We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOO $$$$$ EXPENSIVE for just a sleep and go "Express?" in down season!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fenton
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Fenton
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“TOO $$$$$ EXPENSIVE for just a sleep and go "Express?" in down season!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I were returning from an extended stay on the West Coast. We were coming in to Fenton, near St. Louis on our way to Wisconsin, having lived in the St. Louis area I knew that motels may not be easy to find N. of the City so I recommended stopping West of the City and finding a place near Fenton. Being after 6pm on a weeknight in late October we expected REASONABLE-COMPETITIVE rates to just sleep and depart early the following morning. Six Flags, across from the Holiday Inn, was CLOSED for the season- so again I was expecting a basic room pricing for 2 at <$100 a night.

No such luck.

I parked in a deserted lot after driving around the complex and walked into a deserted lobby.
It was a ghost town.
I expected a rate of <$100 to sleep and leave.
I was quoted a price of well over $100 after a AAA or AARP discount.

We decided to leave and stopped a short distance away on the frontage road at another chain motel for <$60.

What wisdom is having empty rooms? You should consider NOT STAYING HERE for a "EXPRESS" (?sleep and leave). The money saved for 8 hours will pay for a meal, gas, or ?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyLifeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightlite, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Thank you for your review.

We know you are looking for a great hotel with great amenities and we are one for the St. Louis market. When our guests come to town we want to make sure that they experience the best amenities for the area. Our hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast with eggs, sausage or bacon, pancakes, our signature cinnamon rolls, over 180 HD channels on LCD TVs, the best online download speeds in the area, a completely non-smoking hotel, fitness passes to our local fitness facility, and the best service scores for Holiday Inn Express in St. Louis.

We appreciate the ability to offer our clients the amenities that they deserve when traveling away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    59
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
53
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a real gem!! We were here for a week while my husband had specialized surgery, and I found everyone to be wonderful and so very kind. It is a perfect stop for anyone!! Don't hesitate to come to this nice place to stay!! The front desk staff is very special.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djknox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed in Fenton on April 18th, 2011 on a road trip across country.
After a long day on the road we were welcomed by a friendly front desk Person.
This hotel was again worth every penny we paid. The room was spacious and clean, and service was excellent. The people at the main desk couldn't be more professional.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macuser61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

After a long day of traveling, stopped in Fenton, Mo for the night. Have had positive experiences with HI Express in the past, and the Fenton, Mo location added to that list. Brenda at the front desk was super, an asset to the property. AAA rate room (2 queens) was large, clean, and beds were comfy. In the morning, coffee, pastries/bagels, cereals, eggs, sausage await. We grabbed a couple of bagels/coffees and hit the road with spot on directions to the Gateway Arch, courtesy of Brenda. Solid choice in Fenton, Mo.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Our third stay at this hotel was again worth every penny we paid. The room was spacious and clean, and service was excellent. The people at the main desk couldn't be more professional or helpful. Everyone there takes pride in their jobs.
The breakfast bar offered an extensive array of choices, and some of the items were changed each day. The attendant there went out of her way to help us when we had to make an early flight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRF131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Holiday Inn Express is one of my favored hotel brands when doing "quick visits" as service is typically consistent and I don't need to be "in the middle of it all" in terms of location and extra amenities.

I've been to the Fenton, MO location before as it is close to family, and I stayed here in late September 2010. In most respects, it's a typical HI Express in terms of what you'll have access to. The workers here, though, have always been exceptionally friendly, and this trip was no exception. While the breakfast has always been good, this trip was exceptional...I don't know if they changed the biscuit recipe or what, but they rivaled anything I"ve had anywhere.

One minor issue...is seemed as if the carpet in my room had just been cleaned...the cleaner smell was still in the room and the floor had that not-quite-dry feeling to it. The smell was not overwhelming...and there was no sign that the cleaning was the result of an issue as opposed to regular maintenance...so it wasn't that big a deal.

Location was good for me since it was very close to family, but it's not really super close to any attractions. That said, it's location right off I-44 a little over a mile from I-270 means that it's a relatively quick trip to just about anywhere in the St. Louis metro area...at least on the MO side.

All in all, a typically good experience...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qryche68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This Hotel was in a great location for us for our St Louis trip. It was inbetween all the downtown attractions we wanted to see, the St Charles Casinos, and Six Flags. Everywhere we went was about a 15 minute drive, which definitley worth the 15 minute drive to everywhere we wanted to see to save on the room and be in a safe location. We would absolutley pick this hotel again for out next trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajs2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenton
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fenton
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis Southwest
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pear Tree Inn St. Louis Fenton
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites St. Louis Fenton
1.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fenton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fenton
Address: 1848 Bowles Ave, Fenton, MO 63026-1925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Fenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Fenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Fenton 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Fenton, the Holiday Inn Express® St. Louis West - Fenton hotel offers excellent services and amenities, including free high-speed, wireless Internet access. Our hotel's location in the St. Louis, MO metro area makes travel to famous St. Louis attractions simple.When searching for Fenton, Missouri hotels with meeting space, remember that our facilities include a 400-square-feet meeting room, as well as a modern Business Center with print and copy services. Numerous businesses from the Fenton Business Park are a stones throw from the hotel. Our location is great for access to St. Clare Health Center, Maryville University and St. Louis University.Nearby Grant's Farms offers visitors a chance to view some of the world's most beautiful animals, and if you're looking for hotels near the St. Louis, MO area, you'll be pleased to know that we are close to several of St. Louis' most famous attractions, including the Gateway Arch, City Museum and Science Center, pleasing both adults and kids. Visitors can also explore the impressive Saint Louis Zoo or create memories with an exciting day at Six Flags St. Louis.Guests who stay in Fenton, Missouri appreciate our hotel's indoor pool and Fitness Center, which make it easy to keep up with workout routines or relax. We also serve a complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar each day, so you can start your morning right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fenton Hotel Fenton
Holiday Inn Fenton
Fenton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing