We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Musty Smell not wanted”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Festus
Kansas City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Musty Smell not wanted”
Reviewed July 4, 2008

I recently stayed at the HIE and was disappointed. They are currently doing construction on the outside, but need to work on the inside. The lobby has been remodeled and is nice, but when you walk down the hallway and enter your room prepare for the smell. My room smelled musty and dank. You are not aware of it after you have been in the room for awhile, but every time you enter you hit the smell wall. The hotel needs to do something to get rid of that before working on the outside. The hotel is located near several restaurants and the hotel staff were friendly. As mentioned in previous reviews, the bathrooms are extremely small. Good location right of the highway.

  • Liked — Location from the highway
  • Disliked — The Mustly Smell
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank osubarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    29
    17
    15
See reviews for
68
34
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We were disappointed from the start when the web site said that all rooms had refrigerators and microwaves and there were none. They also had only double beds rather than queen. The window frame in our room was completely rotted out to the point that it looked like it could fall in at any moment. The bathroom was small and when you stood in the shower you were about 2 inches from the ceiling. I mentioned a couple of the concerns to the "assistent manager" at checkout and he said "oh, okay" and that was it. That was likley the most frustrating part of the whole stay. It appeared that this property used to be a Holiday Inn and had been changed to an Express. We typically choose HEI because they are newer properties. This was an overall disappointing stay.

  • Liked — location... just off the freeway
  • Disliked — small beds
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Festus hotels

Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

This is what appears to be an old holidome type hotel. We are on the second floor, and while although the lobby has been beautifully remodeled and is very inviting, the room itself is not up to the usual quality we have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. The air conditioner has some sort of "IQ genie " or something that regulates the temp. The fan cycles to different levels and different volumes. We keep having to turn the tv volume up and down to hear it over the AC. Obviously our room neighbors are having to do the same thing because we can hear their TV and their voices when our AC cycles off. There is an air hockey table, a pool table and a foosball table in the lobby near the center seating / fountain area. We can hear the puck on the air hockey table down below. We found the doors to the hallways we came through to get to the elevator to get to our room on the second floor were small and hard to navigate with luggage. There is an indoor pool that looked well kept, but we did not use it.

The couch in our room is comfortable, which is far more than I can say for the bed. This a very soft bed, with a slight roll to the middle. Our room did have a small refrigerator and microwave (always nice). Our room did not have an outside window, rather an inside view of the lobby below.

The tub is small. Electrical outlets are scarce, and one side of the bed has no electrical access at all, the other side has one outlet and is used by the clock and the lamp from the other side of the bed. (If you sleep with a CPAP, this is aggravating.)

I don't have a review of the breakfast, because I am writing this while I am at the hotel, and it won't matter how good the breakfast is, we won't stay here again.

We love the HI Express chain, but this one was just not up to snuff.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank KcoleHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

This hotel had a nice loby. But as I said 10 years ago it was a nice hotel but things have changed since then.

It does not have a gym. The rooms are nice but there were pop corn ceilings and old heaters. It made a lot of noice when you ran them.

The breakfast area was nice. They tried to redo some of the hotel but you can still tell it is an old building.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Mo.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2005

We stayed here after a long night of driving and while the lobby area is nice, our room did have some problems. Granted that when we pulled in we were getting in late. We tried to take a shower, and the water was scalding hot. It took us five minutes to get the water to turn off. The a/c also was loud and ran all night. The next morning the hot breakfast was fabulous and after explaning our problems from the night before they changed our rate. Very nice food and staff.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank mutigerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Festus
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Festus
Comfort Inn Festus
#2 of 4 in Festus
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Festus
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Festus - South St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Arnold
114 reviews
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Louis Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
757 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1200 West Gannon Drive, Festus, MO 63028-2603 (Formerly Lexington Inn Shalimar Plaza & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Festus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Festus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Festus
Festus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing