We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Missouri, Usa
1 review
“5 STAR for sure”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was so amazing.
We are aleady planning another trip for next year and we are taking 3 other couples with us. So relaxing! This hotel is very clean, staff are so professional and very friendly. The spa was so beyond any words can say.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    215
    71
    23
    12
See reviews for
184
472
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent! Loved 88, fabuous chef! Amazing food! Loved the spa experience and the Grotto! They were having trouble with the steam shower and steam room while we were there, but it was still a great experience! Fun ghost tour, too! Fun and friendly staff at 88 and the upstairs Tavern. Loved walking around outside, beautiful grounds. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have visited once and will definitely return again. Beautiful property and nice friendly staff. Food in the restaurant very good. Bar staff knowledgeable and friendly. Would recommend for romantic time away from the hustle of larger cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a beautiful historic hotel, the room was very comfortable except for the temperature (a little chilly). There are plenty of places to sit and relax. Next time we will plan to enjoy the spa experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Loved this beautiful hotel. The indoor and outdoor pools were especially amazing. Our experience was similar to staying at a European resort...for much less money. The hotel is so spacious, and very fun to explore. The grounds are stunning and extensive. There is even a night ghost tour!

Room Tip: There is a ton of closet space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsborg, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We found the historic Elms to be both beautiful and charming! We were looking for an overnight get away and used a Groupon to stay here. The room was beautiful and spacious. Food and staff were so friendly you felt right at home! We look forward to a return visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gayngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Elm Hotel &spa Oct. 26th and attended the Halloween party It was fun and great band and drinks, the buffet was disappointing. We love the spa and all the staff throughout the hotel were wonderful. We went on the ghost tour it was interesting and we had a great guide. The coffee shop was delicious, especially the Carmel macciouto.This is a beautifully restored hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melby709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 108 in Kansas City
735 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 108 in Kansas City
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Kearney-Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Location: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing