We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, and the spa, WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, and the spa, WOW!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This historic hotel did a recent renovation and it is beautiful. They did a marvelous job. The spa is outstanding and the lap pool, well, is an actual oval lap not just back and forth; pretty cool. This is a great hotel for a getaway, the grounds are meticulous, the outside pool is heated along with the inside pool and the restaurant was very good as well. The only real negative which is more of just what it is, the rooms are small. They are however, very well done and the bed was great. The hotel was originally built in 1888, so it is what it is. Although I did not stay in it, I did go inside room 214, Al Capone's suite where he actually stayed. It too is a nice 2 room suite, complete with Al Capone's poker table, but it is on the small side for a suite.

One fun thing to do here is the ghost tour. They typically only do it on Thursday, Friday and Saturday; its free and lots of fun. Starts at 11 pm and 1 am depending on the day.

The only other observation is that there isn't a ton of stuff to do in the town itself, many companies have retreats here due to the nice quiet settings. So if you are here for a retreat, or just want to get away and be pampered in the spa, relax and read a book in a serene environment, this is the place for you. You are only about 35 minutes from Kansas City so it isnt that far if you want nightlife, casinos, etc.

I gave this hotel 4 stars which it deserves, and not 5 just due to the room sizes for cost of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    205
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
174
456
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is my 2nd trip to the Elms -- with only about 11 years between stays. I loved my first trip there and my 2nd was just as wonderful. The hotel has done a LOT of renovations so the spa is so much nicer than it was before [and it was pretty nice way back when as well].

Four of us went up for a girls get away. We got massages, facials, manicures and pedicures. We all LOVED LOVED LOVED the massages and facials along with the quiet room and the grotto. All of us said that we would save our money next time by skipping the manis or pedis - as we have all gotten better pedi's / mani's from our local shops for much less.

If you go for an over night stay - spread your services between the 2 days so that you have free access to the grotto. If you don't have a spa service on one day and want to go to the grotto - it is a $50 per person fee.

The lockerrooms are WONDERFULLY stocked. They have nice large dressing rooms and wonderful showers. They also provide some basics -- razors, combs, deoderant, etc.

If you are into "haunted" locations - according to the tour we took - room 425 is the most active but most of the floors have a lot of activity [suppossedly] as well.

I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a good get away - girls weekend, honeymooon, wedding, romantic weekend, etc. Just know that they no longer have mineral water pools/hot tubs due to many of the springs have dried up and the ones that are left are contaminated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Contray to another Omaha couples opinion, my husband and I's stay was amazing! We also purchased a groupon and fully intend to make the trip again. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome on our honeymoon getaway. Our waitress in the bar even took the time to get me hot chocolate from the closed café even though it technically wasn't offered, and then comped the drink for the wait! Eric, the GM, took time to introduce himself to us, remembered seeing us going into the spa the previous day, and even filled us in on some of the Elms history. For a historic hotel, the rooms were spacious and completely updated. The grotto experience was fantastic, especially the salt and rose petal scrub and peppermint soaked towels. I thought my husband would be miserable doing a "spa day" with me, but he enjoyed himself just as much as I did! We will definitely recommend The Elms to friends and family as well as return ourselves! Thank you for an amazing getaway!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoch82313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Once again I stayed at the Elms for a better part of a week and once again I was blown away by their customer service. Logan at the front desk always goes above and beyond personalizing his service to each guest, a rare and fine way to go about treating a road weary guest. Kristina was outstanding as was a guest services woman named Shelly I believe. Hard to remember certain names because everyone was so intent on providing excellent service. I am on the road 90% of the time for business and I have yet to find a more welcoming staff and a better hotel to stay at than the Elms; f4rom the rooms to the gym and the pool it's a wonderful extremely well kept place to relax and de-stress after a long day of work!
Thanks again to the staff and the managment for a great stay!

Room Tip: All I have ever stayed in were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank js4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

we purchased a groupon, drove three hours for a getaway from Omaha. I had a bad feeling immediately upon seeing the hotel. it looks straight out of a horror film, not kidding. my hisband and I tried to stay positive as we walked into the lobby..very dark and gloomy. The gentleman checking us in was super rude to my husband. We go up to our room only to find that it is literally the size of a closet and felt extremely confining. Damp, humid feel and small bathroom left us both wanting to leave ASAP! They showed us another room but it wasn't any different.Luckily groupon refunded us due to the terrible experience. We left within ten minutes of being there and went elsewhere! you couldnt pay me to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sg1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The Elms offers comfort in beautifully restored historic hotel. Our room was a comfortable suite, with a wet bar, mini fridge, living room and dining table, TV, all separate from the spacious bedroom, also with TV, super comfortable bed and soft linens, and bathroom with separate jacuzzi tub, marble subway tile shower and marble basket weave tile floor. Those historic touches are throughout the hotel.

We stayed on the fourth floor and found it quiet at night, but even though it was midweek (with the objective to avoid any scheduled weddings), there was a very large conference at the same time. This made for a noisy and crowded lobby at times and I overheard some guests complaining about noise that kept them awake. So ask for a quiet floor when you book.

Spend some time walking the grounds and enjoying the outdoor pool and grotto. There's a nice fitness center and lap pool too. The spa services are a bit pricey but any of the services gives you a free pass to the grotto, which is amazing. (We were taken on a tour of the spa and grotto promises late evening while no guests were there).

We appreciated that all staff we met were not only friendly and accommodating, but were knowledgable and well trained. The restaurant was okay, but I think they're trying too hard and would do better with a more menu featuring well prepared local and season foods without all the rich sauces.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

For women stayed in a queen suite for a college reunion fun weekend. I was concerned it would be too tight but it was perfect. The sitting room was roomy enough for all of us. It also was handy when one person wanted to get up earlier than everyone else.

We planned to use the great spa there and were able to take showers down there so so sharing the bathroom was not a big issue. The spa is great and the hotel is within walking distance to some small "old timey" shops.

The hotel appears to be used a lot for weddings and special events.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
19.9 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Location: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing