We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs to go!”

Hickory Log Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Dexter
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ribs to go!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ate here with our friends from TN a couple of years ago and it is their favourite place for dry ribs. They have now moved to KY and we were travelling from Springfield MO to stay with them and just had to pick up some ribs on the way there, so swung by Dexter to pick them up. We are more used to wet rubs, but these dry ribs are well seasoned and were enjoyed by all. The greeter at Hickory Log was very welcoming especially of English visitors - don't think they get many in Dexter MO

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best ribs in the USA”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The nationally-famous Lambert's is about 20 minutes away, but bypass it and head just a little bit west to Dexter for the best ribs in America.

Seriously, their dry-rub ribs are awesome. Lots of meat, just the right amount of spice, non-greasy, super flavor and a good value for the amount that you get...they're perfect.

Compare these to the Rendezvous in Memphis, and these will win hands down.

Make the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard19651965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ribs used to be the best...”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Ribs have good flavor but are tuff. The bread quality has went down as well. Could use some decorating updates too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnmlam97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go during Christmas to see the decorations”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The ribs have a great flavor but are very much lacking in the quality of ribs. Don't order a salad as it should just be called a lattice bowl. The appetizers are good especially the cheddar balls and mont. jack cheese sticks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shenalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still the best ribs around”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

When I was a kid Hickory Log had hands down the best ribs in the country. (I don't say that lightly; I have lived in Kansas City, I travel often to Memphis, and I have eaten at many other great rib places. Hickory is the best.) They have great flavor, and when I was younger they were incredibly tender. Unfortunately, in the last few years I have noticed that their meat is getting tougher. The flavor is still good, but the tenderness is lacking a bit. The last few times I've gone to Hickory Log it has gotten better, though. Even with this recent defect, I would still say that Hickory Log has the best ribs I have ever tasted. One word of caution, though: You go to Hickory Log for the ribs. Everything else on the menu, including the sides and the other entrees, is mediocre at best. They bring you a salad that is basically just a bowl of iceberg lettuce. Baked potatoes are often underdone, and the other meat I've tried is so-so. But the ribs are excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parksenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Log Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Log Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing