We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable float on the Current River”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eminence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eminence Canoes, Cottages & Campground
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I rented kayaks from Eminence Canoe in late October. The owners provided us a lot of information and points to consider in helping us decide what river and what section to float. Furthermore, they were practically waiting for us at the designated pickup point. As it turned out, our day on the Current River was a memorable one. We didn't stay at Eminence Canoes, but I can definitely recommend their service for a canoe or kayak rental.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Muki00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great floating, nice comfortable and clean cabin. We have stayed in Cabin # 31since 2009. Before we leave from our weekend stay we book it for the next summer. There is no question, we know we will go back. Great place to play cards, watch a movie or sit in the hot tub with a cold drink. We always feel welcome and taken care of. We enjoy catching up with the owners and they are becoming old friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACLann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just got back from our 5th annual float trip in Eminence, staying always at Eminence Canoes, Cottages & Campground. It's a great place to stay and the owners and staff could not be nicer or more helpful! Cabin 31 is what we always book and are never disappointed. Clean, well stocked, and we get picked up at our doorstep for the float! It's a quiet compound with cabins, camp sites and motel units - something for everyone. Highly recommend it! We reserve our cabin for the next year at the end of our stay every year and will keep coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Eminence Canoes, Cottages & Campground since 1990, always staying in one of their cabins and always floating in one of their canoes. In the beginning, it was just my wife and I but our group has grown to 8 couples. One of the best features of this set up is that they pick up you and your gear in front of your cabin, transport you and their canoes to the river, and bring you back at the end of the day, dropping you off in front of your cabins. Nice.

Cabins range from older to newer. The cabins are off the road and are pretty quiet places, for the most part. The newer cabins have more features...hot tubs, fireplaces, ceiling fans over decks, etc. Since there is a lot of traffic to and from the river with gear being hauled in and out, there is some wear that is more apparent on the older units but all units are clean. All have a kitchen with most of the plates, cups, glasses, and some of the utinsels that you will need to cook. Cabins come with a fridge, stove, and microwave. They also have a TV with cable and a DVD player.

Cami and Dick own the place and are responsive to your needs. If the occassional neighbor is loud, Cami and Dick will take care of the problem for you. They are sweet people with a nice business. They have a well stocked retail store on premises with lots of gear and stuff for floating or camping but not much food or drink. They also have an extensive DVD library that you can access for free.

The canoes are just fine and you get seat cushions as well as life jackets and paddles. They access both the Current River and the Jack's Fork River and can tell you which is best for your group based on your level of experience, how long you want to be on the river, and what you intend to do there.

Overall, this place is great for making memories that will last a long time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankFromTheLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have never had anything but a great experience at Eminence Canoes and Cottages. Our favorite cottage is #3. The staff are all very nice and helpful. No it's not the Hilton, but if I am going to Eminence for the purpose of floating on one of their beautiful rivers, I'm not looking to stay at a Hilton in the first place. We would not stay anyplace else.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have been staying at ECCC for 10+ years. Dick and Cami do a great job. We have gone from 4 friends on our annual Float Trip to 16. We have stayed in Cabin #1, & #8 as our group of friends have grown. This year we stayed in #30 & #31. Other friends stayed in the hotel suites. Cabins are clean and have all the essentials that you need for a relaxing weekend in one of Missouri's most beautiful parts of the state. Dick & Cami have everything you need to spend the weekend floating, camping, etc. We have already booked our trip for next year.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenofscreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed in the cabins here twice, coming with a group each time. The cabins are dreary but functional, with the only attractive cabin a recently built log cabin. The remaining cabins are not very appealing and not very comfortable, but will do in a pinch. But I think you can do better, and I don't plan on returning here.

The owners are fairly inflexible and uncooperative, and don't always represent their facilities accurately. Our friends, who were camping, were told that there was a central place where people could sit with others, watch TV, etc. There is no such place, and our friends felt misled.

There are many places to stay in Eminence, and I do not intend to return here.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, rent the log cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKKTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eminence Canoes, Cottages & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eminence Canoes, Cottages & Campground

Address: 3/4 mile north of Eminence, Hwy 19, PO Box 548, Eminence, MO 65466
Location: United States > Missouri > Eminence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Eminence
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASUAL. RELAXED. NATURAL. The perfect Resort to "getaway from it all". Your playground is Missouri's largest National Park. 77,000 acres in Ozark Hill Country with 140 miles of crystal clear, spring fed river way. Eminence Canoes, Cottages & Camp gives you choices. You can lodge in our new Log Cabin with fireplace, private 7 person Hydrotherapy Spa and huge covered deck. Suites with all the extras: personal whirlpool tub, fireplace and king-size bed. Standard & Deluxe Cottages have all the COMFORTS of HOME. Accommodating 2-16 guests they are fully equipped with modern kitchens, private picnic area charcoal grill and fire pit. KIDS 6 & under FREE. Free wireless internet hot spot. Our campground is on an Ozark hillside overlooking the Jack's Fork River valley. Shower house and bathroom facility with all the privacy of home. Pull-thru RV sites with full hookups and tent sites. FREE hot showers! Children 6 & under Camp FREE. Pets welcome on campground. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing