We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Airport West
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Earth City
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here through a Priceline express deal, and we were quite satisfied overall. Despite the old exterior, the lobby and rooms were recently renovated. However, the quality of the fixtures in the room was pretty poor. I wouldn't be surprised if the rooms age quickly as a result. Also, be warned that it's located on the outskirts of an industrial park and isn't close to any food, shopping, et cetera.

Bottom line: At $60/night, it was a solid deal. It definitely isn't worth much more, as its location is pretty bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdxskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    66
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
38
25
6
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We originally picked this hotel because of it's location, but, it turned out to be an excellent decision. I booked 2 rooms, and both of them were excellect!. Rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable, we had ajoining rooms which is a tremendous plus!! Parking was not crowded, the desk people were very pleasant and the extra bonus was the complimentary shuttle that would take you to local businesses. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were on the same side, so, not able to really give any advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardlyWaittoGetThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great surprise to find such a nice staff who goes above and beyond for guests! I'm a frequent business traveler and would certainly stay here again. I asked for a newspaper and suddenly had both the GM and Food and Beverage Director both looking for one. Rooms and property very nice. Bar and restaurant certainly has assets in Randy and Amber. Front desk staff great as well. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend!! Great job Holiday Inn!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovethecaribbean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Holiday Inn Airport West, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice comments, I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you to St. Louis. Mark Stevens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

when I travel for work I try to stay in a 3 star property or above. this holiday inn was not special.
here is why....
pros; yes this property was redone(btw everyonre there keeps telling that.)but not that nicely done. it is just a plain holiday inn.
cons: the finishings are holiday inn express furniture(so just o.k.)
as a gold member of ihg I was greeted to nothing! usually the front desk people acknowledge your belonging to ihg. not here!
and usually they give you a goodie bag of a water and some snacks. well I asked about "what do you do for gold members" they said "nothing" (so much for being in the club).
I saw that they did have "goodie bags" and they responded that they are for platinum members only. are you kidding me? you cannot give a bottle of water and a snack to people who support ihg club? why even belong, other than getting a few points added to your account?
as for cleaning and such:
elevator floors, dusting, and loud noises from the ice machine and soda machine. there a more things to add to this list but I will let it go at this.
hey, management you need to look at your customers and say "you wish is my command" sir or madam if you want that 10 million dollar renovation is to be your crown. as for staying at this location, do not expect anything special so you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: do not stay on the 6th floor the ice machine is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport West, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Stuart L,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for leaving us a feedback. As an IHG Rewards member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night from 04/26-04/27. the hotel website brags about it being newly renovated, which it has been. for the most part the rooms were clean and i had a comfortable stay. I just dont understand how they can spend so much money upgrading everything, but then not clean it!. the uncleanliness comment comes from the common areas. for instance the hallway had dust, dirt, and paper on the ground as soon as you exit the elevator. the elevator doors were smudged with greasy finger prints, the vents in the hallway had dust all over them, the floor in the lobby look like they hadn't been swept or mopped, and the brand new wooden sufaces had scratches all over them. all of this could have easily been taken care of with a broom or a quick wiping off of things but all the dirt was STILL there when we left the next day. for a quick in and out stay, this place is ok, but not for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adorabletify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport West, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear adorabletify,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked our room accommodations. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the level of cleanliness in the common areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is very out dated from rooms, elevator and decor. We had to run the shower to clean out our bathtub prior to using it. We hadn't been in the room 30 minutes, and I had just got out of the shower to find housekeeping trying to get in the room. Told the front desk, they didnt really care. Avoid this hotel and stay somewhere else on Rider Trail...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckdropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport West, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Disappointed384,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Earth City.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Front Desk and Restaurant staff were rude, not helpful. Front desk was on her cell phone. It just did not have a friendly enviroment. Need to train staff on how to be hospitable. There was a large amount of trash accumulated by vending area with a strong smell of "dirty diaper", we informed the front desk and trash was still there later in the evening. Would NOT stay here again. Disappointed, especially with a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eandv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport West, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear eandv01,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with the service you received and the shortfalls you have encountered during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earth City
0.7 mi away
Courtyard St. Louis Airport/Earth City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St...
#15 of 17 in Maryland Heights
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites St. Louis
Candlewood Suites St. Louis
#4 of 5 in Earth City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites St. Louis Airport/Earth City
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn St. Louis Airport/Earth City
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Airport - Riverport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#12 of 17 in Maryland Heights
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Airport West
Address: 3400 Rider Trl S, Earth City, MO 63045-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Earth City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Earth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Airport West is located in the heart of Earth City just minutes from St. Louis International Airport - Lambert Field. We offer complimentary shuttle transportation within a 5-mile radius of the hotel from 6:30 am to 10:30 pm daily, and we're only 20-30 minutes from all major attractions in St. Louis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Louis Airport West Hotel Bridgeton
Holiday Inn Bridgeton
Bridgeton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing