We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Las Tortugas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Posada del Rey(San Blas)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina San Blas(San Blas)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Robles(Rincon de Guayabitos)
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
29
3
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
3
0
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 34 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Coming from Northern California, we are accustomed to the beach. But Playa las Tortugas is a special place, indeed. We rented a house on the beach for our family of 6, including 2 small children and grandparents. The house was clean and well-appointed. We hired a cook for everyday but one. The food was authentic and very good. The entire staff was very attentive. The beach is perfect and provided hours of fun for the kids and quiet walks for the adults. The surf was a bit strong for our small children but they were thrilled with the on-site pool, just steps from the house. For those looking for a quiet, secluded getaway that features all the comforts of a resort, Playa las Tortugas is great. It worked for our family but we'd enjoy returning as a couple, too. The drive from the Puerto Vallarta airport is 2.5 hours and makes for a full day of travel but is well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel4fun800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

What can I say about this piece of paradise? We love it so much we want to keep it all to ourselves and I was actually reluctant to write a review because I consider it a well kept secret and want to keep it that way!!! BUT I know it is a big thank you to write a review and I want to show our appreciation. My husband and I have been coming to this very special place since our honeymoon in 2005 and have only missed one year. We return each time, pleasantly surprised that change occurs slowly in this lovely area and it remains our absolute favorite place to travel. We come from the bustling suburbs of New York City. We have busy lives and stressful jobs. We need a place to unwind and reconnect with each other and nature. We found it! Playa Las Tortugas is the perfect spot for people like us, who appreciate great beauty in natural surroundings, desire peace and quiet, and want to relax with very few outside distractions. The only sound heard 90% of the time is waves crashing. We walk for miles without seeing another human being. We eat and drink to our hearts content. We simply lay about soaking it all in. The weather is perfect. The ocean and beach clean and beautiful. We kayak into the estuary and see 100's of seabirds. We travel to nearby Platanitos and eat the most spectacular, fresh, and affordable seafood. We drive to El Cora and hike down to the waterfalls and marvel at how completely alone and surrrounded by beauty we are (this almost never happens in Jersey). We stress over nothing!!! Meals are prepared for us and our biggest concern is how are we going to eat all of this. We have stayed in Puesta Del Sol several times and this year we tried out Casa Las Olas. It is more than the 2 of us need but it is affordable and beautiful. It is clean and well stocked. The sounds of the ocean crashing are so soothing and provide the most enjoyable lullaby you could ever imagine. You don't see many people but the ones you do are lovely, accomodating and helpful. Everything is taken care of without feeling intrusive. This year we tried out a horseback ride on the beach. We went happily galloping down the beach for hours, again seeing almost no one, and laughing our butts off. The ride left us sore to the point of incapacitation but it was totally worth it and we will do it again without a doubt! We couldn't get the VCR/DVD working and that was excellent! We read books! I read 5 novels. I barely get through one in a month back home. We appreciate Gordon and Suzanne allowing us to peek around their home and love on their beautiful mutt, Nueve. Our stay is never quite long enough. We always talk of quitting our jobs and disappearing here forever! I highly recommend it to anyone just keep it quiet ;)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babbyfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

My family along with another stayed at Villa Tortuga, Playa Las Tortugas for 1 week in Feburary. It was by far the best rental experience we have had in all of Mexico. PLT came through on all the promises. The house was well appointed and beautiful. The staff friendly and helpful. Beach was great for small children, yet there was enough surf for boogie boarding and some surfing. The location worth the drive from Puerto Vallarta, the directions very accurate and the road well travelled. The estuary close and filled with birds. We hired the staff to cook for us 3 of the 7 days we were there. And again, true to description, delicious and plentiful. We ate leftovers on the days in between. The house functioned well however, there is a stairwell, with no handrail, that leads from the main living area down to a bedroom and up to the master that would be a tough situation for a toddler just beginning to walk. The community pool had 2 shallow areas good for kids. The landscaping was nice, good for the kiddos to run around. Overall a great place to visit with kids and adults alike. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katetomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

If you want a place to get away from it all - this is it. No hustle and bustle, no pesky merchants on the beach, just sun, surf, sand, and tons of coconut palms. There's no better beach in Mexico - the beach is amazingly clean, the surf is perfect for swimming, surfing, and boogie boarding, and as far as the stars - I've never seen so many. The community pool was immaculate and the community gardens throughout the development are gorgeous. And let's not forget the fantastic bird watching and wildlife, the nearby estuary, and the turtle preserve (and WHALE WATCHING!). Ask the manager about the possible hike/swim across the estuary and over the nearby spit to the sleepy coastal town of Platanitos for tacos and beer (I recommend the shrimp!).
The homes are equally beautiful -- I stayed in Casa Las Olas, beautiful beach front villa complete with a palapa to view the beach and setting sun from while enjoying a tasty beverage. Casa Las Olas was exceptionally clean and well stocked so we had everything we needed to create fabulous meals and enjoy evening leisure time. I highly recommend renting Casa Las Olas in Playa Las Tortugas - you won't regret it! I plan on returning every year if I can! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

If you have never released baby sea turtles into the ocean then you are missing out. This was an adventure far beyond our wildest dreams or imagination. The sunset release of baby turtles made one feel like a cross between Steve Irwin and Jaques Cousteau. Magraritas optional but recommended.

At night or day one can walk along the beach for hours all the while feeling very safe. The beach is endless and has no vendors.

The grounds are garden of edenesque and there is a beautiful relaxing pool in the middle of the property.

All the homes look and feel like a welathy man's paradise retreat.

Suzanne and Gordon can anwer any questions you might have.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank th1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews