We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Daniel Boone Home at Lindenwood Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Defiance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Historic Daniel Boone Home at Lindenwood Park features the home of the legendary hero Daniel Boone and his family. The four-story, Georgian style home was built in the 1800's overlooking the Femme Osage Valley. The home, even by today's standards, is still considered large. The village, located behind the home, is comprised of over a dozen 19th century buildings including the Old Peace Chapel, grist mill, schoolhouse, and carpenter's shop. Together these buildings help visitors understand life on the Missouri frontier. As a county park, visitors are welcome to walk around the grounds at their leisure. Guided tours are available of the Boone Home and/or village. Group tours and school group programs available with reservations. Not all buildings are handicap accessible. The Old Peace Chapel is available to rent for weddings and private services. The enhanced shelter is also available for evening rentals.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fun History!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Daniel Boone home and heritage center is a nice bit of history in the beautiful countryside of Missouri! It isn't too far off the highway and its a nice winding drive to get there, so going during the fall season would be twice as nice! The place is really setup very nicely and staffed by local college students, so their knowledge about "all things Daniel Boone" is outstanding! There are several buildings to look at over the 1000 acres of the estate. It is fun either taking the self-guided tour or the guided tour which takes about 2 hours to go inside several of the buildings, hear the information about the buildings and take pictures. The tours don't cost very much at all. They also offer special holiday events and an interactive summer camp for kids! They don't have much in terms of refreshments, but it is in Missouri wine country and there are restaurants and shops nearby!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    44
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and take the guided tour.

The tour takes you thru the home that was ol Dan'l's sons home as it turned out. Lots of history about how the home was built, a good number of period antiques and facts abt Boone you might not know.

The tour of the grounds was interesting and it was surprising to hear about all the technology the people of that time had made.

I found the carpenter shop and chapel interesting but I'm sure you will be interested in seeing the school house too.

Highly recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We take short trips from time to time with some dear friends and are always looking for interesting places within a day's journey. We were in the St. Louis area and decided to stay at the Wildwood Hotel in Wildwood, MO which was a gem and then made our way to the Daniel Boone Homestead. It was a very informative visit with great opportunity for our photographic friend to get some great pictures. The place was clean, well cared for and staffed by some college kids who were courteous and very knowledgeable. In fact, their passion for history and saving this kind of heritage was encouraging. There is a dandy little gift shop with good selection of books about life "back then." We were all very glad we took the tour - the area is just lovely and refreshing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Merre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Final stop for Daniel Boone...”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Don't let the name of this center confuse you... this was the home of one of his children. He did happen to spend his final years/days here and died at this location. This was never his home. The center holds many examples of turn of the century home that were moved to this location from nearby. While the focus is on Daniel Boone at this center the other building hold just as much interest. Nice if you have a few hours. The price was not very expensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bbarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice day in the country”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed the day Sunday at the Daniel Boone home. It was wonderful that they open so early- we were there for the tour of the house at 9 AM that lasted an hour and had the tour guide to ourselves and avoided the heat of the day too. The stone house is mostly intact to the early 19th C the way Daniel would have lived. However, we noticed several inconsistencies: the new walkways to the house are poured stamped concrete that looks newvo subdivision...terrible. With all of the quality, cheep limestone natural fieldstone available locally, it's inexcusable that tit wasn't used instead. Also, the back porch doorway gun ports in the recessed doorway have been covered with an ornate wooden doorway surround that we remembered seeing on our last visit more than 20 years ago. The new doorway is pretty but it is terribly obvious that a smart frontiersman would never have left the deep doorway of his stone house unprotected.
Afterwards we did a self tour of the other historic buildings on the property that are nicely maintained and found some very interesting facts about living in colonial days in Missouri: the importance of river reeds (now almost extinct on the river fronts) to the ecosystem and it's importance to agriculture and everyday use. The chapel is charming with beautiful proportions, pretty big windows and sculptural spiral staircase to the choir loft in the idealistic setting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tastetester_cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Daniel Boone Home at Lindenwood Park also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Daniel Boone Home at Lindenwood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing