We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great little getaway!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The whole experience was great!! Very relaxing and peaceful. I can't say a whole lot about the value because we purchased a groupon deal that was awesome! There are only a couple of things to gripe about. First off the bed, I am sure it is a very high quality mattress but unless you like a very firm bed it was a little uncomfortable to me. Very hard! Second and last was the restraunt. It is very fancy and expensive. I loved being able to have a fancy small expensive meal but 2 full days of that does not work in my budget. I wish they would have had some other normal foods that are normal priced to eat. Instead of eating there the whole time we left the hotel to eat. Other than those 2 things this was a great place to just get away from it all!! Very relaxing and peaceful! I also highly reccommend if you don't do anything else go to the Grotto! It is an experience of it's own!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caudlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    212
    70
    24
    12
See reviews for
182
466
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

When you turn the corner to arrive at the place, you draw your breath. It is a real old school Missouri beauty. It would be a great place for a wedding or major life event.

I didn't have a chance to go to the spa, but my friend did and said it was a magical experience. It is the kind of place you could spend the day.

Rooms service was prompt and friendly. Note that there is a 21% gratuity already added on room service changes, but it is not easy to see. The room service food is okay, but always arrived a little tepid. Odd considering how fast the service was!

There is a lot of noise from the plumbing, which should be expected from an old hotel.

The best service we received was from Trevor. The majority of the staff was young and very friendly, but also seemed a inexperienced and undertrained. Overall, the experience was good and we're very glad we stayed.

Room Tip: Check to see if there is an event in the ballroom. If so, you probably want a higher room or ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjt1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Elms is a real gem, just a 30 minute drive outside Kansas City, MO. A beautiful historical hotel that has just had a 16 million dollar renovation, absolutely gorgeous! The Spa is top-notch, also totally renovated and beautiful. Beautiful restaurant on site with great food and The Cafe, also on site, for espresso drinks and yummy in-house made pastries is wonderful for a quick pick-me-up. Highly recommend The Elms if you want a really relaxing getaway where they will pamper you in every way. I would recommend the King Parlor Suite, a two-room suite, well worth the few extra dollars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about their areas. You could actually ask any of the staff what they thought of a menu item or a wine and the could intelligently respond on their thoughts. The spa and fitness area is kept to a high level of standards and is a great place to relax and shed the stress of the day away. This is also a great place to hold conferences because they were shown to be efficient in set-up and take downs with little to no issues. The only difficulty was locating the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, Usa
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Elms Hotel and Spa was a lovely and inspirational setting for my trip. It is reasonably priced and has as one of its focuses that clients can engage in self-care at the spa, pool, exercise room, etc. It is clearly a nurturing environment in a healthy fashion.
If you need an experience that refills your cup and energizes you this is indeed a setting where that can occur.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriRobertsRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, Usa
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Really enjoyed the hotel. All my needs were meet. The staff was very friendly. Look forward to staying again in the future. I made sure the Elms stays on our list of hotels we stay at for business trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We returned to the Elms to celebrate our 11th wedding Anniversary. We actually stayed here on our honeymoon.
The renovations are breathtaking. The rooms are beautiful and up to date.
We had the one King bed regular room. (Groupon) To my surprise it was amazing! Big flat screen TV on the wall (even though we never turned it on), a KEURIG with coffee and teas, a Sony 'Dream Machine' iPod/iPhone alarm clock radio, plenty of wall outlets, a small desk with big oversized mirror. I could go on and on.
We knew to book the spa early. We each had the Signature Rose Petal Vichy Scrub. Highly recommended!! We had this same service 11 years ago, and it is still one-of-a-kind!!! The Grotto was phenomenal. The steam shower was an amazing experience! If you can get up enough nerve, you take the 'Cold Plunge' shower right after. We spent about an hour in the Grotto, and felt that was just enough time. It also had a HUGE rectangular hot tub, dry sauna, and steam sauna.
We wandered the hotel for a little bit. Just to see what changes have been made since we where here last. There was a wedding being set up for the next day in the gazebo. The outside pool is nicely sized and there is also a hot tub out there. The inside pool was gorgeous! But I have to admit, it's in an awkward location. And the chlorine was overbearing.
As we walked the halls we noticed that there's just something about this hotel. We didn't know if it was the history behind it and all the famous people who visited here, or just our sentimental value.
If you plan to come to the Elms, read about its history. Take in all the original woodwork and designs from when it was rebuilt in 1912.
Also, I must mention the restaurant. I felt that it was over priced, and not that big of a selection. If you want some local food, go to Wabash BBQ, literally a block away. It's amazing. And if you're lucky, they have a Live band on the weekends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flopthis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
723 reviews
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
18.9 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
733 reviews
21.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Location: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing