We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was not what we exspected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fenton
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fenton
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We arrived at the hotel to find that our room was not ready. Then when we finally got in it the carpets were wet,very wet. We told manager who basically just brought up a loud fan. We couldnt even hear the tv the fan was so loud. He said we could switch rooms but it was a smaller room and we had already prepaid for the suite. I feel like he should have offered a discount on our room for the first night we stayed (prepaid for 4 nights) considering we had to walk and the kids played on the wet floor the first night. Of course they didnt do anything about it. We will never stay at this hotel again or any other holiday inn for that matter. We have always stayed at a drury inn but chose this one for the suite. From now on its gonna be a drury inn. We were so disappointed and was stuck there for 4 nights.

Room Tip: Stay at a Drury Inn
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrmGolconda_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigAlStl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your response. We appreciate candid information about our rooms.

I recall the incident with your room and know that we were steaming carpets on that first day. With early check in's, sometimes a carpet is still damp at check in. We did offer a move to another room with double queens but I recall that there were no other single king suites like the one reserved. All the other suites were booked. In the future, we will work to enforce our hospitality promise and pay for the part of your stay that was not to your expectations.

Thank you. Allen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Fenton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Location, location, location. This is the location if you are planning to take in all of the St Louis area attraction from Six Flags to the Arch this gem is in the middle. Amenities in walking distance, easy access to interstate east and west. Breakfast served daily is good and well rounded. Rooms clean, staff friendly. The area is safe and secure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stay here on business and some pleasure but mostley business. I enjoy staying here as it is in a great location to get on I-44 or 270 N/S depending on which way I need to go for business. Overall the staff is very friendly and nice. There is no hot tub but there is an indoor pool. Breakfast is a bit limited but the rolls are great. Maids could spend a bit more time cleaning the dirt and lent out of the corners on the bathroom floor but overall the room is clean. Nice place to stay for the price.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms on the back side of the hotel on the west end if you can. The trash dumpste...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was disappointing vs others we have stayed at. We made an advance reservation booking 1 room with 2 queen beds for the 4 people in our group, specifically requesting a "Quiet" room location. The hotel was not near capacity at check in but our room was located directly adjacent to the ice maker & 3 vending machines. Requested a different room, and change was made--without "a smile". As a Priority Club member, we always received a small "welcome bag" upon check in..this property did not offer one--not a big deal in and of itself. Each and every night of our stay, we had to go back to the front desk and ask for a 4th set of towels since we had 4 people in our room--per our advance reservation--evidently it is a policy of Holiday Inn corporate (per the front desk clerk) that 2 queen rooms are stocked with only 3 sets of towels---housekeeping evidently can't be instructed to leave 4!! This was very inconvenient to have to do every day!! The advertised "indoor" pool is the smallest one we have ever seen---capacity of 10 swimmers!!! The room itself was quite nice other than the above described problems. Not a terrible hotel, but not up to par with the other Holiday Inn Express properties that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lf5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you for your candid comments about our hotel. We are always working to improve our servicing our guests wherever possible. We want our guests to feel at home. I apologize that although in the busy attraction season, we were unable to get you the most quiet guest room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I've stayed here quite a few times on business, primarily due to it's proximity to our office. Every stay has been enjoyable as the food, cleanliness and professionalism is always top-notch.

The only downside is an event which occurred on my most recent trip.

All of the rooms on the 1st floor had been shampooed earlier in the day (thumbs-up for cleaning!!!) but my room's carpet was SOAKED. Nothing better than trying to relax in your jammies while wearing dress shoes!

As the carpet dried, all of the moisture was trapped by the linens on the bed. At about 3 a.m. I awoke to feel like I was covered in dew and had been sleeping in a tent. The sheets were literally bound to me like a wet towel.

I guess if over-cleaning is my only complaint, I have nothing to complain about.

I'm going to sign-up for their Prefered Members status so I can get one of those free beers at check-in next time :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I'm not sure how this hotel has so many 5 star ratings. The carpet in my room seemed fairly dated, and the ironing board had more wrinkles on the surface than my grandma (which made it pretty difficult to iron a dress shirt). Could not check voicemail messages on the landline, even though the light was blinking constantly. Could not set a sleep timer on the TV. Desk was way too low for a 6' tall male (could not fit knees underneath with the chair at a proper height). Would I stay again? Yes. Is it one of the best Holiday Inns? No.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigAlStl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor. We appreciate our guests candid thoughts on our product and work to maintain the quality you expect from a business class hotel.
I do agree that many features in our guest rooms may not fit everyone's needs. The hotel was designed to try and accommodate the overall public and an average size of people. We will be happy to address these issues and see if we can come up with some solutions for the future. Thank you again.

ALlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

After our 1st day of travel, we found this little gem off the main drag on the outskirts of St. Louis, MO. The male check-in mgr. was pleasant, friendly and very knowledgable and was comforting to listen to and answered all our question. We were not disappointed. The room was clean,very comfortable beds with a soft AND medium pillow for each person! Morning breakfest was such a treat ! ! ! Plenty of warm foods, spacious room to sit in and very tasty cin.rolls and cheesy eggs were some of the numerous items for us to dig into. A definite stay if I get back thru there.

Room Tip: More then pleased at this Holiday Inn Express. Located on the outskirts of St. Louis, it sits amid...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenton
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fenton
1.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites St. Louis Fenton
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Pear Tree Inn St. Louis Fenton
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fenton
1.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fenton

Address: 1848 Bowles Ave, Fenton, MO 63026-1925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Fenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fenton
Price Range: $108 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Fenton 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Fenton, the Holiday Inn Express® St. Louis West - Fenton hotel offers excellent services and amenities, including free high-speed, wireless Internet access. Our hotel's location in the St. Louis, MO metro area makes travel to famous St. Louis attractions simple.When searching for Fenton, Missouri hotels with meeting space, remember that our facilities include a 400-square-feet meeting room, as well as a modern Business Center with print and copy services. Numerous businesses from the Fenton Business Park are a stones throw from the hotel. Our location is great for access to St. Clare Health Center, Maryville University and St. Louis University.Nearby Grant's Farms offers visitors a chance to view some of the world's most beautiful animals, and if you're looking for hotels near the St. Louis, MO area, you'll be pleased to know that we are close to several of St. Louis' most famous attractions, including the Gateway Arch, City Museum and Science Center, pleasing both adults and kids. Visitors can also explore the impressive Saint Louis Zoo or create memories with an exciting day at Six Flags St. Louis.Guests who stay in Fenton, Missouri appreciate our hotel's indoor pool and Fitness Center, which make it easy to keep up with workout routines or relax. We also serve a complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar each day, so you can start your morning right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fenton Hotel Fenton
Holiday Inn Fenton
Fenton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing