We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst campground ever”
Review of St Louis West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Louis West KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worst campground ever”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I would never stay here again & wouldn't recommend anyone else to either. First of all, they only cleaned the bathrooms once a day in the late mornings. By evenings, the bathrooms were filthy. The one night none of the bathroom stalls were even remotely usable & when I asked them to clean them, all they did was flush them. And in addition to that, there were train tracks right across the road & we heard the train all night long! We didn't get any sleep.
Also, they had a nice enough laundry room, but the door said it closed at 7 pm. However, the paper they gave us said it closed at 8 or 9. Either way, usually laundry rooms are open 24 hours in a campground - especially since the bathrooms/laundry room would be the only storm shelter they had. They also kicked us out of the pool when it started sprinkling. Now I oculd understand them doing it if it was raining hard or lightening, but it was barely a light rain.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessPem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    51
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
117
41
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you can handle the noise here—freight rail and interstate—you'll probably be ok. (Especially if you can pretend that the interstate is the surf rolling in.) If you're in a tent, like we were, you'll be as far as you can get from the bathrooms and showers. Think a city block or two. The tent sites were pretty good. A couple even back up onto a pleasant looking creek.

On the up side, the staff was good. The location would have been a knock-out had we been going to Six Flags, and it's manageable for general St. Louis sightseeing. (It's not like you can camp four blocks from downtown big city anyway.)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have never been to such a dusty campground. Everytime a vehicle drove by, a cloud of dust kicked up, covering everything in sight. No way could you leave any windows open. Put down some more gravel!!! The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamiumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the cabins. It is close to a train track and trains do go by frequently, but it did not bother us in the cabin. We did have the AC on 3 of the 4 nights. Staff was very friendly. Pool closed too early. Closes at sundown. One of our days there was for taking the kids to Six Flags and this campground is close enough so that I could leave early and go back and pick the kids up later. Less than 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CentralSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late but the Kabin we had reserved was easy to find. The location between the highway and the train made it fairly noisy and the bed mattresses were hard. Probably glad we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grmabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed one night while passing through and found this to be a very clean and pleasant campground. The grounds are well kept and wooded which gives it that rustic "camping" feel. There is a pool but we did not use it. But, I will say there is the cutest elderly couple running it and they look as if they truly enjoy it. Great campground and we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcollins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Staff terrible, Gravel roads, terrible sites and they are very unlevel. Pool closes at 8 as does store. Located between I-44 and the train tracks. Trains run all day and night and traffic is very loud. This is the worst campground I have ever stayed at...

Room Tip: dont stay here thats the best tip i can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rareair1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eureka
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Six Flags St. Louis
6.4 mi away
The Wildwood Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis Southwest
10.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Southwest
12.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Louis West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Louis West KOA

Property: St Louis West KOA
Address: 18475 Old US Highway 66, Eureka, MO 63025-1016
Location: United States > Missouri > Eureka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Eureka
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is picturesque camping as it was meant to be - with lots of trees, a babbling creek, fireflies and a campfire (with s'mores!) Under a starlit sky. Located on Historic Route 66, this beautiful KOA is less than 1 mile from Six Flags St. Louis. It's less than 30 minutes from other St. Louis attractions, including the Gateway Arch, Forest Park, Missouri Botanical Garden, Museum of Transportation, Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm and riverboat rides on the Mississippi. Meramec Caverns, Purina Farms and wine country are also nearby. New this year: Geming mining station, fun cycle bikes, Full-time Director of Fun, activities/amenities. Groups enjoy the renovated pavilion and new air-conditioned meeting space. Railroad buffs can stay in the newly renovated red caboose. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Louis West Koa Hotel Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing