We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

For a quiet relaxing get away that leaves you well rested. It is like stepping back in time when a guest is treated with care and concideration.I highly recomend it.
The pools were very beautiful with mineral springs water very relaxing. I found the spring water very good for the skin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

A beautiful old hotel with stunning Spa facilities that are worth enjoying. Terrific golf course near by. Pamper yourself in the Grotto/Spa and feel rejuvenated!
The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was extremely friendly. The coffee shop was wonderful.
The fireplace in the lobby was an enjoyable place to read and relax.
The grounds are beautiful and easy to walk around for enjoyment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsrhoades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Elms may be on the pricey side, but you are getting an experience. Stay for the old historic charm, the amenities like the pillow top beds, Aveda in-room products, the fifth floor happy hour lounge, the ultra relaxing Grotto, and for the fun of it all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Elms offers an elegant experience in a historic property that evokes midwest charm and offers a slower pace. The staff is friendly, quick and accommodating. The Craftsman architecture is stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraLMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Elms Hotel is definitely worth staying at. It is beautiful and the staff is friendly and very helpful. The girls at the front desk looked up and printed out directions for us! Amazing!! I think our room was a little haunted, we kept hearing footsteps and whispering, so if your afraid of ghosts you might want to stay away. I absolutely love the Elms Hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited for his birthday. This hotel has class that you will not experience in any other hotel. It carries its own personalized history. The staff were wonderful. The spa was also very nice. Plus the ghost tour was an unexpected twist to our visit. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I grew up going to this hotel and have fond memories. On a recent visit to Kansas City to see family, I decided to leave my daughter with the parents to get away with the hubby for a night to ourselves. The groupon package we got combined with a fairly recent renovation sealed the deal. The staff was very friendly. The waitress at 88 knew the history of the hotel and answered some questions for us in addition to providing good service. I had a headache and when my husband called the front desk to ask if they had any Advil the desk associate gave him some from her personal stash which was a life saver. The barista at the cafe made some great drinks and explained all of the goodies in the case which were excellent (we tried several.) The food at 88 was expensive but it was delicious and gourmet so the food matched the prices. The cocktails were also unique and tasty and actually pretty reasonable compared to the dishes. All of the food we had at both the cafe and restaurant were great.

The room was very nice and up to date with a comfortable bed, built ins and a nice shower head but it was pretty small. It was fine for us but if you have a longer stay or if we'd have tried to fit a pack and play it would have been pretty cramped so a suite upgrade would be needed.

On to the spa: we got a half hour couples massage and it was a real treat. They packed a lot into half an hour: back and shoulders, arms and hands, foot pillow, hot towels, scalp and face, and head towel wrap. One of the best we've had and we wish we'd sprung for the full hour. The grotto was nice if a bit crowded for a Monday afternoon. My one complaint about the spa was that there are no snacks like dried fruit, nuts or whole fruits. There is just hot tea and water in the quiet room and water in the grotto. I wanted to stay longer and relax more but I got too hungry. Most other spas have some kind of snack. The lounges and blankets in the quiet room were very cozy. The steamer in the steam room is quite loud so we preferred the steam shower. The mint infused cold towels on ice were a nice touch. The "exfoliation bar" is a bit misleading. I was picturing a counter with various jars of sugar scrubs you could choose from. Instead there is a bowl of little solo condiment cups filled with one type of salt scrub. The scrub smelled good and had rose petals in it but wasn't exactly what I thought it would be. Not a huge deal but if they had a nice display of some specialty sugar scrubs it would take it up a notch. The locker room is nice with showers, changing rooms, lockers, vanity and Aveda products.

The lap pool is in the basement and requires going around the gym and a few flights of stairs which is a bit odd. We had it all to ourselves though which was nice. Something else to note, it is super quiet during the week which some might like and some might not. The downtown area is cute, we ate lunch at the mercantile (they have a cellar restaurant) which was really good and they have a huge selection of Missouri wines. The owners are very nice and do tastings so definitely worth a stop. All in all we had a nice stay and enjoyed our little getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
21.8 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
3,183 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 111 in Kansas City
786 reviews
21.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Location: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range: $129 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic destination for than more 125 years, The Elms Hotel & Spa is renowned for its beautifully appointed Excelsior Springs accommodations, lavish amenities, lovely grounds and standard-setting service. Throughout its storied history, The Elms has been frequented by celebrities, politicians, and notorious persons alike, earning international fame and establishing itself as an integral part of Excelsior Springs history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing