We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Elms Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great time had by all! Staff was friendly and welcoming. From the bell boy to the front desk everyone made you feel like they had been waiting for you, and were happy that you came. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was big, cushy, and comphy. Although we didn't make it ti the hot tub or heated pool, I want to go back and jump in. They looked like a lot of fun, and others were taking advantage. (I didn't want to mess up my hair!) Food is excellent! The New Year's package was complete, and a great way to welcome in 2013!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    205
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
174
456
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We reserved 4 rooms (8 family members) for the Elms New Year's Eve Package. It was a great event and we were especially pleased with the service. The Hotel has recently completed a major renovation and they were able to modernize while maintaining its historic character. I stayed at the Hotel previously and was very impressed with the updated rooms, lobby, spa area, and banquet rooms. Great job!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToulonGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had been to the Elms many years ago and it was a little rough around the edges so I didn't have high expectations when revisting in late December 2012. I was so suprised at how the hotel had changed due to the recent $20 million in renovations. They have renovated the entire thing and it looks and feels amazing! I would highly recommend it to anyone in the Midwest looking for a quick weekend escape. You are a short distance from KC and other metro areas and it feels like you are worlds away. They staff is also very genuine and warm...you can tell that the renovation has also renewed their spirits!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

For our first visit at the Elms, we utilized the New Years Eve package and the prior night with the Comedy package. It was simply beautiful.
We got to the hotel a bit before check in time and spent a short time in front of the fireplace in the lobby with gorgeous stonework.

When our room was ready, we were pleasantly surprised. We upgraded to a suite, which happened to be ADA compliant (note that not all rooms are ADA.) The room was easily the size of two regular rooms, with a bathroom nearly the size of the bedroom area. I can't say enough about the softness of the sheets. I want a set for my own home!!

Dinner in the Eighty-Eight was fabulous. The filet was perfectly cooked and the roasted root vegetable bisque was delicious. The New Years Eve buffet dinner and New Years Day brunch were both top notch. No complaints about the food at all.

The spa is amazing. Very beautiful. The grotto was opened late on the day on New Years Eve as they were waiting on the inspector to pass everything. I'm looking forward to enjoying this on a future visit.
There was an issue with us not being scheduled for all of the amenities in the package we had signed up for, but other than that we had a great time. Sherri and Ashley are the sweetest gals.

The entire staff of the Elms was very friendly, even though they were all putting in a lot of hours during the holiday weekend.

I look forward to staying in the Elms again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLG056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensville, Missouri, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent service, excellent food, super comfy bed, lovely decor and historic building. We had one slight issue, which was dealt with well beyond our expectations and made our stay even better. They have some great package deals, like Comedy Club night and the NYE package. Love it!




  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We returned to The Elms new years eve after an absence of about 15 years. We used to be frequent visitor to the property and loved it until it finally fell into complete disrepair. We are so happy to report that our little get-a-way is back! The new owners have knocked it out of the park in every way. New Years eve was a sensation. It was obvious that a lot of thought and work went into everything to make it a very specal occasion for everyone who came. This was probably the first time the Elms has been sold out to capacity in decades and they simply did a wonderful job. The place is FAR more beautiful then ever before. It was unbelievably clean. The spa was in a word.... outstanding. New years day brunch was all made in house and the best I have every sampled anywhere. They even heated the outdoor pool to 90 degrees, so you could take a swim in the snow that evening. This is a very special place. We now look forward to many future visits to Excelsior Springs and The Elms Resort. and Spa.

Room Tip: If you book a room on the second or third floor, you won't have to use the sometimes slow elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kansascloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were so excited to take part in New Years festivities in the newly refurbished Elms hotel. We bought the most expensive package and probably won't do it again
The five course sit down dinner became the buffet. Someone neglected to tell us where the dinner was served and the buffet people didn't recognize our special voucher and had us go into the buffet
The band was noisy. Not our kind of music at all. Also there were no places to sit. The outdoor tent was freezing and full of people smoking
We did find a wonderful area in the tavern. Great three piece jazz group and great drinks!!
Our room while being lovely, had a very high tec tub. Lots of jets but no water pressure and about eighty degrees!!
On the plus side. The buffet was delicious. I bet the five course dinner was terrific!! The people working at the elms were very nice and when we checked out they did lower our bill graciously!!
The spa is unbelievably gorgeous! I went for a manicure but again through error got a massage! It was pricey but worth it!!
Go back to the Elms? Probably wait till the kinks are worked out and never for New Year's Eve for sure.
It is an amazing place. I hope they make it!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior Springs
24.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
24.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
19.9 mi away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Property: The Elms Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 Regent St, Excelsior Springs, MO 64024-2694
Location: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing