We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A '66 Classic”
Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wagon Wheel Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night during our a Route 66 trip last September.
A warm welcome on our arrival in Connies Shop and guided to our rooms.
The refurb job on the site is superb, buildings look amazing and each of the rooms were great.
The following morning we got to see the place in all it's glory as we had arrived in the evening.
Nothing more relaxing than writing your '66 blog on the decking with humming birds buzzing around on their feeders.
Great stop over spot in Cuba!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank da51her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 430 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

Agree with other reviewers that this is a must stay on Route 66. The rooms are small and a bit limited but that is the way they have always been.
Room was clean and tidy, staff very helpful and friendly, parking outside the door, rooms are away from the road and in pleasant grounds, washing facilities available and next door is a good place to eat (Missouri Hick BBQ Restaurant)
Don't miss it!t

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodmorningblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have stayed at this motel twice and our family loves it! It's a great little get away and very cute! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the gift shop is a fun place to shop. The motel has a lot of character, and is the place to stay in Cuba, MO.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our 2 week road trip of Route 66.

This place is an absolute must on your list of places to stay, and pre-book so you aren't disappointed!! The beautiful stone cottages were a delight to stay in - small but clean, carefully renovated and pleasant with a parking space right outside for your car.

It's so nice to see the motel thriving and getting Route 66 back to its former glory. Connie was unfortunately on holiday whilst we were there but the lady looking after the motel was lovely and welcoming!

Thankyou so much for a wonderful stay - we will definitely be back in years to come when we re-do route 66!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loradoratheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our first night stay as we did a 5 day Route 66 driving experience. The Wagon Wheel Motel set the stage for our adventure. Our room was a total retro back to the 1930s including the vibrating bed. Cute stone cottage in the middle of a small midwest town. If you are traveling in the area, looking for lodging and would like a really neat experience, give the Wagon Wheel a try. You will be surprised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The most beautifully renovated little stone cottages..tiny but perfect. if you have a pup they put you in one of the newer rooms but still so nice. affordable too. cuba is a quiet sweet little town on old rt 66 now conveniently on MO 44. for us, traveling from kentucky to new mexico it's the perfect 1st stop ( sometimes perfect on way home too). very very clean! a really nice BBQ restaurant is right next door too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Charming little stone cottages, built in the 30's and lovingly tended. My room (#10) was tiny but totally do-able. Spotless, warm and inviting, it seemed freshly painted & was a lovely combination of old and new. Original wood flooring but everything else was modern with wall mounted flat screen TV, bathroom sink with granite counter and new fixtures. Shower was gleaming. Fresh white linens on the brass bed & plenty of white, fluffy towels. Old fashioned floor radiator heater as well as LG Inverter unit with remote ~ temps were in the single digits but the room stayed plenty warm. Free wifi with good signal. Connie at the gift shop was on her way to church but was sweet as could be and made me feel very welcome at check in :-) We always feel so good about spending our hard earned money over to someone who works just as hard as we do and appreciates your business. My only complaint: I wish I wasn't on a diet because the BBQ next door is legendary! Thank God for Trip Advisor because this little gem wasn't listed on my GPS and I almost stayed at one of the chain hotels instead ~ highly recommend and will DEFINITELY make a point to stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuba
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cuba
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuba
110 reviews
12.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Saint James
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
15.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Cuba
Super 8 Cuba
#1 of 4 in Cuba
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Address: 901 E Washington Street, Cuba, MO 65453-1951
Location: United States > Missouri > Cuba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continuously operating motel onHistoric Rte.66 totally restored. New beds, baths, Wifi, flatscreen tvs, all inthe original charm of a tourist court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Hotel Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing