We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rolling Falls”

Rocky Falls Shut-in
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Eminence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A shut-in more similar to a waterfall with a pool at the bottom.
Mountain View, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rolling Falls”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I went to Rocky Falls again this year. I've gone for years now, generally every year early in the summer. It's a nice drive to the falls. Once you're there you're sort overwhelmed with how beautiful this area is. Formed about 1.5 billion years ago as molten rock flowing to the surface. The rhyolite rock is a harder rock which directed the shape of the falls into its formation only allowed it to move in its cracks rather than erode as it would have softer rock such as limestone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    29
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went down to Eminence, MO over labor day weekend. We go there a couple times a year, but we decided to check out Rocky Falls this time. So glad that we did! It was so pretty and relaxing. People took a trail up to the top of the falls if they wanted to on foot, but I chickened out along with a friend of mine. I heard the rocks are kind of slippery, but the view from the top is cool. They have picnic tables and benches if you want to take a picnic or you can have one on the beach. I don't have any pictures to post right now because I still have all of my great shots on my camera!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Missouri most beautiful water fall... .. .oo”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have enjoyed many vacations in the Eminence Missouri area exploring the many big springs, streams, mills etc...
There are not many water falls in the Show-Me state but Rocky Falls should be on yer list of things to checkout in the area.
Be sure and climb the granite boulders for an up close look...

This area offers many photo ops...

See ya down the road... .. .O o- Carl (BC Mayor..=)~

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CARL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stopped at the Visitor's Center in Van Buren and she recommended that we go to Rocky Falls. What a nice little swimming area! The falls were beautiful. The area was very clean and the water was calm in the swimming area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canjencun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love Rocky Falls”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's a beautiful little place where you could spend all day just playing in the water and climbing around. The rocks do get slippery so be careful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Britra0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Falls Shut-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing