We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kreis Restaurant

Kreis Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Frontenac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Anzeiger
Description: Kreis' has been a St. Louis favorite for over 60 years. Famous for our world renowned Prime Rib.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak!!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The best service and the best steak I've ever had! Sat at the bar for awhile and patrons were very friendly.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank banalban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    41
    18
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“old world charm, excellent service and steaks”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is not a chain, it is a old establishment, simple, semi casual with subdued class. The service is always perfect, as are their steaks and prime rib.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WLINDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Level Contributor
302 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fantastic steaks, fantastic service”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have been eating here for as long as I can remember and we have NEVER been disappointed in either the food or the service. Steaks are huge and prime rib what they are famous for and yes they even have a 64 oz prime rib!! Their salad with the Mayfair dressing is wonderful. Nice selection of sides. Service is always wonderful. You are warmly greeted at the door and seated promptly if you have a reservation. The nice thing about this establishment is that nice dress is expected and greatly appreciated. Reservations are recommended especially on a Friday or Saturday night. The hot apple strudel with ice cream is a must.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susiejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Prime rib and steaks with excellent service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Kreis' is famous for its prime rib, that comes in sizes large enough to more than cover a dinner plate. Both that and the steaks are excellent, as is the attentive service. Not widely advertised, the restaurant serves the cognicenti of Ladue and Frontenac. Almost always busy for dinner. Relatively pricey.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great steaks and service”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Second time we've eaten at Kreis' and we were not disappointed. Great food and service. Although its expensive, we knew that going in. Twice baked potatoe is excellent and the apple strudel dessert is awesome. Suggest you make reservations, even though you don't have to.

Helpful?
Thank GillilanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kreis Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kreis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing