We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lesson in History for all ages” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry S. Truman Farm Home

Harry S. Truman Farm Home
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Grandview
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harry S. Truman worked his grandmother's farm from 1906-1917.
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
440 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great lesson in History for all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

WE were fortunate to visit this old farm home in Grandview, MO on this trip. The last time we wre there a heavy rain had messed up the road and we were unable to visit. It is one of the great stories of a man from meager beginnins ending up in the highest level of our National History.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JiamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
springboro, oh
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a different time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Mr. Truman's home is not ostentatious in any way. You get a true sense of Harry as a family man, good neighbor, President and then exPresident. The furnishings are simple and reminiscent of the 50s lifestyle. The kitchen still has the calendar hanging on the wall from the last days of Bess Truman's life. It was a house that was truly lived in. Harry really was a man of the people. You will leave feeling like you had taken a step back in time and met the man that made so many important decisions during a very turbulent time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank buckimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
199 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Entertaining History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

A good chance to learn about Truman the man, as opposed to Truman the president. Our park ranger guide was very informative and truly had an interest in the Truman family.

Helpful?
1 Thank AndyKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely old home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I liked that the house was left as it was when Bess lived there. The ranger was very informative, clearly loved her job. A lovely glimpse back in time.

Helpful?
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Trip Back In Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The home has not been changed. It was like stepping back in time! It was nice to see a President who truly lived among the people. His home is a testament to his humbleness.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Farm Home also viewed

Been to Harry S. Truman Farm Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing