I respect other people's right to differing opinions, but it's hard to imagine anyone giving a poor rating to the Brick Oven! We, too, have traveled extensively and have spent a great deal of time in Italy. The pizza we had last night at the Brick Oven ranks alongside the best pizza we've ever had in Grava, Tuscany a few years ago. The sausage was fabulous! They were very busy so it took awhile to get our pizzas, but it was worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and we are so happy to hear that we are doing a good job. I am returning to Italy in September and hope to return with fresh ideas and special wines. I hope you will return and allow us to serve you again. Your business is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri
1 review
“Perfect evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I don't know where to begin with the compliments. Prompt service, smiles from all staff. Cajun chicken breast was the best restaurant chicken I have ever had. Portobello ap was a perfect starter. Blvd wheat ale perfectly chilled. Dessert cannelloni yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letsgoraftin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for spending your evening with us. We have been very busy this summer and we strive to make every experience eventful. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich Hill, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok food... Run away if you have kids!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Our family chose this restaurant for lunch during our July trip to Hannibal. There were 14 in our party, so we checked with the staff before arrival to make sure they could accommodate us, since the restaurant is very small. We told them that we had two infants in strollers, and they assured us that this would be fine. When everyone went in, the head server physically stopped us from pushing our stroller in to the main dining area and told us that unfortunately they were not going to allow us to bring the strollers in! What? There were a total of two other tables of customers at the time! Their empty restaurant was obviously too ritzy for strollers. After waking the infants up and dealing with them being unhappy at the rude awakening, we ate. The head server that was so rude to us never spoke to or helped us the rest of the meal. Our waitress was very nice and apologized for his obvious lack of people skills. The food was good, but this family will not be eating there again. An ounce of decency goes a long way with me. Unfortunately, none could be found there.

Helpful?
1 Thank thadglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phantomStl, Owner at The Brick Oven, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Sorry for the inconvenience, but our ding room is very small and we fill it everyday for lunch and dinner. Strollers are not allowed in the dining room. This is due to fire codes and occupancy limits. The isles are very small and it is not safe to obstruct them. There are lots of places to park oversized strollers in the lobby area. Imagine if a server was trying to navigate a hot bowl of soup or pasta around a stroller in the small isle and had a spill. I wish I had a bigger place to accommodate strollers, but I don't. Unfortunately the strollers referred to are up to 5ft long. We love to serve families, but a little common sense goes a long way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staff here was very casual & friendly. They were out of the wine I selected, so offered me a glass of wine that's normally sold by the bottle only. It was very good. Also was able to substitute chicken for shrimp on my pizza. I wouldn't say the pizza was over the top fantastic, but it was certainly good & satisfying.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing