We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Council Bluffs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend get away”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Full of old world charm and lots of history. We had a problem with the on site resturant. They only have about 6 things on the menu and were out of 4 of them by 7:30. They did give us free breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: Rooms are small and ask if your room has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    215
    71
    23
    12
See reviews for
184
472
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the history is even better. We had a fabulous meal in the hotel's restaurant. The staff was friendly and accomodating. They even had a violinist at the restaurant and she was fantastic! The town is really run down, but this hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If your using the spa -book your appointment beforehand-The Spa was booked for the weekend when we arrived & wanted to make appointments. The Grooto was relaxing and unique. There is a winery in town as well

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kameronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a hidden gem. Current management is doing all the right things to keep guests coming back. The spa was outstanding. Spotless, quiet, and superb staff. If you boom a massage ask for Jennifer. She is the best! Pool was nice. There is also an indoor lap pool and hot tub in the basement that is nice. Grounds are beautiful. Short walk to some great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We were at the Elms for a wedding, but aside from wedding events, we spent all of our time lounging by the very clean pool with cocktails. The setting was lovely, staff were welcoming, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Or friends who used the spa were not totally thrilled with their spa experience, but for a relaxing couple's getaway, I could not have asked for a better experience. If we lived closer, we'd be back for sure.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shawnee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night last week and were very favorably impressed. The suite was beautiful and the hot tub and pool were great. Wished we could have stayed longer.
We did eat breakfast in the dining room. Food was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJP55857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a beautiful historic hotel. The history alone makes The Elms a worth while destination. The recent renovations really brought back the old pizzazz. Everyone at the Elms made us feel welcome. Our room was absolutely fantastic. I look forward to bringing my wife back for a couples weekend at the spa very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 108 in Kansas City
735 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 108 in Kansas City
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Kearney-Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Location: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing